Can you use internal hard drives for backups?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by DonnyKD, Mar 29, 2012.

Mar 29, 2012
  1. DonnyKD
    OP

    Member DonnyKD GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Messages:
    351
    Country:
    United States
    Like the hard drives inside PCs? It seems simple enough...
     


  2. Tom Bombadildo

    Contributor Tom Bombadildo Honk!

    pip
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,786
    Location:
    I forgot
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah sure. Buy a hard drive enclosure for it, then you can just use it as if it were an external hard drive.
     
  3. DonnyKD
    OP

    Member DonnyKD GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Messages:
    351
    Country:
    United States
    And I can use it to play backups as if it was a external hard drive?
     
  4. Tom Bombadildo

    Contributor Tom Bombadildo Honk!

    pip
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,786
    Location:
    I forgot
    Country:
    United States
    Yep, easy as pie.

    That's really all external drives are, internal drives put into enclosures that convert the SATA/IDE/Whatever to USB.
     
  5. Xuphor

    Banned Xuphor I have lied to all of you. I am deeply sorry.

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,681
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, but you have to get an external casing for it. Basically just a external HDD shell for maybe $20 that is USB based, you can put any PC hard drive inside it, plug it into the Wii like any External HDD,and it'll work.

    As for an actual method to plug/solder a internal hard drive into the wii, no.
     
  6. DonnyKD
    OP

    Member DonnyKD GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Messages:
    351
    Country:
    United States
    Sweet. Now all I need to do is find a way to connect my computer and Wii...
     
  7. Tom Bombadildo

    Contributor Tom Bombadildo Honk!

    pip
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,786
    Location:
    I forgot
    Country:
    United States
    Uhh...what?
     
  8. DonnyKD
    OP

    Member DonnyKD GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Messages:
    351
    Country:
    United States
    I mean cords. Everything I have is WiFi...

    And when I meant "connect computer to Wii", I meant connect harddrive.
     
  9. Tom Bombadildo

    Contributor Tom Bombadildo Honk!

    pip
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,786
    Location:
    I forgot
    Country:
    United States
    Oh ok...I thought you mean like...connect your PC to your Wii...I was like wtf...heh. Sorry.

    As said before, just get the HD enclosure and you can just plug the HDD in via USB, transfer games over, then just plug the HDD into the Wii...
     
  10. shortz1994

    Member shortz1994 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,341
    Country:
    United States
    no not that but there is a tut on how to put the harddrive inside the wii, without the dvd drive.(just keeping the drive board). it's on here somewhere. but thats not what he is asking either. so will not waste my time to find it. just make sure it's on the compatible list. even then some time they work or will work half the time. this is one of the ones i have. an works good. have all my movies for my tv on it.http://www.amazon.com/Acomdata-Tango-2-5-Inch-Enclosure-TNGXXXUSE-BLU/dp/B001XHBNN2/ref=sr_1_37?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1332986279&sr=1-37
     
  11. wii knee

    Member wii knee GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    Messages:
    200
    Country:
    United States
    @DonnyKD There's a 13 page thread with members helping you to unbrick your wii. You may notice that Damysteryman has asked you to give a detailed account of how you bricked your wii. PM him with a reply if you don't want to detail it publicly, but it's the least you should do in return.

    Also, it sounds as though your unclear on connecting an HDD. Are you talking about pairing your PC or a separate drive?

    edit: I see you've replied.
     
  12. DonnyKD
    OP

    Member DonnyKD GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Messages:
    351
    Country:
    United States
    "@DonnyKD There's a 13 page thread with members helping you to unbrick your wii. You may notice that Damysteryman has asked you to give a detailed account of how you bricked your wii. PM him with a reply if you don't want to detail it publicly, but it's the least you should do in return."

    And why do you post this here? Talk about irrelevant...
     
  13. wii knee

    Member wii knee GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    Messages:
    200
    Country:
    United States
    K. Really wasn't intending to be preachy or off-topic. Didn't know if you had seen Damysterman's request before you started this new thread AND was attempting to clarify your understanding/intentions with respect to PC hard drive...it wasn't exactly clear.
     
  14. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    No, you cannot plug your computer into your Wii and use the computer's internal hard drive for your wii backups

    you can however purchase an internal hard drive (or totally remove the drive from a computer) and insert it into an external hard drive enclosure (or similar adapter), and plug that into your Wii via USB for your wii backups
     
  15. zerofalcon

    Member zerofalcon GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    534
    Location:
    Somewhere close to my NES
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Yes you can.. just buy a USB to SATA/IDE cable converter and you're ready to plug it in your Wii.
    You'll need an AC power adaptor to power up the HDD but well it doesnt matter almost every cable converter has it.
     
  16. obcd

    Member obcd GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,594
    Country:
    Belgium
    Let's see.. So, in previous threats you talked about the fact you bricked one of your wii's with working dvd drive...
    Now you are looking for a way to play backups from a harddisk, but you aren't having one, so you would like to use the one from your pc, and use it on your pc as well, preferrable at the same time.

    That's not possible !!!!!!!!!!
     
    1 person likes this.
  17. PsyBlade

    Member PsyBlade Snake Charmer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Sol III
    Country:
    Germany
    to clear some of the confusion about what "internal drive means" and summarise the seemingly contradicting posts

    1. a HDD that is inside the wii
    not recomended and hard to do
    but can be done with a 2.5, 1.8 or smaller drive and removing the dvd drive

    2. a HDD MEANT to be used in a PC or similar device
    done easily
    buy an external USB enclosure and insert the drive into it instead of into the PC
    it essencially becomes an external drive and can be used (alternatingly) on PC, Wii, etc

    3. a drive that is physically (but not logically) inside a PC
    doable but useless unless you need to limit the number of "boxes"/"devices" (e.g for frequent transportation)
    you could use the electronics from 2. while leaving the drive physically inside the PC
    can as 2. only used alternatingly

    4. store the game on a pc
    harder and more expensive than buying an external drive but not really impossible
    a) iirc the WODE "modchip" supports playing games via network
    b) or you could try to get your hands on a usb device controller (hard or really expensive (4 figures)) and use that to emulate a usb hdd
    I'm curently toying with combining b) with getting games via network
     
  18. DonnyKD
    OP

    Member DonnyKD GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Messages:
    351
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, you haven't been reading anything have you?

    That thread about my bricked Wii? It's resolved. This thread? Curiosity, since I do not have a external hard drive, and my 2GB SD card is small.
     
  19. obcd

    Member obcd GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,594
    Country:
    Belgium
    Sure I have been reading. Sometimes the art is to read between the lines. (The things that aren't written down)
    So I was right, you don't have an external hard drive.
    So your bricked wii is resolved, yes, I remember, it misteriasly fixed itself...altough I remember reading another threat about a wii showing a white screen when going into setup....
    Maybe that's also fixed? So all is going well now.

    PsyBlade pretty much gave you all the existing options. Hope it fixed your Curiosity.
     
  20. wilsoff

    Member wilsoff GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    292
    Country:
    United States

Share This Page