can rumble be added to non rumble games?

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by L_o_N_e_R, Jul 12, 2007.

Jul 12, 2007
  1. L_o_N_e_R
    OP

    Member L_o_N_e_R GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    413
    Country:
    United States
    is it possible?

    i wanna play mkds with rumble [​IMG]
     
  2. iq_132

    Member iq_132 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Messages:
    149
    Location:
    Kalamazoo, Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    If someone found the code in the game that controlled collisions, patched it to jump to a custom sub that activated rumble, it would be very possible. It maybe even be possible using a cheat. If there's a piece of ram (a byte or two) that is written to when collisions happen, a sub that is linked somewhere that is triggered fairly often, it could watch it for changes and trigger a rumble when it does.
    It most likely won't be as easy as it sounds.
     
  3. L_o_N_e_R
    OP

    Member L_o_N_e_R GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    413
    Country:
    United States

    O.o way too much info for me [​IMG]

    so theroitically it is possible? but we just need someone who willing to do it?
     
  4. T!b0

    Newcomer T!b0 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    91
    Location:
    PARIS
    Country:
    France
    From what I get,
    it's possible in theory but it asks pretty much to remake each game to make it rumble compatible, right?


    Cause you have to find *what players control* collisions, not just any collision.. [​IMG]


    Well too much gabble for rumble!
     
  5. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,743
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Cop out, you tie it to the stuff dealing with sound rather than collisions.
     
  6. jesterscourt

    Member jesterscourt Not Brad.

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2,153
    Country:
    United States
    There isn't any homebrew thus far that takes advantage of rumble is there?
     
  7. iq_132

    Member iq_132 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Messages:
    149
    Location:
    Kalamazoo, Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    Generally, invincibility cheats patch bytes written to ram that are modified when taking damage.
    When GogoAckman and I were implementing Rumble support in FBA-XXX, I set it up so that it simply
    monitors for data to be written to specific addresses, then it triggers a rumble. I found the
    addresses by using cheat files that were already available. [​IMG]
     
  8. Jax

    Member Jax Pip Pip Cheerioink!

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Messages:
    4,092
    Location:
    L.A.V.
    Country:
    Portugal
    Imagine Trauma Center with rumble!

    Derek: GOdDAMMIT! I lost another one!

    Angie: Why are you shaking so much, doctor?
     
  9. Shelleeson

    Member Shelleeson GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    928
    Location:
    i'm here....silly.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    LOL jax
    derek: sorry nurse i was out drinking last night. [​IMG]
     
  10. L_o_N_e_R
    OP

    Member L_o_N_e_R GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    413
    Country:
    United States

    so its possible using action replay or a simiar device(like the built in cheat thin in the r4)?

    and LOL@jax
     
  11. leetdude_007

    Member leetdude_007 Official GBAtemp Assassin That Has Never Killed An

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Country:
    United States
    It's possible, but is it available? I cannot recall!
     
  12. CannonBallZ

    Member CannonBallZ GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    243
    Country:
    United States
    supercard rumble can be used for some cheap thrills i suppose [​IMG]
     

Share This Page