Can you use a bought AR with a bought r4?

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by NDSTemp50, Jul 15, 2009.

Jul 15, 2009
  1. NDSTemp50
    OP

    Newcomer NDSTemp50 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    I have a r4ds and you've probably have heard of certain games that Action Replay cheats doesn't work on. I was wondering if i could use them together too fix some of these problems. I'm pretty sure they're are two main kinds of Action Replay devices, there is one where you put ds game in the Action Replay device then put the action replay into the ds, and there is another where you put the Action Rplay into the ds, take it out, then put the ds game into the ds. Well, I was wondering if i put the r4 into the action replay, would it fix some of my problems, have the same problem that the r4ds has, or not work. I was also wondering the same thing about the other version of action replay ds. Thnx in advance [​IMG]
     
  2. DarkSpace

    Member DarkSpace Custom member title

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    551
    Country:
    United States
    The main problem lies in the fact that the r4 itself isn't a game, it's just storing multmedia. I have tried to use an AR in combination with an R$ and come to the conclusion that it won't work. Most codes work on the R4, and worse comes to worse you can use the ysmenu.
     
  3. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    No, you can't. The R4 has its own built-in AR cheat engine. Get the cheats here:

    http://cheats.gbatemp.net/

    You will want either cheat.dat or usrcheat.dat, but not both.
     
  4. NDSTemp50
    OP

    Newcomer NDSTemp50 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    I know rayder, but r4 cheat has some problems but thnx for trying too help
     
  5. wchill

    Member wchill Resident chillxpert

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,407
    Country:
    United States
    There is no way to use a retail AR with an R4. An AR was meant to be used with retail games, and the R4 will clear the DS memory upon startup (also erasing the codes).
     
  6. Law

    Member Law rip ninjacat that zarcon made me

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,132
    Location:
    ‭jerkland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Works fine for me.
     
  7. NDSTemp50
    OP

    Newcomer NDSTemp50 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    Well some games like animal crossing and others sum cheats dont work
     
  8. Law

    Member Law rip ninjacat that zarcon made me

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,132
    Location:
    ‭jerkland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    In which case the fault could lie purely with the codes, but why on earth would you even need to cheat in Animal Crossing?
     
  9. NDSTemp50
    OP

    Newcomer NDSTemp50 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    i just think it is funner that way idk why it just is
     
  10. elixirdream

    Member elixirdream GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia
    ARDS is made and meant for original cart..
    what is r4?
     
  11. Fatboy12345236

    Member Fatboy12345236 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    247
    Country:
    Australia
    NDSTemp means that some cheats don't work on Animal Crossing such as Text2item and Real Time World Edit (Using R4's built in cheat engine both NDSTemp and I have tested them! Real Time World Edit Makes the game freeze so he is asking if you could buy a retail AR and use it with R4 and would it help make the cheats work.....
     
  12. elixirdream

    Member elixirdream GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia
    i think both these answers are pretty clear!
    do agree?

    by the way, original cart = original games that you get from stores
     
  13. NDSTemp50
    OP

    Newcomer NDSTemp50 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    R u serious!!! r4 the flashcart!!!! revolution 4 ds!!!
     
  14. wchill

    Member wchill Resident chillxpert

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,407
    Country:
    United States
    /sarcasm
    R4s are outdated now, get a better cart.
     
  15. elixirdream

    Member elixirdream GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia
    [​IMG]

    of course i know what is r4~!
    just check how many r4s do i have in hand [​IMG]

    i was asking you a question, what is r4? is r4 an original retail game or not?

    personally, you should ask which flash cart can handle your animal crossing cheats well and flawlessly
    the last time i was told ak2+akaio and r4 got the highest compatibility with AC:WW cheat codes
    however, the code you wanted to use on r4 is complicated in nature
    therefore, it could explain why it doesn't work and you get a FREEZE on your r4 or maybe ysmenu

    i am not sure whether r4 supports F code type
     

Share This Page