Cant burn iso, stupid laptop need help

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by slayer080, Feb 5, 2008.

Feb 5, 2008
  1. slayer080
    OP

    Newcomer slayer080 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ok i have a prob im hoping someone can help me out, ive got the ssbb iso on my laptop and my laptop hasnt got a burner so i use my mates pc, the biggest portable device i have to transfer files is a 4gb memcard in psp, the iso is bigger than 4gb so i was thinking how the hell am i gonna get this iso onto my mates pc, i found hjsplit and started using that but when i try putting the file on the psp i get cyclic redundancy check so it wont copy,also i would like to know if there is a way i can compress the iso in winrar or something so i can fit it on 4gb without splitting the files. all other files work there is nothing wrong with the files or the memcard trust me so dont try say its the files or memcard
     
  2. MrBooMY

    Newcomer MrBooMY Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    Use WinRAR to spilt the file up into 2 pieces, and you'll be golden. Splitting is an option in the compression box. If I have to explain it, then you really need to find a new profession.
     
  3. 2wirends

    Newcomer 2wirends Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    82
    Country:
    United States
    quickest way i know how is...

    get the memory stick - format it on your PSP (or PC) doesnt matter

    and try again...
     
  4. slayer080
    OP

    Newcomer slayer080 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    mrboomy i tried that the same thing happens as when i do it with hjsplit
     
  5. Sperion

    Member Sperion GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    114
    Country:
    Netherlands
    why dont copy it with a network cable to his pc?
     
  6. slayer080
    OP

    Newcomer slayer080 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    wish i had one
     
  7. TaMs

    Member TaMs Randomizer

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,126
    Country:
    Finland
    use teh filesplitter. -> google for filesplitter
     
  8. slayer080
    OP

    Newcomer slayer080 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    actually just thinking is there anyway to do it wirelessly i have a router and he has a wifi thing that can pick up wireless(forgot what its called)
     
  9. rhyguy

    Member rhyguy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    it may be because thee individual files are bigger than 2GB, which is the max for a fat32 stick

    try splitting it into 1GB files
     
  10. Seraph

    Member Seraph GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    894
    Country:
    United States
    Set up a home network or split the files using a program.
     
  11. slayer080
    OP

    Newcomer slayer080 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    already tried that
    i even tried splitting into 400mb files
     
  12. Seraph

    Member Seraph GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    894
    Country:
    United States
    If both computers are running Windows/XP run the Setup a home or small network Wizard.

    And if your split Winrar files aren't copying over you might be doing something wrong.
    Right click, add to archive, put in a size for split archive, all boxes should be unchecked, and ok.
     
  13. slayer080
    OP

    Newcomer slayer080 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    laptop with the files is running xp and the pc is running vista
     
  14. Seraph

    Member Seraph GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    894
    Country:
    United States
    Vista has it too, although I think it was a bit more complicated when I set it up but still simple. You make existing or a new folder "shared". You add the location of the shared folder manually or it may appear automatically? I think you also need to turn on some things in the Network and Sharing Center in Vista.

    The Wizards are pretty straight forward. My explanation seems not so good. And it's most likely your mem stick. Just google the error you were getting and look at what shows up first.
     
  15. kenshiro84

    Newcomer kenshiro84 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    73
    Country:
    France
    Did you check the format of your memcard?

    coz some format cannot hundle big files, and try to split files into small parts too!! [​IMG]
     
  16. slayer080
    OP

    Newcomer slayer080 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ok could u help me out with setting up home network, do i need internet to transfer files wirelessly to my mates pc coz if so then it cant be done coz he has no internet at his yard
     
  17. kenshiro84

    Newcomer kenshiro84 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    73
    Country:
    France
  18. __Byakuya

    Newcomer __Byakuya Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Australia
  19. mekaone

    Newcomer mekaone Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    63
    Country:
    United States
    Do you know anyone with a USB backup HDD? If not, get a cheep one and when you are done with it, use it for backup of your computer or extra storage. I have seen laptop backup drives at Tigerdirect.com and newegg.com for around $50 or $60 dollars. Just a thought.
     
  20. Tweaked

    Member Tweaked GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    141
    Country:
    Canada
    lol i dont see why this is difficult [​IMG]

    You are going to need to have the Laptop with the files in the same room as the computer (or the router i mean) Take an rj45 cable (standard InTROWeBZ cord)

    Insert the cable between the laptop and the router.

    Select the folder holding the files on it and share it, do this by opening it, and there should be an option to share it on the left.

    Now switch to the laptop running vista, and try and find a way to view your network, go to the new start dealy thing and choose network (sorry, laptop is step dads and cant go conform right now, gar i hate vista)

    You should see the folder your trying to get at, you can burn on his computer from that destination (i hope, havent been able to check my discs as my wiis not modded yet) or just copy it to your laptop.

    sorry if i rambed, im pretty baked
     

Share This Page