1. RoninChaos

    OP RoninChaos Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    Hey everyone. Hoping I can get a little guidance and direction here.

    i updated two new 3ds’ today. An XL without issue and a regular new 3ds. The new 3ds will not load the home brew launcher via Rosalina. I get “payload can’t be launched” and I have no idea why. The 3ds is updated. I have everything in the right place that I can see, I don’t know why this is an issue on this 3ds and wasn’t on the other.

    Specifically this is the step I’m on in
    Section III - Homebrew Launcher

    1. Select “Switch the hb. title to the current app.”
    2. Press (B) to continue
    3. Press (B) to return to the Rosalina main menu
    4. Press (B) to exit the Rosalina menu
    5. Press (Home), then close Download Play
    6. Launch the Download Play application
    ——

    Launching download play application is when the error happens.


    Any suggestions?
     
    Last edited by RoninChaos, Feb 23, 2020
  2. AmandaRose

    AmandaRose Do what I do. Hold tight and pretend it’s a plan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    Messages:
    6,186
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What app are you using to launch the hb menu?
     
    alexander1970 likes this.
  3. RoninChaos

    OP RoninChaos Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    Just updated with some additional info. Apologies I left some out. I’m picking up some food and wanted to make this thread while I waited. I’m using the download play application. When I get the error it says I can press a button and when I do the error just repeat itself. The thing is, Luna is installed and updated. I can get into god mode or whatever it’s called by holding start when I boot my 3ds and I can get into Luma when holding select and booting my 3ds. I just can’t launch the home brew app.
     
    Last edited by RoninChaos, Feb 23, 2020
    AmandaRose likes this.
  4. AmandaRose

    AmandaRose Do what I do. Hold tight and pretend it’s a plan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    Messages:
    6,186
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hmm not sure then perhaps try redownloading the homebrew launcher incase it fucked up when you copied it over. If not we may need the help of gbatemp.nets 3ds guru @TurdPooCharger
     
    TurdPooCharger likes this.
  5. RoninChaos

    OP RoninChaos Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    I have redownloaded the CIA a few times. Is there another file I should be grabbing?
     
  6. AmandaRose

    AmandaRose Do what I do. Hold tight and pretend it’s a plan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    Messages:
    6,186
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ah right the homebrew menu should be a 3dsx file not a cia. Give us a sec and i will find the link to the correct file.

    https://github.com/fincs/new-hbmenu/releases/tag/v2.1.0

    You will also need the otherapp for your firmware and region get it here

    https://deadphoenix8091.github.io/3ds/#otherapp

    1. Copy boot.3dsx to the root of your SD card
    2. Copy the otherapp payload to the root of your SD card and rename it to otherapp.bin
      • if you do not see the .bin extension, do not add it to the end of the filename
     
    Last edited by AmandaRose, Feb 23, 2020
    Quantumcat and alexander1970 like this.
  7. RoninChaos

    OP RoninChaos Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    K. I’ll give it a shot here in a bit after dinner. Thank you so much.
     
    AmandaRose likes this.
  8. AmandaRose

    AmandaRose Do what I do. Hold tight and pretend it’s a plan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    Messages:
    6,186
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok made a slight edit to the above post with a newer version my first link was a bit outta date sorry :)
     
    alexander1970 likes this.
  9. TurdPooCharger

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    5,792
    Country:
    United States
    Amanda, i stuck. :(

    Not home atm. Late call from me mum with car problems. She forgot to turn off headlights, so im just sitting here waiting for dead battery to recharge with jumper cables.

    Check my signature for the 'CFW starter kit'. Look for the youtube link listed in that post. Naysayers will tell not to follow video guides especially if you're hacking or installing boot9strap, luma, gm9, etc. BUT how to use Rosalina menu injection is a standalone topic and hasnt changed since its introduction so... *shrug*
     
    alexander1970 and AmandaRose like this.
  10. RoninChaos

    OP RoninChaos Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    That worked. Thank you so so much!
     
  11. AmandaRose

    AmandaRose Do what I do. Hold tight and pretend it’s a plan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    Messages:
    6,186
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You are very much welcome.
     
    TurdPooCharger likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - launcher, Rosalina, launched