Can't find WEP ID for 2wire router T.T help please!

Discussion in 'NDS - Nintendo Wi-Fi Connection' started by bb521, Jul 12, 2008.

Jul 12, 2008
  1. bb521
    OP

    Newcomer bb521 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    82
    Country:
    Canada
    i have 3 computers that uses wire and 1 laptop thats wireless, and on my default gateway, it only gives the SSID and SN, same as on the bottom of the router, on the default gateway , it says that my connect thingy is WPA something, does it have to be WEP or something?
    how do i find my WEP ID???????? [​IMG]
     
  2. fischju

    Member fischju Rehabilitated Jaywalker

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940
    Country:
    United States
    So, you've logged into your router and can't find it?
     
  3. bb521
    OP

    Newcomer bb521 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    82
    Country:
    Canada
    yes, i checked my router's default gateway about 30 times now, still nothing!!! only SSID!!!
     
  4. fischju

    Member fischju Rehabilitated Jaywalker

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940
    Country:
    United States
    Sure it isn't right under the bar code on the router?
     
  5. dogman

    Member dogman GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    174
    Location:
    Santiago, Chile
    Country:
    Chile
    Nintendo DS only supports WEP
     
  6. bb521
    OP

    Newcomer bb521 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    82
    Country:
    Canada
    No, its not under the barcode on the router, the thing in barcode for router is a 26 digit thing and my serial Number.
    if it only supports WEP, do i ahve to change WPA to Wep every time i want to Wi-Fi???
     
  7. Vater Unser

    Member Vater Unser GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    2,184
    Location:
    Pen Island
    Country:
    Germany
    Yes.
    Same problem here, in order to go online with my DS, I had to deactivate WPA2 in my router config...It's not wise to leave your WLAN connection unprotected if you don't know your neighbourhood, though
     
  8. jaywilson

    Member jaywilson GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    322
    Location:
    Western Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    i have a 2wire gateway,
    at first i just used it without wep
    but some fat neighbour started stealing my internet

    now i use the wep encryption thing
    were you use the serial number on the back off the gateway modem thingy
     
  9. vietknightx

    Newcomer vietknightx Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    74
    Location:
    Kitchener, Ontario
    Country:
    United States
    Did you try going onto the routers site and changing it from there. If you cant access the site the
    Id - (blank)
    pw- admin
     

Share This Page