Can't boot Emunand after update of sysnand

Glawbit

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 17, 2022
Messages
13
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Somewhere
XP
25
Country
Brazil
Hi there.

Yesterday i decided to update my Atmosphere to the latest one, i updated Hekate and sigpatches as well, but some of my games stopped working, so i moved to the next firmware on my sysnand trying to solve that issue, but after this update from 13.2.0 to 14.1.2 on my ofw, now i just cant boot my Emunand for some reason.

My EmuMMC is still on 13.2.0, Atmosphere is on 1.3.2 latest fusee, Hekate 5.7.2_Nyx_1.2.2, and sig patches are "Hekate+AMS-package3-sigpatches-1.3.2-cfw-14.1.0" that i got from a post here as always, my sd card is FAT32.

I already tried re-downloading everything in case of corruption, i tried deleting the Atmosphere, bootloader and sept folders, and then moving the downloaded files to the sd card, holding the power button for 15 seconds, no gamecard inserted, but nothing works.

When i try to load my emuNAND, it shows the Switch logo, throws an error, but is too fast to read, then it gets back to Hekate menu, if i try to load Fusee, it just give an error with the Atmosphere background similar to the one above, them get back to Hekate menu as well.

SysNAND works perfectly, with and without CFW.

Do someone know whats going on here?
 

impeeza

¡Kabito!
Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2011
Messages
1,876
Trophies
1
Age
44
XP
3,209
Country
Colombia
if you still have a SEPT folder you have a mess on your card,

BACKUP AND REMOVE:

Atmosphere & Bootloader folders.
DELETE SEPT FOLDER

copy new ones from Hekate zip and Atmosphere zip files fresh downloaded from GitHub. copy the sigpatches to SD.

restore ONLY the hekate_ipl.ini file to your SD card. BE SURE the Hekate_ipl.ini file does reference to PACKAGE3 and/or fusee.bin files (the files fuse_secondary.bin now is called package3 and fuse-primary.bin now is called fuse.bin) (https://github.com/Atmosphere-NX/Atmosphere/releases/tag/1.0.0)

test.

if all works restore any file of SD:/atmosphere/config folder you want. if not let us to know

When all is working fine reinstall any MODs, Cheat, SYSMODULES, and themes you use.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Glawbit

Glawbit

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 17, 2022
Messages
13
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Somewhere
XP
25
Country
Brazil
if all works restore any file of SD:/atmosphere/config folder you want. if not let us to know

When all is working fine reinstall any MODs, Cheat, SYSMODULES, and themes you use.
Thanks for the fast reply!

That's exactly what i did, i don't have this sept folder anymore. I tried even with a fresh hekate_ipl.ini as i don't usually change it, but the old one already had those PACKAGE3 paths, also i tried the DEEPSEA files, just in case, but except for the background images, nothing changed.

I don't use cheats, mods or themes so things are closer to the default, i feel like i'm doing something stupid here, but can't say what.
 

Glawbit

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 17, 2022
Messages
13
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Somewhere
XP
25
Country
Brazil
of the top of my head, backup your sd card, format using fat32 and test with h2testw and start again.
Thank you again!

It'll take some time for me to free enough space in a HD to backup the entire partition, of nearly 200 GB (it's a 250 GB micro sd card), but i'll give a try when i can, if it works i'll let you know.
 

impeeza

¡Kabito!
Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2011
Messages
1,876
Trophies
1
Age
44
XP
3,209
Country
Colombia
or just to test your OFW SYSNAND, you can use any other SD card, format it, test it, then put hekate and atmosphere on it. create a blank hekate_ipl.ini (using the example on hekate's github) to boot OFW and start from there.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Glawbit

Glawbit

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 17, 2022
Messages
13
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Somewhere
XP
25
Country
Brazil
or just to test your OFW SYSNAND, you can use any other SD card, format it, test it, then put hekate and atmosphere on it. create a blank hekate_ipl.ini (using the example on hekate's github) to boot OFW and start from there.
Just for my understanding, sorry for the trouble, but in that case, i would have to create a new emuNAND for testing purposes? Because i can access atmosphere and homebrew menu, just not the emuNAND, and if yes, what the smallest possible size of a emuNAND?

