Can't connect to internet with Tubehax DNS enabled?

Discussion in 'Wii U - Hacking & Backup Loaders' started by dindinmaster, Feb 11, 2016.

1. dindinmaster
    OP

dindinmaster Newbie

Newcomer
    Feb 11, 2016
    United States
    Hey guys, first time poster here since Reddit couldn't help me out. Basically, I just hooked up my Wii U for the first time since last summer and I'm running 5.4.0. I've done a good amount of modding to my old Wii, but I'm brand new to Wii U stuff. All I've done so far is set DNS to Don't Obtain and put in 107.211.140.065 (IIRC) into both primary and secondary. When I do that, I can't connect to the internet. It fails to connect sites like Google and Reddit. The Download Management will say that it's connected to the internet and that it's downloading something. I've let it sit for a few minutes but it only ever ends up saying a system update failed to download. When I disable Tubehax, I can connect to the internet just fine, however. Like I said, I'm brand new here. Am I doing anything wrong? Not sure if it matters but I'm a) on ethernet and b) on college internet. Thanks a ton!

2. Garou

Garou GBAtemp Advanced Fan

Jan 13, 2015
    your ISP might not allow changing DNS
    try change DNS on your computer and see if the same thing happens

3. fiveighteen

fiveighteen High Hopes and Low Expectations

Jun 30, 2008
    United States
    It's trying to download FW 5.5.1 and failing because TubeHax DNS is blocking Nintendo's server. I'd be careful with your test to remove TubeHax DNS and check the internet. 5.4.0 is a good place to be.

4. Voxel

Voxel u wot

GBAtemp Patron
    Voxel is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

Our Patreon
    Jun 27, 2015
    United Kingdom
    England, UK
    My ISP doesn't allow to change DNSs either, so I used Charles Proxy instead. All you have to do is set up the Wii U to connect to the proxy, then on the PC, enable SSL for all update servers the Wii U connects to.

5. cornerpath