Hacking Can someone tell me the optimal settings for Nintendont?

Malackz

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 26, 2015
Messages
19
Trophies
0
Age
24
Location
Portland, Oregon
XP
85
Country
United States
Ive been using Nintendont alot recently,but when started playing super mario sunshine and twilight princess lately, things have been looking kinda bad. like on super mario sunshine, i definitely remember the game being made for widescreen, but it always starts in a 4:3 format, with two bars on the left and right. It also looks a little squished together. but then when i put the nintendont settings on wii u widescreen, everything looks stretched and extremely pixelated. same with twilight princess. Could someone tell me how to get it looking like its supposed to?
 

TotalInsanity4

GBAtemp Supreme Overlord
Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2014
Messages
10,806
Trophies
0
Location
Under a rock
XP
9,803
Country
United States
Both "Force Widescreen" and "WiiU Widescreen" need to be on, its a function that works together. "Force Widescreen" squishes all the models down so that they look normal in widescreen, and "WiiU Widescreen" sends a signal over HDMI to tell the TV it needs to cover a 16:9 area instead of a 4:3
 
  • Like
Reactions: Margen67

Malackz

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 26, 2015
Messages
19
Trophies
0
Age
24
Location
Portland, Oregon
XP
85
Country
United States
Both "Force Widescreen" and "WiiU Widescreen" need to be on, its a function that works together. "Force Widescreen" squishes all the models down so that they look normal in widescreen, and "WiiU Widescreen" sends a signal over HDMI to tell the TV it needs to cover a 16:9 area instead of a 4:3

oh okay, thanks :D and do i need to say yes when it asks if i want to turn progressive on?
 
  • Like
Reactions: Margen67

TotalInsanity4

GBAtemp Supreme Overlord
Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2014
Messages
10,806
Trophies
0
Location
Under a rock
XP
9,803
Country
United States
It does look alot better, thanks :) but im not sure if its supposed to have thin black bars surrounding the whole screen, or if its supposed to fill it in...

It should be completely filled in, but that sounds like a TV setting issue to me... Try setting different image settings for your TV and see if that helps
 

VinsCool

Persona Secretiva Felineus
Global Moderator
Joined
Jan 7, 2014
Messages
14,451
Trophies
3
Location
Another World
Website
www.gbatemp.net
XP
22,515
Country
Canada
It should be completely filled in, but that sounds like a TV setting issue to me... Try setting different image settings for your TV and see if that helps

Overscan. some games has options for filling screen, but most don't.
 
  • Like
Reactions: TotalInsanity4

Malackz

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 26, 2015
Messages
19
Trophies
0
Age
24
Location
Portland, Oregon
XP
85
Country
United States
Overscan. some games has options for filling screen, but most don't.

It should be completely filled in, but that sounds like a TV setting issue to me... Try setting different image settings for your TV and see if that helps

You guys are the best!! but one more issue, and this may just be me, or it might be a game problem. there are lines running through everything, and i think its an overscan thing, but it looks a little bit...bad...and also i dont remember the game looking this pixelated...if one of you has a newer tv and a disc version of the game, would you be able to confirm that this is how its supposed to be? i have the game but i dont have anything that plays gamecube disks anymore :/
 

fatsquirrel

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2013
Messages
2,634
Trophies
1
Age
33
XP
3,269
Country
Im not sure, but there may be 2 things here

1. You have a large LCD screen, so it looks worse because picture is streched more
2. Nostalgia makes you think game looked better than it actually does (been there myself ^^)
 

Malackz

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 26, 2015
Messages
19
Trophies
0
Age
24
Location
Portland, Oregon
XP
85
Country
United States
Im not sure, but there may be 2 things here

1. You have a large LCD screen, so it looks worse because picture is streched more
2. Nostalgia makes you think game looked better than it actually does (been there myself ^^)

its an LED so it must be the nostalgia, but i swear it wasn't this bad....i mean its worse than ocarina of time pixel wise, (but of course polygon wise its still better) i dont really mind it since im not picky about my graphics, but i swear it used to be better haha
 

fatsquirrel

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2013
Messages
2,634
Trophies
1
Age
33
XP
3,269
Country
Well thats what I mean, Led/lcd.
CRT screens handled low res consoles better. For example try comparing NES on crt or a new lcd/led/plazma whatever screen ^^
 

Edgarska

Conjurer of cheap tricks
Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2011
Messages
797
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
2,064
Country
United States
If you are already using HDMI, doesn't that mean you already using Progressive and is enabled by wii u system default? :unsure:
It's outputting progressively, but the game might still be rendering interlaced, so you have to enable it when you launch the game. Though I think there's an option to force progressive scan but I haven't used it in a while.
 
  • Like
Reactions: TotalInsanity4
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    susbaconhairman @ susbaconhairman: what