Can't Get to My Wii Menu (serious n00b help needed)

Discussion in 'Wii - Console and Game Discussions' started by Van Hammersely, May 12, 2012.

  1. Van Hammersely
    OP

    Newcomer Van Hammersely Newbie

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    I am trying to set up a Wii acquired from a previous owner, and as soon as i turn it on it says, "System momory full. Use manage data etc." It directs me to the system memory automatically, and when I go into setting and click on the home button to go to the Wii menu it freezes.

    I check the system memory and notice a ton of extra content: N64 games, Sega, SNES, NES etc. I have no idea if this content was acquired legally, but the way the system has been acting I would assume not. I was able to delete as much content as possible until it just froze up during one. Now when i try and go back to the Wii system data screen it either freezes or shows nothing.

    I read a previous thread on here and someone mentioned to just reformat the system. I'm in the process of doing so and I have been on the "Formatting the Wii System Memory..." screen for about 25 minutes now.

    Anyhow, I was wondering if I have anyone could help me out, as the last gaming console I was familiar with you could just fix by blowing into.

    Thanks.
     
  2. Quietlyawesome94

    Member Quietlyawesome94 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,146
    Location:
    The Internet
    Country:
    United States
    Is the Wii hacked? If so, the owner probably overloaded the system with .WAD's (Usually pirated copies of N64, Sega, SNES, NES games)

    I had this issue once and I simply uninstalled a ton of Virtual Console stuff manually.

    As for your Formatting System Memory being stuck. I don't know what to tell you. I wouldn't unplug the Wii until someone more experienced with this stuff gives the go ahead.
     
  3. Van Hammersely
    OP

    Newcomer Van Hammersely Newbie

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the reply, but why not unplug it?

    I already did...

    Just trying to run netflix through it and if it's busted it's busted. No money lost.
     
  4. Luigi2012SM64DS

    Banned Luigi2012SM64DS G-old member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2,060
    Location:
    Minecrapt
    Country:
    Canada
    25 mins? it should take 2
     
  5. Van Hammersely
    OP

    Newcomer Van Hammersely Newbie

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, pretty sure this system is cooked. Thanks for the help, though.
     

Share This Page