Can't connect to wifi with my ds

Discussion in 'NDS - Nintendo Wi-Fi Connection' started by mrwienerdog, Jan 22, 2010.

Jan 22, 2010
  1. mrwienerdog
    OP

    Member mrwienerdog GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    155
    Country:
    Canada
    I run a wireless connection through my house using a D-Link DIR 655. I have never been able to establish wifi with my ds. Originally, the router was on firmware 1.21, but I recently upgraded to 1.32NA. I could establish and use the wifi until I set up my WEP2 security. Now, my ds recognizes the connection, accepts my password, but when it tests the connection, after about 15 seconds it drops all bars and says it can't connect. I contacted Nintendo service, and they couldn't do SFA to help. I seem to remember running into this problem when I used the Nintendo wireless USB thingy, and I figured it out back then, but fucked if I can figure this out. I know you youngsters are far more clever than I about these things, so can anyone help me out?
     
  2. mrwienerdog
    OP

    Member mrwienerdog GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    155
    Country:
    Canada
    I don't mean to be a bother, but do any of you clever cats have any ideas?
     
  3. Masked Ranger

    Member Masked Ranger GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    502
    Country:
    Antarctica
    First off, only the DSi and the Wii use WPA2 (which maybe you meant when you typed WEP2). That's my first guess. Do you have the password to your network written down correctly, and are you using the primary key? Other than those two guesses, I'm out.

    Edit: How far away are you from your router when using your DS? If the router is in your basement and you're on the 2nd story, that might be a problem as well.
     
  4. mrwienerdog
    OP

    Member mrwienerdog GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    155
    Country:
    Canada
    Sorry, I did mean WPA2. However, I only have a ds, not dsi, so I guess this is the issue? Also, I am right next to my router.
     
  5. Masked Ranger

    Member Masked Ranger GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    502
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Well then, there's your problem. The DS Lite only uses WEP to connect. Change your security protocol (or whatever it's called on your router) from WPA2 to WEP and use the primary password key. The questions about the distance really only applies if you're in a two story home or if you're using a router that is far away (like your cool neighbor's). My router is at one end of the house while I play in the living room. Also make sure your using b, b/g, or mixed. The DS does not use the "newer" protocols. Your mileage may vary.
     
  6. Azlan Uchiha

    Member Azlan Uchiha GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    209
    Location:
    Singapore
    Country:
    Singapore
    I also use D-link.....I use no lock so i can play [​IMG]....just try to not using any lock for your wifi so you can play online etc....for just a moment
     

Share This Page