Thanks for your patience.
 

impeeza

¡Kabito!
Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2011
Messages
1,876
Trophies
1
Age
44
XP
3,209
Country
Colombia
Don't worry. You can create a emuNAND from Hekate. The easy way is a 32 gb emuNAND. There is possible to make a reduced one ( about 4gb) but is a complex process
 
  • Like
Reactions: Glawbit

Glawbit

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 17, 2022
Messages
13
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Somewhere
XP
25
Country
Brazil
Don't worry. You can create a emuNAND from Hekate. The easy way is a 32 gb emuNAND. There is possible to make a reduced one ( about 4gb) but is a complex process
I'll try to find an 64 GB one for running this test, once it's done, i'll get back to report the result. Thanks for the tips.
 

impeeza

¡Kabito!
Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2011
Messages
1,876
Trophies
1
Age
44
XP
3,209
Country
Colombia
Another test you can make is using emutool dump your emuNAND partition on your pc and then use NXNandManager to read the files. It can test if your emunand is corrupt
 
  • Like
Reactions: Glawbit

Glawbit

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 17, 2022
Messages
13
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Somewhere
XP
25
Country
Brazil
Another test you can make is using emutool dump your emuNAND partition on your pc and then use NXNandManager to read the files. It can test if your emunand is corrupt
So i've done a copy of my emuNAND with emutool without the Nintendo folder in the SD card, cause it's big in size, but it can be used, and i've mounted my emuNAND with Hekate and NXNandManager, i can access it apparently, but how can i know that it is corrupted?

That's the print of it if it helps.

1655480943608.png
 

impeeza

¡Kabito!
Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2011
Messages
1,876
Trophies
1
Age
44
XP
3,209
Country
Colombia
So i've done a copy of my emuNAND with emutool without the Nintendo folder in the SD card, cause it's big in size, but it can be used, and i've mounted my emuNAND with Hekate and NXNandManager, i can access it apparently, but how can i know that it is corrupted?

That's the print of it if it helps.

View attachment 314206
if the emunand mounts on NXNandManager isn't corrupted,
 
  • Like
Reactions: Glawbit

Glawbit

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 17, 2022
Messages
13
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Somewhere
XP
25
Country
Brazil
if the emunand mounts on NXNandManager isn't corrupted,
Oh, i don't know what's wrong then, i haven't found anyone with the same problem as me, maybe i'll have to wait for a new Atmosphere update?

Thank you for all the help.

EDIT:

When i import my keys on NXNandManager i can read a lot of things, like the firmware version of the emuNAND and other data, so it looks like it's really functional, the SD card partition that acts as the external sd looks ok also, i can still play my homebrews, use DBI to see the SD contents, so i guess the card is not the problem, then i would like to know if there's any way to update the firmware of the emunand without entering it, maybe that what's causing the issue?
 
Last edited by Glawbit,

impeeza

¡Kabito!
Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2011
Messages
1,876
Trophies
1
Age
44
XP
3,209
Country
Colombia
wait, please stop and let´s start again.

actually, I mean just now, what is your exactly problem? please describe it in the more detailed manner.


please give us a copy of your Hekate_ipl.ini file and your /emuMMC/emummc.ini
thanks.
 

Glawbit

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 17, 2022
Messages
13
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Somewhere
XP
25
Country
Brazil
wait, please stop and let´s start again.

actually, I mean just now, what is your exactly problem? please describe it in the more detailed manner.


please give us a copy of your Hekate_ipl.ini file and your /emuMMC/emummc.ini
thanks.
Ok, sorry if i didn't made myself clear, i'll try to explain it better.
My issue is, i can't access my emuNAND anymore through Hekate and cant boot Fusee as well to try it and see if it works instead of Hekate, after the last update i did in my StockNAND, by legit means (Nintendo servers).
After that update, i turned off the console, booted into RCM mode (Atmosphere, Hekate, Fusee and sigpatches all up to date already) then i tried to boot my emuNAND (second option in the middle of 3 in the Hekate selection menu, being the first option sysNAND with CFW and the third one my stockNAND without CFW) after that, it shows some logos, Atmosphere's, Switch's then sometimes a error code briefly appears on screen, to fast to take a picture, and sometimes it doesn't appear, but either way, it just kicks back to the Hekate menu all over, the only options of the 3 NANDS that i can boot are, the first one and the third (sysNAND with CFW and the one without it).

So, basically is that, i'll share the other info that you asked for, hope this is just me doing something stupid.

