Can you use GBA function while playing DS games?

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by ebcubs03, Feb 10, 2007.

Feb 10, 2007
  1. ebcubs03
    OP

    Member ebcubs03 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    331
    Country:
    United States
    Say I'm playing Pokemon DP on my R4, could I use its GBA function and get pokemon from my GBA games while I'm using the R4?

    Edit: Also if I get a 1GB kingston from japan or taiwan, will there be any difference?
     
  2. outphase

    Member outphase Custom title

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,218
    Country:
    United States
    Why wouldn't you? Does the R4 lock out certain DS hardware functions? Does the manufacturing location of the microSD cause the R4 to lock out the same hardware functions?
     
  3. ebcubs03
    OP

    Member ebcubs03 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    331
    Country:
    United States
    I don't know. That's why I'm asking on here..
     
  4. muhamad520

    Newcomer muhamad520 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    United States
    It works for megaman battle nework 5 ds and boktai 2
     
  5. Densen

    Newcomer Densen Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    Australia
    Seeing as the R4 supports hardware such as the browser ram pack and the rumble pack, my guess would be that you shouldn't have a problem with this. The R4 doesn't seem to interfere with anything else when running ds games.
     
  6. Icarus

    Member Icarus fire walk with me

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,146
    Location:
    Big Appleu
    Country:
    United States
    The real question is, would it support the roms in a slot 2 device for the GBA linkage ? [​IMG]
     
  7. N3CR0P57

    Newcomer N3CR0P57 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    69
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I tried to get Castlevania Dawn Of Sorrow on my R4 to link up with Castlevania Aria Of Sorrow on my XGFlash 256 (no boot menu/single game pak) with no luck. Maybe I didn't make it far enough in AOS to get any bonuses, (I just went to the first save point) or maybe it's because of the antiquity of the XGFlash, but it didn't work. Interested to see if this works with a newer slot-2 flashcart.
     

Share This Page