Can this play GBA ROMS?

Discussion in 'GBA - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by TLSpartan, Jul 13, 2007.

Jul 13, 2007

Can this play GBA ROMS? by TLSpartan at 4:35 AM (3,062 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

  1. TLSpartan
    OP

    Member TLSpartan Kills threads

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,053
    Country:
    Australia
    I found this will searching for the 3 in 1 on dealextreme when I came across this Link. Can you use this for playing GBA ROM's. It doesnt state wether it has RAM or not. Also is it a clone of something. Thanks
     
  2. 754boy

    Banned 754boy :D

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3,469
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Country:
    United States
    Its a slot2 so its capable of playing GBA games. It says it right on the box [​IMG] Damn that thing is cheap lol....wonder if its any good. Not much memory but 128MB gould hold quite a few gba roms.
     
  3. TLSpartan
    OP

    Member TLSpartan Kills threads

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,053
    Country:
    Australia
    I forgot to look at the box. Stupid me. The crap thing is though that I have to use my old GBA to flash things to it. Thanks 754 boy, I am ordering one right now
     
  4. Veho

    Global Moderator Veho The man who cried "Ni".

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,452
    Location:
    Zagreb
    Country:
    Croatia
    But so is the M3 Pro [​IMG]

    Man, that's cheap. Too bad the shipping costs you more than the whole card... [​IMG]

    Is that 128MB or 128 mb? 128 mb = 16 MB. Enough for most games, one at a time... [​IMG] So it might be 16MB.
     
  5. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Its almost certainly 128Mb. If it was 128 MB it would be marketed as 1 gigabit.

    It says "Free shipping" when I look at it BTW.
     
  6. TLSpartan
    OP

    Member TLSpartan Kills threads

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,053
    Country:
    Australia
    Shit. [​IMG] So it could be either 128Mb(16MB) or 128MB(1Gb). I bought it 20 minutes ago. Ill ask bout it.

    EDIT( The box says multi game so I think its 128MB. Hopefully [​IMG]
     
  7. Veho

    Global Moderator Veho The man who cried "Ni".

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,452
    Location:
    Zagreb
    Country:
    Croatia
    Relax, 16MB is enough for GBA games. And $10 isn't much. You can always sell it (and for a profit, too), to some local credit-card-less kid [​IMG]
     
  8. TLSpartan
    OP

    Member TLSpartan Kills threads

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,053
    Country:
    Australia
    I will find out in 2 weeks I guess [​IMG]
     
  9. accolon

    Member accolon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    206
    Country:
    Germany
    It says 128M on the card, so I'd say you get 16MB. 128MB NOR flash would be much more expensive.

    I think it's funny that the box says "USB High Speed" while the images clearly show a parallel port connector. [​IMG]
     
  10. TLSpartan
    OP

    Member TLSpartan Kills threads

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,053
    Country:
    Australia
    Dealextreme says 128MB, so I have to wait 2 weeks or until someone can clear it up for me.

    EDIT DX's site also says it can play NDS ROMS so I am leaning towards 128MB...for now [​IMG]
     
  11. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Untrimmed DS roms can be as small as 8MB (64Mb). If you attach a loader to the rom, many of them can be played from GBA style flashcarts, which is what this thing looks like.

    I find it hard to believe that a GBA flashcart with 128MB of NOR flash memory would be this cheap. That said, a 16MB cart is well worth $11 if it really works.
     
  12. TLSpartan
    OP

    Member TLSpartan Kills threads

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,053
    Country:
    Australia
    If its only 16MB I will find something else. I will probably give this to my brother if it is 16MB.

    EDIT-I just sent a support ticket so hopefully some Knows at Dealextreme
     
  13. Veho

    Global Moderator Veho The man who cried "Ni".

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,452
    Location:
    Zagreb
    Country:
    Croatia
    Let us know when you find out. I'm curious too.
     
  14. TLSpartan
    OP

    Member TLSpartan Kills threads

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,053
    Country:
    Australia
    When I get mine I will make a mini review for gbatemp. Dealextremes support tickets are very fast so hopefully by tomorrow morning I should have an answer
     
  15. Psyfira

    Member Psyfira Credit: 0ml. Insert tea to continue

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    3,887
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's 128Mbit, but don't knock it till you try it. You'd be surprised how little space you actually need. It may not sound like much, but unlike the 3-in-1 "multirom" means it can hold more than one game at once, which is 2-3 games more than the 3-in-1 can hold. Sure it won't take the largest 32MB games like KH but anything else'll fit on it just fine.

    Where on earth did they dig a parallel port linker up from? [​IMG]

    Oh and *psst*, lasers.
     
  16. TLSpartan
    OP

    Member TLSpartan Kills threads

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,053
    Country:
    Australia
    And if I trim as well.... I still would rather have 128 megabytes. Oh well
     
  17. TLSpartan
    OP

    Member TLSpartan Kills threads

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,053
    Country:
    Australia
    Its a confirmed 16MB guys.Its on the product page
     
  18. litobro

    Newcomer litobro Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    United States
    One of the packaging shows "128M" as the model/storage capacity of this device. 128M actually means 128Mbit, as per the usual way these GBA products are marketed by their manufacturers. That's 16M-Byte of memory in the usual terms.

    is from the site
     
  19. brooks

    Newcomer brooks Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    I'd get it if just to find out what "actication replay" is.
     

Share This Page