My Hekate_ipl.ini is the follow (i decided to use the deepsea version, before that it was the same file that came with Hekate)

[config]
autoboot=0
autoboot_list=0
bootwait=3
verification=1
backlight=100
autohosoff=0
autonogc=1
updater2p=1

{DeepSea}
{Github: https://github.com/orgs/Team-Neptune/}

{--- Custom Firmware ---}
[CFW (SYSNAND)]
emummc_force_disable=1
fss0=atmosphere/package3
atmosphere=1
logopath=bootloader/bootlogo.bmp
icon=bootloader/res/icon_payload.bmp
{}

[CFW (EMUMMC)]
emummcforce=1
fss0=atmosphere/package3
atmosphere=1
logopath=bootloader/bootlogo.bmp
icon=bootloader/res/icon_payload.bmp
{}

{--- Stock ---}
[Stock (SYSNAND)]
emummc_force_disable=1
fss0=atmosphere/package3
stock=1
icon=bootloader/res/icon_switch.bmp
{}


My emummc.ini

[emummc]
enabled=1
sector=0x0
path=emuMMC/HPE0
id=0x0000
nintendo_path=emuMMC/HPE0/Nintendo



If it's still not clear please let me know, and thank you for trying to help.
 

impeeza

¡Kabito!
Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2011
Messages
1,876
Trophies
1
Age
44
XP
3,209
Country
Colombia
ok, perfect, so you SYSNAND in OFW (booting through hekate) boot well. it's normal what if you have AutoRCM enabled get disabled when you update the SysNAND, then no worries.

as you emummc file tells us, you have a EmuNAND based on files no on hidden RAW partition, so a test you can make is put your SD card on you PC and use NXNandManager to load "SD:\emuMMC\HPE0\eMMC\00" file to test if you emuNAND is at least intact.


let us to know.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Glawbit

Glawbit

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 17, 2022
Messages
13
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Somewhere
XP
25
Country
Brazil
ok, perfect, so you SYSNAND in OFW (booting through hekate) boot well. it's normal what if you have AutoRCM enabled get disabled when you update the SysNAND, then no worries.

as you emummc file tells us, you have a EmuNAND based on files no on hidden RAW partition, so a test you can make is put your SD card on you PC and use NXNandManager to load "SD:\emuMMC\HPE0\eMMC\00" file to test if you emuNAND is at least intact.


let us to know.
So i think we're getting somewhere now. I did that, but my emuNAND is indeed in a partition as it looks, the NXNandManager shows the hidden partition where it is located, and if i try to read the SD partition (G), it says that is not a valid drive.
1655502507376.png


This is how the emuNAND partition looks like (H):

1655502795822.png


And here's the directory inside SD:\emuMMC, it points to a RAW, so maybe the ini file is wrong somehow?

1655502914395.png


(Edited for better understanding.)
 

impeeza

¡Kabito!
Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2011
Messages
1,876
Trophies
1
Age
44
XP
3,209
Country
Colombia
yes your emummc.ini is wrong,

path=

should point to the folder with the emummc folder, in my case:


1655506066238.png


inside my SD00 I have:
1655506158593.png

and inside eMMC;
1655506198446.png


and if you SD card have several partitions please show us a screen shot of the disk manager.

thanks.
 

impeeza

¡Kabito!
Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2011
Messages
1,876
Trophies
1
Age
44
XP
3,209
Country
Colombia
if your emunand is on a partition then you need you reeplace the emmummc.ini file with:

[emummc]
emummc_enabled = 1
emummc_sector = 0x00008087

where sector= is the offset of the partition

emutool can help you with that

1655506664779.png

THIS IS A EXAMPLE EACH SD HAVE A DIFFERENT SECTOR OFFSET.
 

Glawbit

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 17, 2022
Messages
13
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Somewhere
XP
25
Country
Brazil
if your emunand is on a partition then you need you reeplace the emmummc.ini file with:

[emummc]
emummc_enabled = 1
emummc_sector = 0x00008087

where sector= is the offset of the partition

emutool can help you with that

View attachment 314266
THIS IS A EXAMPLE EACH SD HAVE A DIFFERENT SECTOR OFFSET.
No, sorry! My bad... i shared the content from the ini file was made with the backup tool you suggested at first, my actual emummc.ini is:

[emummc]
enabled=1
sector=0x19a6c800
path=emuMMC/RAW1
id=0x0000
nintendo_path=emuMMC/RAW1/Nintendo

So it's right, and my SD just have those 2 partitions from the picture up there, drives G and H.

For one moment i get some hope, but i don't have a clue of what's going on here.

EDIT:

Oh, and and in the Hekate firs menu, if i choose "More configs" what appear is
" No .ini or boot entries found...
Check that a .ini file exists in bootloader/ini/
and it contains at least one entry."

As i don't remember if it was like that before.
 
Last edited by Glawbit,
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras: Of course, I only know a couple of people there, so I'm judging them by the looks and apparel themes