can the R4 play movies?

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Sonicslasher, Nov 22, 2007.

Nov 22, 2007

can the R4 play movies? by Sonicslasher at 4:21 PM (3,803 Views / 0 Likes) 16 replies

  1. Sonicslasher
    OP

    Member Sonicslasher In Law we trust.

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,230
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Country:
    United States
    prolly a nubbish question...
     
  2. moozxy

    Member moozxy hamboning

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,466
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes, just convert it to dpg like any other video.
     
  3. jelbo

    Member jelbo Ōkami!

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    807
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Your best bet is using BatchDPG to convert to .dpg -- that is if you care for highest possible quality, imo a must when watching movies on a tiny screen.

    R4 uses MoonShell to play movies, just like most other flashcards.
     
  4. Sonicslasher
    OP

    Member Sonicslasher In Law we trust.

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,230
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Country:
    United States
    link please.
    and what program do I need to play it?
     
  5. Veho

    Global Moderator Veho The man who cried "Ni".

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,455
    Location:
    Zagreb
    Country:
    Croatia
    Convert to .dpg with BatchDPG, and then play with Moonshell.
     
  6. moozxy

    Member moozxy hamboning

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,466
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  7. Sonicslasher
    OP

    Member Sonicslasher In Law we trust.

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,230
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Country:
    United States
    will this work on all flash cards?
     
  8. SnickS

    Member SnickS GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Messages:
    127
    Country:
    Netherlands
    No, it can only play GBA games
     
  9. Veho

    Global Moderator Veho The man who cried "Ni".

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,455
    Location:
    Zagreb
    Country:
    Croatia
    Yes. Some flashcards have a built-in version of Moonshell, but I'd suggest you download the latest version, DLDI-patch it, and play .dpg on that. Some of these built-in versions are a bit iffy.
     
  10. Sonicslasher
    OP

    Member Sonicslasher In Law we trust.

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,230
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Country:
    United States
    I have 1.6 built in.
    and I keep getting this message when Im trying to convert the video:
    Conversion failed, blah blah blah open this....
     
  11. chuckstudios

    Member chuckstudios Putting the pro in procrastination

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    896
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Perhaps you should install AviSynth and CCCP and try again. If you still get the same message, doing what the error message tells you to do is usually a good idea.
     
  12. Sonicslasher
    OP

    Member Sonicslasher In Law we trust.

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,230
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Country:
    United States

    WTF is CCCP?
     
  13. Veho

    Global Moderator Veho The man who cried "Ni".

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,455
    Location:
    Zagreb
    Country:
    Croatia
  14. DarkAura

    Member DarkAura Offline

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Over there.
    Country:
    Canada
    You can also use dpgtools included in Moonshell to convert.
     
  15. Veho

    Global Moderator Veho The man who cried "Ni".

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,455
    Location:
    Zagreb
    Country:
    Croatia
    But the results are not as good as with BatchDPG.
     
  16. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    BatchDPG is also alot faster if I remember right.
     
  17. rest0re

    Member rest0re GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Messages:
    755
    Location:
    WINLAND
    Country:
    Finland
    Do you have original r4 box. Turn it to side and you can see "game movie music". So it does play movies
     

Share This Page