Can you use a DS fat charger with GBA SP?

Discussion in 'GBA - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by agentgamma, Apr 11, 2009.

Apr 11, 2009
  1. agentgamma
    OP

    Member agentgamma I dont know what to put here

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    876
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I am considering buying a Classic NES series GBA SP.
    If I bought an American system and plugged in an Australian DS fat charger, would it work?
    IIRC, they use the same plug but I am wondering if there are different voltage levels.
    Just wondering because I don't even think Classic NES Series SPs were released here - I hardly ever see them on eBay (except for international listings)
     
  2. pitoui

    Member pitoui GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Messages:
    538
    Country:
    Australia
    Hey mate I'm pretty sure you can. As long as it's 110-240v, which I think it is.

    Just don't plug in an American Virtual Boy to an Aussie power outlet, it will blow up lol.

    If I were you I'd go ahead and buy it.

    EDIT: Just had a quick google for you and you sure can use a Aus DS Charger on a US GBASP http://www.dcemu.co.uk/vbulletin/archive/i...php/t-1538.html
     
  3. agentgamma
    OP

    Member agentgamma I dont know what to put here

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    876
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Country:
    Antarctica
    That's good [​IMG]
    I don't want to go blind so I probably won't get a virtual boy >_>
    I'll probably also get a GBA flashcart for pirating games homebrew and emulation [​IMG]
     
  4. zidane_genome

    Member zidane_genome My sword has a +2 bleeding... wanna test it out?

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,320
    Country:
    United States
    What's Australian voltage coming out of the wall?

    110, or 240?

    US is 110, so if aussie is 110, US electronics will work fine. If 240, then you'll have to go to an electronics store and find a device that lowers the voltage to 110
     
  5. agentgamma
    OP

    Member agentgamma I dont know what to put here

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    876
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Well that sucks - I looked at it and input is 240v [​IMG]
     
  6. dajavax

    Member dajavax GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    278
    Location:
    Monterrey
    Country:
    Mexico
    im pretty sure if you use an australian charger in australia... it will work... just make sure you use australian chargers in australia and US chargers in america (the continent)...
     
  7. Fat D

    Member Fat D GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,117
    Country:
    Germany
    they use different plugs anyway, so that should not be a problem. Anyway, the GBA itself is technically identical if I recall correctly, at least the input voltage should be the same. Just use the charger that fits into your outlet.
     
  8. evilishan

    Newcomer evilishan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Location:
    Holsworthy, Sydney, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    It's better to be sure contact Nintendo Australia.

    But from my own experience with my DS it should work.
     

Share This Page