Can somebody help me partition my HDD?

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by drakorex, Mar 17, 2011.

Mar 17, 2011
  1. drakorex
    OP

    Member drakorex GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,881
    Country:
    United States
    I got a seagate HDD the other day, and when I tried to format it to fat32 the usual way, it would only format to NTFS. I tried using Wii Backup Manager, and it SAYS that it changed, but it didn't. Any suggestions?
     
  2. kjb1686

    Member kjb1686 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    261
    Location:
    Olean New York
    Country:
    United States
    You can try downloading a partition manager like EASEUS partition manager and format it using that and you can also use it to partition the drive. For the program google it i don't have a link for it.
     
  3. drakorex
    OP

    Member drakorex GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,881
    Country:
    United States
    I'm using Paragon, but after it formats, I check the file system and it says NTFS
     
  4. Dter ic

    Member Dter ic ~

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,757
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    open cmd (comand prompt) as administrator: right click on cmd.exe and select run as administrator

    type the following

    Code:
    convert G: /FS:FAT32
    where "G" is the drive letter of your seagate HDD (open my computer to find out)
     
  5. samagon

    Newcomer samagon Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    United States
    You can't format large drives to fat32 on Windows XP and above. You could use a number of different 3rd party tools. Try fat32format: hxxp://www.softpedia.com/get/System/Hard-Disk-Utils/FAT32format.shtml

    Or if you're using linux just type this into the terminal while you have root access:

    mkfs -t vfat -I /dev/sda1

    Assuming that sda is the drive you want to format.
     
  6. drakorex
    OP

    Member drakorex GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,881
    Country:
    United States
    Hey, I got it. WOOT! I just had to run it a couple times.Now then. Is there a need for a NTFS partition for it to function properly, or can I have the whole thing as fat32?
     
  7. Dter ic

    Member Dter ic ~

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,757
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    no it is not a nnessesity to have another ntfs partition on that drive, be warned that files over 4gb will not copy over
     
  8. drakorex
    OP

    Member drakorex GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,881
    Country:
    United States
    Wiiflow read the NTFS but the rest of the wii didn't. Any insight on this?
     
  9. Dter ic

    Member Dter ic ~

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,757
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    programs that suport ntfs should read your hardrive

    what do you mean 'the rest of the wii didn't"
     

Share This Page