Can you play GBA games on your supercard?

Discussion in 'Supercard' started by MADKATZ99, Oct 1, 2006.

Oct 1, 2006
  1. MADKATZ99
    OP

    Member MADKATZ99 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    839
    Location:
    AUS
    Country:
    Australia
    I tried to play pokemon fire red but it just didnt work...
    How do you do it?
     
  2. HelloKitty

    Member HelloKitty GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Messages:
    428
    Location:
    Gaithersburg, MD
    Country:
    United States
    I think SuperCard just doesn't have 100% gba support, so I don't think you can play alot of games such as Pokemon Fire
     
  3. pte

    Member pte GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    1695 Pokemon - Fire Red Version (EU) perfect v2.55 C yes No problems.
    1691 Pokemon - Leaf Green Version (EU) perfect v2.541 yes Perfect!

    http://rothmans.joskeonline.com/supercardsite/index.php

    Works perfectly, you did something wrong if it didn't load. Did you run it from the GBA mode?
     
  4. meangreenie

    Banned meangreenie Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Messages:
    639
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No trouble here playing any pokemon games including the new pokemon dungeon red.
     
  5. MADKATZ99
    OP

    Member MADKATZ99 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    839
    Location:
    AUS
    Country:
    Australia
    Do you have to patch it before you put it on the supercard? If so, do you patch it with the same thing youd patch a DS rom with?
     
  6. FifthE1ement

    Member FifthE1ement GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    603
    Country:
    United States
    Read my SuperCard Guide which is in this forum under a post with the same name for instructions.

    And the SuperCard only has problems with about 10% of the huge GBA library.

    FifthE1ement [​IMG]
     
  7. zacstill

    Newcomer zacstill Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
    I'm having trouble saving fire red. Does it have a RTC?

    If i save in game it says:
    Save Failed.
    Checking the backup memory...
    Please Wait.
    "Time required: about 1 minute"

    Note that this isnt the supercard menu this is the games menu, and the game music plays in the background
    I've waited long after one minute with no change

    If I try real time save, once I load the save back up only the music plays but the screen is black.

    Does anyone know why it would be doing this?
    I don't think its a bad ROM

    I patched it like so:
    Enable Save [x]
    Enable Saver patch [x]
    Enable RTS [x]
    External IPS [ ]
    Enable Restart [x]
    Enable text file [ ]
    Enable Cheat [ ]

    EDIT: I got real time save working but I'd still like to be able to save traditionally

    Thanks in advance for your advice
     
  8. onmyown

    Newcomer onmyown Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    OK, this worked for me previously in using the in-game save for Pokemon: FireRed, so give it a shot.

    You'll need the VBA emulator for this. Some steps might be redundant, but I guess there's no harm in following them.

    1. Set VBA Emulator Save Type to Auto/Flash 128K
    2. Load Pokemon ROM
    3. Import a compatible XPS save game (from GameFAQs)
    4. It will state that save file is corrupted, but load it anyway
    5. A savegame of extension *.sa1 will be generated. Change it to *.sav
    6. Run the ROM through SD Patcher, importing the savegame generated previously.
    7. Upload the patched files on the your SD card
    8. The game will state that your save file is corrupted, but ignore it and start a new game with it. You should be able to use the in-game save from here on, despite the corrupted save file message.
     
  9. Phrostay

    Newcomer Phrostay Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    70
    Location:
    The Land Of Oz
    Country:
    Australia
    I heard that the M3 Lite has a better memory chip than the Supercard for GBA games? I haven't run into any GBA problems yet though and maybe Supercard has refined some of their hardware in newer releases/batches of the Supercard Lite product line.
     

Share This Page