Can you trim a patched ROM?

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by Azn_Tomato, May 26, 2008.

May 26, 2008

Can you trim a patched ROM? by Azn_Tomato at 2:02 AM (1,256 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. Azn_Tomato
    OP

    Newcomer Azn_Tomato Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    United States
    topic, stupid question, i know.
    Specifically JUS and TOI

    Edit: Ok so the JUS patcher automatically trims the ROM. The TOI doesn't though, and when i trim it it trims it fine...but yea, can you trim TOI? Using NDS TokyoTrim and the patch is Setya's.

    Edit 2: I don't want to make another topic, but i was looking at the readme for DSHobro, and i was wondering, do you have to click server.exe each time you wanna browse? That would be kinda stupid imo, ruins the point if it is. Or is it just once to connect the DS to the computer? And so that would also mean that i could not access free wi-fi?
     
  2. tinymonkeyt

    Member tinymonkeyt GBAtemp brat

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,221
    Country:
    United States
    nope. it ruins it
    first hand experience with JUS
    just leave it as it is
     
  3. zergslayer69

    Member zergslayer69 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    304
    Country:
    United States
    Short answer no.

    Long answer, i trimmed my patched Jump Ultimate Stars and it ended up being 600k. Lol, if only.
     
  4. Azn_Tomato
    OP

    Newcomer Azn_Tomato Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    United States
    Yea i noticed that with JUS, but when you trim TOI it trims it like the "normal" ROM takin off 4.1 MB or something.
    Whatever, i guess safe is better than sorry.
     
  5. TSPhoenix

    Member TSPhoenix GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    158
    Country:
    Australia
    If the size of the trimmed patched rom and trimmed unpatched rom is roughly the same you are usually safe. Just make sure to always trim after patching.
     
  6. bunsy

    Newcomer bunsy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    88
    Country:
    Sweden
    Trimming should be safe for anything. If it destroys the patched game, then the creator of the patch is not setting the header entries correctly. Complain to them about not following specs.
     
  7. Narin

    Former Staff Narin The Cheat Master, kupo!

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,624
    Country:
    United States
    The patched JUS game is already trimmed when the patch is installed. The patch installs itself into the game and trims it for you.
     
  8. DarkSpace

    Member DarkSpace Custom member title

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    551
    Country:
    United States
    Fot TOI patched it worked for me!
     

Share This Page