Hacking Can't Play Nintendo GC games on Disc Channel

WiiFit_Guy

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2015
Messages
107
Trophies
0
XP
585
Country
Canada
Alright so recently I soft modded the Wii and today I just wanted to play Super Smash Bros. Melee on the Disc channel. But all I get is a frozen screen when I insert the disc? What gives? It goes frozen the instant I put the disc in.

Syscheck:

sysCheck v2.1.0b19 by Double_A and R2-D2199, Nano
...runs on IOS58 (rev 6176).

Region: NTSC-U
System Menu 4.3U (v513)
Priiloader installed
Drive date: 2007.02.13
Homebrew Channel 1.1.2 running on IOS58
HomebrewFilter ist nicht installiert
Hollywood v0x11
Console ID: XXXXXXXX
Boot2 v4
Found 107 titles.
Found 50 IOS on this console. 5 of them are stub.

IOS4 (rev 65280): Stub
IOS9 (rev 1034): No Patches
IOS10 (rev 768): Stub
IOS11 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
IOS12 (rev 526): No Patches
IOS13 (rev 1032): No Patches
IOS14 (rev 1032): No Patches
IOS15 (rev 1032): No Patches
IOS16 (rev 512): Stub
IOS17 (rev 1032): No Patches
IOS20 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
IOS21 (rev 1039): No Patches
IOS22 (rev 1294): No Patches
IOS28 (rev 1807): No Patches
IOS30 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
IOS31 (rev 3608): No Patches
IOS33 (rev 3608): No Patches
IOS34 (rev 3608): No Patches
IOS35 (rev 3608): No Patches
IOS36 (rev 3608): No Patches
IOS37 (rev 5663): No Patches
IOS38 (rev 4124): No Patches
IOS40 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
IOS41 (rev 3607): No Patches
IOS43 (rev 3607): No Patches
IOS45 (rev 3607): No Patches
IOS46 (rev 3607): No Patches
IOS48 (rev 4124): No Patches
IOS50 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
IOS51 (rev 4864): Stub
IOS52 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
IOS53 (rev 5663): No Patches
IOS55 (rev 5663): No Patches
IOS56 (rev 5662): No Patches
IOS57 (rev 5919): No Patches
IOS58 (rev 6176): USB 2.0
IOS60 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
IOS61 (rev 5662): No Patches
IOS62 (rev 6430): No Patches
IOS70 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
IOS80 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
IOS202[60] (rev 65535, Info: hermesrodries-v6): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
IOS222[38] (rev 4, Info: hermes-v4): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access, USB 2.0
IOS223[38+37] (rev 4, Info: hermes-v4): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access, USB 2.0
IOS224[57] (rev 65535, Info: hermesrodries-v6): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
IOS236 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access
IOS249[56] (rev 21008, Info: d2x-v8final): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
IOS250[57] (rev 21008, Info: d2x-v8final): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
IOS251[58] (rev 65535, Info: d2x-v8final): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
IOS254 (rev 65280): Stub
BC v6
MIOS v10

Report generated on 2015/01/11.
 

TonyM

Banned!
Banned
Joined
Jan 9, 2015
Messages
61
Trophies
0
Age
46
XP
-6
Country
France
I have not the disc Super Smash Bros. Melee and it worked well
not me i mie dios mios
i mie nintendont it works better with the new setting has days
his walk me not when I put the gamecube games directly in the drive when I bug my console is AC and another march console when he puts it directly depends on the console made its
 

tbb043

Member
Member
Joined
Jan 30, 2008
Messages
1,755
Trophies
0
XP
1,488
Country
United States
Is your disc original or burned?

If it's burned you need to install cMIOS. If it's real I'd try reinstalling MIOS. If possible, I'd use an earlier version than v10, but that's just me, v10 should work fine.

As ShadowOne implies, you cannot have DIOS MIOS installed if you intend to run a disc. Installing cMIOS or MIOS will fix that, though.

Finally if you have cMIOS or MIOS installed properly and it still doesn't work, try cleaning your disc drive, try some other games, etc. It's possible the drive is dirty/broken or that the game disc is bad.
 

WiiFit_Guy

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2015
Messages
107
Trophies
0
XP
585
Country
Canada
you don't have DIOS MIOS installed... Do you?

No I don't.

Is your disc original or burned?

If it's burned you need to install cMIOS. If it's real I'd try reinstalling MIOS. If possible, I'd use an earlier version than v10, but that's just me, v10 should work fine.

As ShadowOne implies, you cannot have DIOS MIOS installed if you intend to run a disc. Installing cMIOS or MIOS will fix that, though.

Finally if you have cMIOS or MIOS installed properly and it still doesn't work, try cleaning your disc drive, try some other games, etc. It's possible the drive is dirty/broken or that the game disc is bad.


Its the original disc. I don't plan on using Dios Mios right now since I now its a hassle to install. I just want to play my retail disc through the disc channel.
 

ShadowOne333

QVID PRO QVO
Editorial Team
Joined
Jan 17, 2013
Messages
11,355
Trophies
2
XP
18,414
Country
Mexico
What about other retail discs?
Do they boot normally or not?

