1. agentgamma

    OP agentgamma I dont know what to put here
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    876
    Country:
    I am considering buying a Classic NES series GBA SP.
    If I bought an American system and plugged in an Australian DS fat charger, would it work?
    IIRC, they use the same plug but I am wondering if there are different voltage levels.
    Just wondering because I don't even think Classic NES Series SPs were released here - I hardly ever see them on eBay (except for international listings)
     
  2. pitoui

    pitoui GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Messages:
    539
    Country:
    Hey mate I'm pretty sure you can. As long as it's 110-240v, which I think it is.

    Just don't plug in an American Virtual Boy to an Aussie power outlet, it will blow up lol.

    If I were you I'd go ahead and buy it.

    EDIT: Just had a quick google for you and you sure can use a Aus DS Charger on a US GBASP http://www.dcemu.co.uk/vbulletin/archive/i...php/t-1538.html
     
  3. agentgamma

    OP agentgamma I dont know what to put here
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    876
    Country:
    That's good [​IMG]
    I don't want to go blind so I probably won't get a virtual boy >_>
    I'll probably also get a GBA flashcart for pirating games homebrew and emulation [​IMG]
     
  4. zidane_genome

    zidane_genome My sword has a +2 bleeding... wanna test it out?
    Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,320
    Country:
    United States
    What's Australian voltage coming out of the wall?

    110, or 240?

    US is 110, so if aussie is 110, US electronics will work fine. If 240, then you'll have to go to an electronics store and find a device that lowers the voltage to 110
     
  5. agentgamma

    OP agentgamma I dont know what to put here
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    876
    Country:
    Well that sucks - I looked at it and input is 240v [​IMG]
     
  6. dajavax

    dajavax GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    278
    Country:
    Mexico
    im pretty sure if you use an australian charger in australia... it will work... just make sure you use australian chargers in australia and US chargers in america (the continent)...
     
  7. Fat D

    Fat D GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,136
    Country:
    Germany
    they use different plugs anyway, so that should not be a problem. Anyway, the GBA itself is technically identical if I recall correctly, at least the input voltage should be the same. Just use the charger that fits into your outlet.
     
  8. evilishan

    evilishan Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    It's better to be sure contact Nintendo Australia.

    But from my own experience with my DS it should work.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - charger,