Can you help a noob choose a gaming PC ?

Discussion in 'General Gaming Discussion' started by yoyoloto, Mar 25, 2016.

1. yoyoloto
    OP

yoyoloto Advanced Member

Newcomer
    Dec 6, 2010
    Canada
    Canada
    Hey guys,

I have some knowledge about what I need from a gaming PC, but I don't know how to get the PC that I want.

All I see on the retail store websites is a bunch of non-optimized laptops that have features that don't even help with gaming and just drive the price up.

How do you guys choose your PC ?

2. MSearles

MSearles GBAtemp Fan

Jan 4, 2016
    United States
    You build it. Part by part. Pre-built gaming computers are overpriced and not as good in comparison to you purchasing the parts yourself. It's not really all too hard to build your own computer. Unless you're talking about a gaming laptop. At which point you'll have to purchase from specific stores, or most likely online. No ordinary retail store such as Walmart or Target is going to have anything remotely close to a gaming laptop or desktop computer.

Last edited by MSearles, Mar 25, 2016
  3. yoyoloto
    OP

yoyoloto Advanced Member

Newcomer
    Dec 6, 2010
    Canada
    Canada
    Yes I want a laptop, can I do that myself ?

4. MSearles

MSearles GBAtemp Fan

Jan 4, 2016
    United States
    No. Purchase an Asus Rog or the Razer Blade for the best. Expect to spend around $1000

5. yoyoloto
    OP

yoyoloto Advanced Member

Newcomer
    Dec 6, 2010
    Canada
    Canada
    Ok cool, can you buy one from Asus directly or do you have to go through some retail store or website ?

6. Taleweaver

Taleweaver Storywriter

Dec 23, 2009
    Belgium
    Belgium
    A few questions: