Can u play any Playstation Games on DS with the R4?

Discussion in 'The Edge of the Forum' started by Mr IT Whiz, Aug 20, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mr IT Whiz
    OP

    Newcomer Mr IT Whiz Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    Australia
    I have heard people say that your can get DS games on your PSP and i wona know if you can get it on your R4 is the any Emulator that can do that? [​IMG]
     


  2. Sir-Fritz

    Member Sir-Fritz GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,336
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Yes. THe R4 can do anything.
     
  3. mad567

    Member mad567 D. Gregar

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    505
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    Greece
    Noway.....You CAn't
     
  4. rhyguy

    Member rhyguy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    Last time i checked, the r4 could play ds games, not 100% on that though.
     
  5. Talaria

    Member Talaria ...

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    584
    Location:
    ...
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Short answer to save you from sarcastic comments and flames. No. The DS will never be capable of running any PS1, N64 and anything after that. Due to the DS's low hardware features, in comparison between the PSP and DS, the PSP has a faster 333 MHz Cpu and 64 MB RAM (Slim lite version) which is alot faster than the DS's 67 MHz and 33 MHz processors with 4 MB ram.
     
  6. Carnivean

    Member Carnivean STARMAN

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    425
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Of course! Just take a pair of sharp scissors and cut the disc to the size required to fit in the MicroSD slot!
     
  7. Praetor192

    Member Praetor192 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    140
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Yes... well, no... sorta...
    It can play Resident Evil...
    but this is a really n00bish question. Get off my internets.
     
  8. spyke

    Newcomer spyke Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    Australia
    lol i read the title and had to read the replies lol

    but seriously stop lying to him - the DS with 2 R4's can play PS3 games!
    however you will need a HDMI cable (you can get these relatively cheap)
     
  9. Mr IT Whiz
    OP

    Newcomer Mr IT Whiz Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    Australia
    No an emulator can it do it to play The Games
     
  10. Mr IT Whiz
    OP

    Newcomer Mr IT Whiz Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    Australia
    hOW can u play residant evil is it that ds Game
     
  11. Praetor192

    Member Praetor192 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    140
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Resident Evil Deadly Silence... DS remake of an originally PSX game. Therefore, PSX game on the DS.

    ...I was just being a smartass.
     
  12. Lumstar

    Member Lumstar Princess

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,531
    Location:
    Darling
    Country:
    United States
    No. DS is not powerful enough to emulate Playstation.

    Playstation games have to be ported by professionals with access to full source code, which rarely occurs.

    Resident Evil is one of the very few. The upcoming Chrono Trigger DS will be another.
     
  13. Mr IT Whiz
    OP

    Newcomer Mr IT Whiz Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    Australia
    Whats PSX?
     
  14. Sir-Fritz

    Member Sir-Fritz GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,336
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    With a name like IT whiz you sure know a lot about technology.
     
  15. Praetor192

    Member Praetor192 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    140
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Short name for PlayStation, or PlayStation 2 media center thing only for Japan. (PSX PS2 Japan Only) mostly the former though.
     
  16. Mr IT Whiz
    OP

    Newcomer Mr IT Whiz Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    Australia
    i didnt no wat to call my name for this so i chose the 1 i got
    how do you make the thingys with your name on them and put them on your account
     
  17. Mr IT Whiz
    OP

    Newcomer Mr IT Whiz Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    Australia
  18. CPhantom

    Member CPhantom The Noob :(

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    587
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, to get PSX games working on your DS, follow these steps:


    1. Buy a DS-X flashcart
    2. Buy a 8GB MircoSDHC card
    3. Once both are obtained, download/burn the ISO to the game of your choice.
    4. Force the DS-X card into the slot two of your NDS.
    5. Rip the top screen from the hinges
    6. Tell your DS that you will never give it up, let it down, run around and desert it, make it cry, say goodbye, tell a lie, or hurt it.
    7. shove a tri-wing screwdriver into the bottom screen
    8. ???
    9. PROFIT!!!!


    It also works with STEAM games such as HALF-LIFE 2, TEAM FORTRESS 2, COUNTER STRIKE: SOURCE, etc.


    enjoy.
     
  19. Praetor192

    Member Praetor192 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    140
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    you forgot about crysis, runs that at 120fps max settings.

    i c wat u did thar with that rick astley reference. well played, good sir, well played.
     
  20. DarkRey

    Member DarkRey still transfoooorming.... with sum lags!

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    983
    Location:
    Rotating around Toni
    Country:
    Croatia
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page