Can you make borders in GIMP for your Signature?

Discussion in 'GBAtemp Art Studio' started by Sanderino, Aug 9, 2009.

  1. Sanderino
    OP

    Member Sanderino I guess you only know what you got 'till it's gone

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Messages:
    773
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Well, you see, this is my signature. It's my first and I think it isn't sharp thanks to opening it in paint to add lborders. So.. my question is, how can I add borders (I mean the black & white line) in GIMP? And if it could, how?
     
  2. iPikachu

    Member iPikachu C3's personal flamebot and fail artist

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,062
    Country:
    Singapore
    layers are your friend [​IMG]
     
  3. Sanderino
    OP

    Member Sanderino I guess you only know what you got 'till it's gone

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Messages:
    773
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    haha layers then xD so.. how can I add them in GIMP? ;O
     
  4. iPikachu

    Member iPikachu C3's personal flamebot and fail artist

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,062
    Country:
    Singapore
    hmmmm

    if i remember to the right usually the layer window is there, one of the icons is add new layer or something simliar, so make your border on a new layer and your sig without the border on another layer below the border layer.
     
  5. Sanderino
    OP

    Member Sanderino I guess you only know what you got 'till it's gone

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Messages:
    773
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I'm trying to find it, I'll keep searching. And by the way, is it hard to make it as thick as the border in my sig?
     
  6. chA1nBull3t

    Member chA1nBull3t GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Location:
    Pennsylvania, Eastern US
    Country:
    United States
    I forgot how it worked in GIMP but I know that there should be a command called stroke which adds an outline to your sig.

    In photoshop, the standard way is:

    1) New Layer > Image Apply Image
    2) Edit > Stroke (Black color) 1 pixel


    It should be pretty similar.
     
  7. XMETALGEARX

    Newcomer XMETALGEARX Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    Here is how you do it.

    1. Make a new layer

    2. Place the layer at the top.

    3. Now go to Select->All, then go to Edit->Stroke Selection.

    4. Now with black as the current color go to stroke size 9.

    5. Then switch to white, stroke size 7.

    6. Now switch back to black and select 5 or 6.

    7. Now using that layer set it to Overlay.

    This is to make 2 borders on the sig. I usually go with that.
     
  8. Sanderino
    OP

    Member Sanderino I guess you only know what you got 'till it's gone

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Messages:
    773
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Thanks, I'm going to note this, because I've found a manner wich is kind ofl onger and you need to add borders without GIMP. But this is alot handier so I'm going to try it tommorrow. thanks y'all. [​IMG]
     

Share This Page