Cannot upload my profile picture.

Discussion in 'Site Discussions & Suggestions' started by Rayder, Jul 31, 2011.

Jul 31, 2011
  1. Rayder
    OP

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    I've been trying to update my personal profile picture and the forum won't let me. Here's the pic I've been trying to use:
    [​IMG]
    Even though that particular one is being hosted on pix.gbatemp.net, it won't let me upload it directly from my PC's HDD to my profile....and the profile pic uploader section doesn't seem to allow hosted pics to be selected.

    I keep getting the message, "The upload failed. Please contact a board administrator." I've turned off all manner of ad blocker and have tried using IE as well as Firefox to upload it. I always get the same message.

    Any ideas as to what the problem might be?
     


  2. Ace

    Member Ace GBATemp's Patrick Bateman

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,035
    Location:
    Manhattan
    Country:
    Sweden
    I don't think it's been working for weeks. Probably better to PM a supervisor/Admin about it.
     
  3. AlanJohn

    Member AlanJohn くたばれ

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,425
    Location:
    Canada,New Jersey
    Country:
    Ukraine
    Same here.
    Admins please fix.
     
  4. prowler

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  5. BORTZ

    Global Moderator BORTZ wtf, nintendo

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    10,638
    Country:
    United States
  6. DroRox

    Member DroRox Ambassador of Ooo

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    387
    Location:
    The Land of Ooo
    Country:
    United States
    Yup both ways aren't working. One doesn't even give me the option! [​IMG]
     
  7. prowler

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Personal picture needs to be uploaded onto the server which is a pain in the ass since it uses the same URL every time, so if someone has visited your profile before and doesn't clear their cache it still shows the old one.

    Avatar can be uploaded either by the server (which goes the same for personal picture (same URL)) or direct link from another website.
     
  8. AlanJohn

    Member AlanJohn くたばれ

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,425
    Location:
    Canada,New Jersey
    Country:
    Ukraine
    Why is this STILL not fixed?
     
  9. SinHarvest24

    Member SinHarvest24 Shiroyasha

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    999
    Location:
    Anywhere you think of me.
    Country:
    Trinidad and Tobago
    Yeah i was getting the same problem just a few days ago with my avatar. I thought it was just me doing something stupid, i guess i was wrong.
     
  10. naved.islam14

    Member naved.islam14 Gbatemp's Official Dark Knight™

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    Gotham
    Country:
    Sri Lanka
    For me it works every time in gc.
     
  11. ShinyJellicent12

    Member ShinyJellicent12 I summon giant clover-shaped meteors in the sky

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    709
    Location:
    The Moon
    Country:
    United States
    Well, I used to use GC before my mom took my computer away, but it didn't work.
    I wish I could upload a personal photo!
     
  12. Jeff Romanov

    Newcomer Jeff Romanov Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    Is the problem caused by sever block or something like that? I don't know this, but I also can not upload my photo. Nobody comes to solve it? [​IMG]
     
  13. BORTZ

    Global Moderator BORTZ wtf, nintendo

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    10,638
    Country:
    United States
    Ive been without an Avatar for a week [​IMG]
     
  14. thela_kid

    Member thela_kid GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    236
    Location:
    The Void
    Country:
    United States
    Yea I Pm'd a Mod about my Personal photo and all they said was "well it looks like you got your avy working". >> I was asking about my personal pic. I replied but never got a response. Kinda mad they dodged me there. Coulda just said "Fuck if I know how to fix it, sorry."
     
  15. wasim

    Member wasim ♫ Music addict ♫

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    907
    Location:
    Calicut
    Country:
    India
    i PM'd a mod and posted this still no

    but it actually worked for some members ( narayan )
     
  16. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    I've been able to change my avatar just now.
     
  17. Jerome10

    Newcomer Jerome10 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    Wherever I want to be ^^
    Country:
    France
    Can't change my personal photo either [​IMG] (though posting my avatar in pix.gbatemp or somewhere else, it's a no go for the personal pic...
     
  18. thela_kid

    Member thela_kid GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    236
    Location:
    The Void
    Country:
    United States
    this. i fergot to mention that uploading an avatar via the avatar page doesn't work, just like the personal picture. but uploading to pix.gbatemp.net then linking to that works for the avy. the personal photo thing doesn't have a link-able option tho [​IMG]
     
  19. BORTZ

    Global Moderator BORTZ wtf, nintendo

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    10,638
    Country:
    United States
    I still cant update my avatar.
     
  20. totalnoob617

    Banned totalnoob617 Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    785
    Country:
    United States

Share This Page