can the R4...

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by kaisai, Nov 6, 2007.

Nov 6, 2007

can the R4... by kaisai at 3:05 AM (1,961 Views / 0 Likes) 23 replies

  1. kaisai
    OP

    Member kaisai GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    121
    Country:
    United States
    can the R4 die? i have a R4 and my sister has a M3.

    we play our DS like 5 hours a day and we play some what the same games.

    anyways, my R4 is freezes on games like pokemon and whatnot

    so can the R4 die?
     


  2. Nero

    Member Nero GBAtemp RPG Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,919
    Country:
    United States
    Why the hell would it die? It's not a pet.

    Pfft.. 5 Hours is nothing. I've had my R4 for months and it's fine. (I play 10 Hours on weekends, and 3-5 hours on Weekdays)

    Don't worry... It's probably just that your MicroSD is a piece of crap.

    ~Nero
     
  3. amptor

    Banned amptor Banned

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,554
    Country:
    United States
    It can, it is a cheaply made product. However sometimes it depends what SD card you are using, if it is Japan or Taiwan. In certain games it'll freeze if it is taiwan. Also SD cards sometimes ship defective, I have on mini-SD at work that makes anything lock up that it is inserted in.
     
  4. Nero

    Member Nero GBAtemp RPG Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,919
    Country:
    United States
    Just because it's cheaply made doesn't mean it'll die on it's own.

    I'll restate it again. Get a new MicroSD.

    ~Nero

    (It will help if you tell me which MicroSD you're using)
     
  5. Infinitus

    Member Infinitus GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Messages:
    217
    Country:
    United States
    **Infinitus brutally stabs his R4.

    Are you dead yet? Huh? Y'want some more? Come get it!
     
  6. Hiratai

    Banned Hiratai I'm like *tick* *tick*

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,031
    Country:
    United States
    The battery in it can cause it to die - yes.
     
  7. DarkAura

    Member DarkAura Offline

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Over there.
    Country:
    Canada
    Die? Yes, everything has to die as some point. I play a lot, but the worst thing that happened so far is the spring busted on me. [​IMG]
     
  8. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States

    Since when does an R4 have a battery in it? This is news to me.


    Try ejecting and inserting the card a few times. That usually fixes random lockups....assuming it's not just a crappy microSD that's causing your issues.
     
  9. kellyan95

    Banned kellyan95 Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    United States
    Mmhmm, every gadget has a limited number of uses.....but I doubt any of use (without a defective one) will reach it
     
  10. kaisai
    OP

    Member kaisai GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    121
    Country:
    United States
    we have a sandisk 1GB. and yes i did buy a new card and still the same thing happened.

    i had the R4 for months
     
  11. Nero

    Member Nero GBAtemp RPG Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,919
    Country:
    United States
    Sweet! Theres a Slot-2 R4 now? Link to product please. [​IMG]

    ~Nero
     
  12. DarkAura

    Member DarkAura Offline

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Over there.
    Country:
    Canada
    I think Hiratai means something about the R4 causing the battery to die cuz of the sleep mode.
     
  13. kaisai
    OP

    Member kaisai GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    121
    Country:
    United States
    yea i know the sleep mode is causing problems, but just to some games
     
  14. DarkAura

    Member DarkAura Offline

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Over there.
    Country:
    Canada
    I thought that sleep mode affected all games and Moonshell and the like.
     
  15. Nero

    Member Nero GBAtemp RPG Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,919
    Country:
    United States
    I was being sarcastic.. Whatever, sarcasm doesn't work on the internet..

    ~Nero
     
  16. jtroye32

    Member jtroye32 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    420
    Location:
    Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    either your microSD card isn't very good or the pins on the R4 are barely making connection with your DS because the r4 casing isn't closed 100% tight. so, when you're playing and you shake the DS a little the R4 loses touch with the DS for a split second causing it to freeze. try squeezing around the edges of your R4 a bit to make sure it's flush together. if that doesn't work buy a new microSD card.
     
  17. PuyoDead

    Member PuyoDead Hey! Hey! Oh!

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Messages:
    698
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Country:
    United States
    I've had my R4 since about mid summer, and I've never had a single problem with it. Well, sometimes the DS doesn't see it, but ejecting it and re-inserting it fixes that. And even then, it only does that maybe once a month.

    As the others have said, try different MicroSD cards, and make sure all the contact points (R4, MicroSD, and DS) are clean.
     
  18. BoneMonkey

    Banned BoneMonkey The cheese stash is a lie.

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,226
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    could be a bad rom too
     
  19. Hiratai

    Banned Hiratai I'm like *tick* *tick*

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,031
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG]

    A useful post.
     
  20. kaisai
    OP

    Member kaisai GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    121
    Country:
    United States
    like a posted before it freeze of games like pokemon, the rom is fine cuz it works fine with my sisters M3, and my cuz R4
     

Share This Page