Can U attach a laptop screen to a wii

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by sasho123, Nov 4, 2009.

Nov 4, 2009
  1. sasho123
    OP

    Newcomer sasho123 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Country:
    Bulgaria
    Is it possible to attach a laptop screen from dell inspiron 1000 to a Wii (when I say laptop screen I mean laptop screen). If so how?
     
  2. beegee7730

    Banned beegee7730 ITS PAAFEKUTO!

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,693
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you get a capture card, you can run it through the laptop either fullscreen or in a window.
    If you have a PC monitor you can use a Scart to VGA adaptor.
     
  3. giantpune

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    you need some way to convert the video output of the wii into the signal that the screen expects. and you need a way to power the light in the screen. so unless you know how to do that, no.
     
  4. G0dLiKe

    Member G0dLiKe who needs a title ;)

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,674
    Country:
    United States
    What would be the benefit by doing this? I mean, a laptop screen is little compared to a TV screen... or are you trying to build a portable Wii? LOL
     
  5. sasho123
    OP

    Newcomer sasho123 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Country:
    Bulgaria
    Well no I got the screen from my old broken laptop, and I got the idea. What I want is a screen for the car and a wii, but I don't want to waste a lot of money, I founded some solutions, but it's far more cheaper to buy a new screen.
     
  6. Izzy

    Member Izzy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    151
    Country:
    Sweden
    I would love to see someone play Wii Sports in their car, please make a video if you do. XD
    Anyone, have you thought about getting the sound and everything? That isn't built in in a laptop screen so...
     
  7. beegee7730

    Banned beegee7730 ITS PAAFEKUTO!

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,693
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I don't think you will be able to.
     
  8. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,705
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have looking into old laptops for a while now but for the most part they all use custom protocols to communicate with the screen (not that complex to reverse engineer but nothing like normal standards and even if you did reverse engineer it you then have to adapt input signals and it all gets complex). Lighting is also an issue but for the most part it is simple for anyone with basic electronics knowledge and 10 minutes to figure out what does what.

    On the other hand others have already mentioned such things in passing but last time I was in my local computer shop (I can not say me or mine have been computer shopping in Bulgaria of late but I have seen the same wherever any of us have been in the world) but a lot of old VGA monitors* that ultimately run on 12V aka standard car battery voltage (either internally: you just find the internal transformer and bypass it or externally: you might have to pin out the input sock). I do not see this so much in cars seen as custom stuff exists but head into the boat world and things change.

    *for me at least they were willing to let them go for hardly anything as in my case they had no working power supply and ordering a new one would not have been profitable.
     
  9. sasho123
    OP

    Newcomer sasho123 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Country:
    Bulgaria
    So I guess the best way is to use a different screen. I'll find a few friends to help me out since I'm not really good with electronics.
     
  10. stingray1059

    Member stingray1059 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    193
    Country:
    Philippines
  11. sasho123
    OP

    Newcomer sasho123 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Country:
    Bulgaria
    There is no point using such a screen, as there are many for less than 40$ (you can attach the wii by using the AV cable) so no.
     

Share This Page