Can this 360 console be flashed?

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Hacking & Homebrew' started by mt74ont, Jan 1, 2012.

Jan 1, 2012
  1. mt74ont
    OP

    Newcomer mt74ont Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Canada
    HI, I recently picked up the 360 Holiday bundle. The dash version is 2.0.14699.0 and the drive appears to look like BENQ.
    Could someone tell me if this console can be flashed and if so point me in the right direction, thanks for your help.
     
  2. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene The Gift of Dino

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12,947
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    A Benq in a 360 slim?
    Never heard of it.

    It must be an Hitachi or an Liteon
    Hitachi 0500 and 0502 aren't flashable and so is the Liteon 1175

    Other Slim Liteons are flashable but they either require a russian Sputnik hack or an Kamikaze hack (for winbond chips)
     
  3. mt74ont
    OP

    Newcomer mt74ont Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Canada
    HI, thanks for the quick reply. Ok so I am assuming the only true way is to open up the console? I was merely going by the drive comparison chart found here http://www.llamma.com/xbox360/Xbox_360_DVD_Drive_Comparison.htm This is what made me assume it was a Benq based on the look of the drive. Also is there any hardware mods on the market that currently work well with the slim, thanks again.
     
  4. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene The Gift of Dino

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12,947
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    That graph is way outdated since it doesn't even contain the Phat Liteons ;p
    Besides its for the 360 Phat from before 2007/2008.

    There are ODDE's you can try but they do require your DVD Key.
    Wich requires unlocking your DVD drive and dumping the firmware with the Sputnik/Kamikaze hack, if lucky!

    You could RGH your console (if it is a Trinity motherboard) if you don't care about live at all.
    Otherwise it's just sitting back and waiting.
    Or find a old 360 Phat for backup games.
     
  5. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,108
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Don't need sputnik or kamikazie to get key. They are only for writing to drive, if you want to use unlocked pcb or optical drive emulator, then you don't need to do them. Dumping the drive is easy, don't have to do anything to the pcb.
     
  6. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene The Gift of Dino

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12,947
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    My bad.
    Mixed it up with the MRA.
     

Share This Page