1. HinaNaru Cutie

    OP HinaNaru Cutie GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    251
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, so my eldest sister had bought a new switch for herself, and i had told her about the switch homebrew a while back -after telling her about this, i reminded her of it, because i got an awful memory of a size of a peanut. Anyway; i ended up telling her that i can or cannot homebrew her NEW switch hybrid, it depends on her code number thing on her switch, and i did warn her that most NEW (from the time of me finding this information out, i don't know if it's still the same??) nintendo switch cannot be homebrewed because of nintendo fixing it. Once i told her that, she understood it completely, i then went to actually check myself -took her switch and since i knew that it wouldn't work i tested out the RCM Jig i have on her NEW nintendo switch, the funniest thing was that before that i had checked if her switch was compatible to homebrew, and apparently it is?? I checked on the website, and it told me that it wasn't compatible with sxos than it gave it an odd name like magik -something like that?? and i was confused. so since i wanted to just say; eh why the heck not? i took my RCM jig, injected it on her switch, and checked if i could go onto RCM mode and it worked...-threw me off, so my question still needs to be answered here -any help would be nice, because i do not want to mess with a 300$ something taxes switch i don't own for crap and brick it ;-;!


    ....thank you for reading this......i go....
     
    Last edited by HinaNaru Cutie, Dec 28, 2019
  2. Matius

    Matius Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2019
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Australia
    well tx claim they've got a method but as of now no release and there's no public way to exploit the new patched switches to run cfw unless it was on a low fw but the new ones aren't.
     
  3. HinaNaru Cutie

    OP HinaNaru Cutie GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    251
    Country:
    United States

    wai ---waaiiit seriously?? even if it runs of RCM mode with the JIG?? o.o, it's because i checked it on a different site for her code thing, but i didn't go to the other original site people would go based off...-i'm gonna double-check....buut if that's the case than that's sad news :(
     
  4. Matius

    Matius Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2019
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Australia
    patched switches can get into rcm. its just injecting the payload that's not possible. return it if you can as most shops allow returns until end of jan/early feb and buy an unpatched one but that's all i'm afraid. just wait and see if tx deliver
     
    HinaNaru Cutie likes this.
  5. HinaNaru Cutie

    OP HinaNaru Cutie GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    251
    Country:
    United States
    I honestly don't know whether or not its un patched or patched :0 . but thanks for telling me this
     
  6. HinaNaru Cutie

    OP HinaNaru Cutie GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    251
    Country:
    United States

    ugh this blows that they still haven't found a way to homebrew the mariko Dx
     
  7. smf

    smf GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,805
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Something like magik or magik? Which web site? I think you will need to be less vague.

    If it's this one then I'd say it's definitely patched.

    https://www.theverge.com/2019/8/12/...tch-v2-new-updated-battery-console-how-to-buy

    If it's the older box then I'd say that it's almost certainly going to be patched, just because of the amount of time since they started patching them. However it's possible it's an old unit that has been hanging around for 18 months.

    If you had it in RCM then why didn't you try to inject hekate? If you knew what you were doing and tried and couldn't launch hekate then I'd say it's definitely patched.

    If it's patched then it will just send the payload but fail to execute it, if it runs then it's not patched. I've not heard of anyone experiencing issues if it couldn't be launched, just that you have to take it out of RCM and forget about homebrew.
     
    Last edited by smf, Dec 29, 2019
    HinaNaru Cutie likes this.
  8. HinaNaru Cutie

    OP HinaNaru Cutie GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    251
    Country:
    United States

    i used this website; team-xecuter, but i got an update from my friend on the question as well lol.


    well i checked it out with the website someone on discord (the serial code and it is mariko(it's what it's called) patched ;-;"..it doesn't have the main words from the beginning on it -if that makes sense, like the xjw thingy is different from the options i get on the site that i checked if it's patched or not, i didn't use team -xecuter site rather the main one people have been using more) and i didn't want to risk it, since i wasn't so sure at the beginning. so now that i know i rather just wait patiently.

    thank you though <3
     
  9. smf

    smf GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,805
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If it's a mariko unit then the web site probably hasn't been updated because none of those are going to be unpatched and they'll just be adding more and more serial numbers over time.

    I don't think you can accidentally buy a mariko unit thinking you are buying an unpatched unit anyway
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Atmosphere, Nintendo, checker