TEMPORARY MODE ENABLED  
  1. Dominator211

    OP Dominator211 JFK's Jelly Donut
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Messages:
    1,766
    Country:
    United States
    I recently found out about freeshopNX and decide to give it a go, I tried a tin foil rcm jig and I had my switch plugged into my PC. I held the buttons to get into RCM Mode but nothing came up on the console and nothing changed on the application on my PC it could not detect the RCM. I took both joycons out and disconnected it from my PC. Still no life, I pressed the power button a few more times to no avail. I began to have a panic attack becuase I thought I fried my switch (this would not be the first electronic device I have fried I did from my old laptop previously) I left it alone for a few seconds then tried again. Never in my life have I been so happy to see a Nintendo logo. I fell on the floor with relief. But i always was curious about what I did wrong. I did not seem to find any documentation on people having problems with jigs. What to do you all think?
     
  2. wiiando

    wiiando GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    330
    Country:
    United States
    Not sure if it's how you've worded it but, that to me read that you inserted a jig with a joycon connected on the right rail?

    Tinfoil has to be worst idea ever too, no control over it, it's big and clunky, find a paperclip or buy a jig
     
    c80 and Kafluke like this.
  3. V-Temp

    V-Temp GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2017
    Messages:
    1,227
    Country:
    United States
    I'd recommend not using/touching FreeShopNX unless you want to cop an almost immediate regular ban and then risk a superban.

    Second, don't use tinfoil, it risks bridging Pin#4 which risk completely destroying your Switch. God only knows what you may have done to the system with the tinfoil in there and it not responding to your PC at all. You may not have even been entering RCM mode from what you said and may have, instead, been testing just how well your anti-short fuses were working on your Pin#4 and it was shutting off your device in an attempt to keep it from blowing your board.

    Third, its possible you have a bad cable.
     
  4. Pluupy

    Pluupy _(:3」∠)_
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,944
    Country:
    United States
    Do not use aluminium foil. Buy a jig. It is easier to buy a $2-5 lump of plastic with a wee wire fed into it than a $300 device.
     
  5. Kafluke

    Kafluke GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    5,474
    Country:
    United States
    I can't imagine why it's considered "kosher" to cram a peice of foil in your 300 dollar console yet some users on here constantly recommend it.

    Those users need to take a "electronics 101" class. The sheer volume of people having issues after doing so is par for the course.
     
  6. Creatable

    Creatable GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2017
    Messages:
    586
    Country:
    United States
    He was in RCM and that's why he didn't boot. /thread
    Oh also, OP, don't call it "RCM mode", RCM stands for "recovery mode" so when you call it "RCM mode" you're essentially saying "Recovery mode mode" stop.
     
    Last edited by Creatable, Aug 18, 2018
    c80 and adrifcastr like this.
  7. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye *is birb*
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    21,098
    Country:
    Norway
    You need to install the driver for the program to recognize it.
     
    Risingdawn likes this.
  8. Kafluke

    Kafluke GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    5,474
    Country:
    United States
    ATM Machine. PIN number. VIN Number... the list goes on and on. I feel your pain
     
  9. Kubas_inko

    Kubas_inko "Something funny goes here."
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    Messages:
    6,313
    Country:
    Czech Republic
    Yet you can't call it only a "recovery mode", because then people wouldn't know which one you mean. So either RCM or Tegra ReCovery mode.
     
  10. Unleanone999

    Unleanone999 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2018
    Messages:
    1,030
    Country:
    Togo
    Same goes for the people who recommend jamming a paperclip or safety pin that could easily damage and deform the pins beyond repair.
     
    ZachyCatGames likes this.
  11. Ashura66

    Ashura66 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    1,711
    Country:
    Portugal
    Foil doesn't even go anywhere near pin 4, it uses the last 2 pins and it doesn't even move when sliding the joycon into the rail, it's a perfectly viable, cheap alternative to using a jig. Also FreeShopNX is instant cert ban, as in instant superban, it doesn't even go trough the other levels of ban
     
  12. Dominator211

    OP Dominator211 JFK's Jelly Donut
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Messages:
    1,766
    Country:
    United States
    oh i see i just thought thats what everyone calls it
     
  13. Ashura66

    Ashura66 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    1,711
    Country:
    Portugal
    I've been in the same situation as you before, as in when i tried to load the payload, it would simply not load it and i had to hold the power button for like 12 seconds to fully shut it down. Originally i thought the issue was my SD card since i was, unknowingly, using a fake one but it's not, the issue is, most likely, your USB cable. Does your PC make a sound when a usb device is connected? That is one way to know if you have successfully entered RCM. When you load your payload, if the window doesn't do anything(As in not show the Smashing the stack!) notification then the issue is most likely your USB cable. If you do successful the menus but the words appear all jumbled and weird,then the issue is most like your SD card. Try it with a different usb cable for starters just to eliminate that possibility. Also if you're going to use the foil method, make sure that
    A) it's thin enough to only bridge the last 2 pins(A millimeter wide at most)
    B)It's secured in place when sliding the joycon in the rail so that it doesn't move at all when sliding in and out
     
  14. Dominator211

    OP Dominator211 JFK's Jelly Donut
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Messages:
    1,766
    Country:
    United States
    that's what i did, the last two pins pin 4 was never touched
     
  15. Ashura66

    Ashura66 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    1,711
    Country:
    Portugal
    Try it with a different usb cable for starters just to eliminate that possibility. Also if you're going to use the foil method, make sure that
    A) it's thin enough to only bridge the last 2 pins(A millimeter wide at most)
    B)It's secured in place when sliding the joycon in the rail so that it doesn't move at all when sliding in and out
     
  16. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    15,920
    Country:
    United States
    I'd also like to add to the possibility that his USB ports stopped detecting his Switch. It happened to me today after testing various payloads with AutoRCM for my full write-up on how to turn a console off with AutoRCM. My laptop was charging my Switch but it wasn't listing it as an APX or Nintendo Switch device. Once I switched ports, it detected my Switch again. I also restarted the computer and the first port that wasn't detecting the Switch suddenly started detecting it again. So the fault may or may not just be in the cable but also your USB ports.
     
  17. Dominator211

    OP Dominator211 JFK's Jelly Donut
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Messages:
    1,766
    Country:
    United States
    i used tap and counted the pins so it seemed to be correct i was just curious about what happened when it wouldnt turn on
     
  18. Ashura66

    Ashura66 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    1,711
    Country:
    Portugal
    Does your PC make a sound whenever a USB device is pluged in? That«s the easiest way to know. Also did you hild both buttons at the same time? I found that holding the volume button and then tapping the power button works better for me than trying to hold both at the same time

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Didn't even know that could happen.
     
  19. Risingdawn

    Risingdawn Tempallica
    Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,084
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    he hasn't installed the drivers on the pc.
     
  20. Dominator211

    OP Dominator211 JFK's Jelly Donut
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Messages:
    1,766
    Country:
    United States
    but why wouldnt my switch boot up after? i mean it cant be a driver
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - trying, switch, cause