If they do, then RIP your Melee disc.
If they do not, then RIP your laser.
 

WiiFit_Guy

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2015
Messages
107
Trophies
0
XP
585
Country
Canada
What about other retail discs?
Do they boot normally or not?

If they do, then RIP your Melee disc.
If they do not, then RIP your laser.


I will get back to you about other games. But Im able to play and boot it by mounting the Drive on USB LOADER GX...

Was just wandering if there is a way to play right from the disc channel.
 

ShadowOne333

QVID PRO QVO
Editorial Team
Joined
Jan 17, 2013
Messages
11,355
Trophies
2
XP
18,414
Country
Mexico
I will get back to you about other games. But Im able to play and boot it by mounting the Drive on USB LOADER GX...

Was just wandering if there is a way to play right from the disc channel.
Mounting drives from USB Loader GX does not have anything to do with reading the retail disc at all.
USB Loader grabs either the SD or USB drives inside the Wii/Wii U.

As far as I know, the only way to boot games from the channel is by burning a disc and using DIOS MIOS, no other way AFAICT
 

JaapDaniels

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2012
Messages
1,048
Trophies
1
Age
39
Website
github.com
XP
1,968
Country
Netherlands
you said you modded your wii, but the bug is not applied to ios 36 (that will mean that you'r custom channels and ciosses might not function right) for orriginal games.
for Original games you can use all mios versions (dios mios, cmios and dios mios light and mios), it only needs bc and mios but they need to be installed the right way (i prefer dop-mii, and not the wiibrew version since it hides info).
patch ios 3 by dop-mii, install by using ios 36, only bc and mios reinstallation latest edition.
if prefered, install the best mios you like afterwards (and don't forget you'll need to restore Original mios before you'll install a modded edition)
 

WiiFit_Guy

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2015
Messages
107
Trophies
0
XP
585
Country
Canada
Mounting drives from USB Loader GX does not have anything to do with reading the retail disc at all.
USB Loader grabs either the SD or USB drives inside the Wii/Wii U.

As far as I know, the only way to boot games from the channel is by burning a disc and using DIOS MIOS, no other way AFAICT

Tried another game and it did the same thing.

you said you modded your wii, but the bug is not applied to ios 36 (that will mean that you'r custom channels and ciosses might not function right) for orriginal games.
for Original games you can use all mios versions (dios mios, cmios and dios mios light and mios), it only needs bc and mios but they need to be installed the right way (i prefer dop-mii, and not the wiibrew version since it hides info).
patch ios 3 by dop-mii, install by using ios 36, only bc and mios reinstallation latest edition.
if prefered, install the best mios you like afterwards (and don't forget you'll need to restore Original mios before you'll install a modded edition)


I have a patched IOS36 that I got from ModMii. All my other channels are working fine.
 

JaapDaniels

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2012
Messages
1,048
Trophies
1
Age
39
Website
github.com
XP
1,968
Country
Netherlands
here in your syscheck it clearly states: IOS36 (rev 3608): No Patches. it are the (m)ioses that need the patch, your forwarders don't really care for it, and homebrew only uses ios 80/5# normaly so if you didn't mess with them all channels work, but installed cios wil show up but fail the check of bc
 

ShadowOne333

QVID PRO QVO
Editorial Team
Joined
Jan 17, 2013
Messages
11,355
Trophies
2
XP
18,414
Country
Mexico
Tried another game and it did the same thing.
I have a patched IOS36 that I got from ModMii. All my other channels are working fine.
Then my guess is one of the following:
1) Your drive laser has died. Try with Wii discs to verify this.
2) If you Wii games do boot, then you screwed something with the MIOS. Reinstall the MIOS using v10.
 

WiiFit_Guy

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2015
Messages
107
Trophies
0
XP
585
Country
Canada
Then my guess is one of the following:
1) Your drive laser has died. Try with Wii discs to verify this.
2) If you Wii games do boot, then you screwed something with the MIOS. Reinstall the MIOS using v10.


I'm able to play Wii Disc perfectly. Through Disc Channel.
 

WiiFit_Guy

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2015
Messages
107
Trophies
0
XP
585
Country
Canada
Then try reinstalling the Official MIOS, not a modified one.
Search it like RVL MIOS v10 or something like that.
Install it via Wad Manager.

The thing is I never installed it in the first place.

EDIT:

Got it to work! Went to Priiloader, then went to "Force games run IOS249".
 

ShadowOne333

QVID PRO QVO
Editorial Team
Joined
Jan 17, 2013
Messages
11,355
Trophies
2
XP
18,414
Country
Mexico
The thing is I never installed it in the first place.
I know that.
Just to be sure, because I remember I once had blackscreen too when running GC games from the disc drive and reinstalling the official MIOS did the trick.
Try it out, you got nothing to lose anyway as MIOS does not corrupt nor modify any other system files from the main Wii Menu
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
    AncientBoi @ AncientBoi: scheduled to arrive in about 5 days