Can you play games online with a WPA security instead of a WEP

Discussion in 'NDS - Nintendo Wi-Fi Connection' started by SuperTrever, Mar 10, 2011.

  1. SuperTrever
    OP

    Member SuperTrever GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    255
    Country:
    United States
    Today I got a replacement router for my old one. I hooked it up and wanted to play a game online but then found out that DS games can't play on a WPA security or something...): Anyone know if I can do anything about this?
     
  2. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    In your start/globe menu, go to the "run" command. If you're on vista/7, you'd use the little white box near the bottom. Type in "CMD" and press CTRL+SHIFT+ENTER.

    In the black box that comes up, type "ipconfig" and press enter. It'll list a series of four numbers as your "default gateway". Write those down. Go open any web browser, and enter the four numbers (like 192.168.x.x) into the address bar, and press enter.

    A login box should come up. The username should be "admin" or blank, and the password can be anything from "admin" to "administrator" "pass" to "password" or "password1", or something else if you've set it differently. Ask whoever set up the router what the password to get into it is, or check this page.
    http://www.phenoelit-us.org/dpl/dpl.html

    Then you'll be able to see what sort of wireless security settings you have set up. First make sure that SSID broadcasting is ON, then remember what the SSID is, it's the name of your network. Change it if you want. Turn MAC address filtering off. You will need to change the wireless security type to WEP if it's on anything other than WEP. It'll have you make a pass key or phrase. WRITE. IT. DOWN. After you save the changes, you will need to enter that key on any machine (computer or game system) that you want to connect to the internet.

    Then in the game, go to the wireless settings. Have it scan, pick out your network from the list, enter the key/phrase when requested.
     
  3. SuperTrever
    OP

    Member SuperTrever GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    255
    Country:
    United States
    Everything worked until I had to put the password into my DS. it kept saying the password was wrong. Tried both the passphrase and the key 1 codes
     
  4. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    You are picking out the right network, right?

    If your SSID is hidden then it won't be picked up in the list when a device like the DS scans, so if you didn't unhide your SSID you might be trying to connect to a neighbor's.
     
  5. SuperTrever
    OP

    Member SuperTrever GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    255
    Country:
    United States
    It's for sure mine. The name of it is what I changed it too. [​IMG] my iPod touch connects to it just fine though.
     
  6. SuperTrever
    OP

    Member SuperTrever GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    255
    Country:
    United States
    Decided to just restore my router. After that I did what you said and everything worked! Thank you very much(: do you by any chance know if you can do random battles on Pokemon B&W yet?
     
  7. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    I haven't even started playing it yet.
     
  8. TheTwoR's

    Member TheTwoR's Yay I can finally edit this thingy :D

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    670
    Country:
    Belgium
    The pass you use to sign in to the router settings is not the same as the WEP key.
     

Share This Page