Gaming can roms be ripped from vc wad`s ?

callmebob

The Grandpa of Awe!
Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2007
Messages
737
Trophies
0
Age
55
Location
Bitburger Brewery (a lot)
XP
1,985
Country
Germany
TBH I dunno. Use wadunpacker, and look at the .app files. The largest should be the rom, the 2nd largest the emulator. Again, unqualified response, but since you bring it up, that´s something I might try just for the hell of it.

Would be cool just to rename it, put it on a zip disk, and shove it in the old Z. It´s just gathering dust right now, and I bet any metal components are beginning to rust!
 

Lumstar

Princess
Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2006
Messages
3,999
Trophies
0
Location
Darling
Website
eonhack.blogspot.com
XP
1,421
Country
United States
Someone needs to rip Tecmo Bowl. That's one game with differences from its original version.
wub.gif
 

mrgone

old man
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2002
Messages
1,094
Trophies
0
Age
44
Location
close to the oktoberfest
XP
1,898
Country
Germany
nice, thanx for all the info

i used wadtool to unpack/decrypt the rom

the biggest file was 33,5 mb
the original japanese rom had 32 mb
looks good, as western fonts need more space, but not the font, but the text

but nemu (the n64 emu i had on hdd) says its not a n64 rom

is there a tool that can identify a n64 rom by a header or so ?
 

Treflex

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2008
Messages
189
Trophies
0
Age
28
Location
New Jersey, USA
XP
568
Country
United States
Did you rename it to .z64/.v64/.n64/.rom or something instead of .app? I'm not really certain but maybe try using "all files" instead of "n64 roms" when you're picking the rom.
 

callmebob

The Grandpa of Awe!
Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2007
Messages
737
Trophies
0
Age
55
Location
Bitburger Brewery (a lot)
XP
1,985
Country
Germany
mmkay. Unpacked the NTSC release with wadunpacker, renamed to Sin and Punishment.z64, and tried using it with my Z with a US N64. No go. Won´t even recognize/display the title.

Also tried extracting the wad with the U8 tools, but they won´t extract the rom itself.

Prolly needs some hex editing.

Hope someone has something, just ´cause it would be cool!
 

callmebob

The Grandpa of Awe!
Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2007
Messages
737
Trophies
0
Age
55
Location
Bitburger Brewery (a lot)
XP
1,985
Country
Germany
@ putifreak

wacko.gif
unpacked and got a folder with a bunch of stuff that sounds like it belongs in the game, but for the life of me, I couldn´t do anything (repack) with it!

can you provide an example of how to do this? Will continue trying, but I´m stuck for now.
 

callmebob

The Grandpa of Awe!
Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2007
Messages
737
Trophies
0
Age
55
Location
Bitburger Brewery (a lot)
XP
1,985
Country
Germany
huh.gif
WTF! GTFO!
rofl.gif
huh.gif
cry.gif


Okay, me again. After a bit of googling figured out that the folder that the u8 tools puts out does indeed contain the rom. And in fact, that is literally the name of the rom. Just plain rom. No extension, just rom.

Get this, though!! I renamed it Sin.z64, loaded it into my z, but it was recognized with the original Japanese name. I thought, okay, could be, but once the game booted.... Japanese!! WTF!!

Is the translation in the (Wii) emulator itself, and not the rom???!! Man that´s wierd
wacko.gif


(edit) Let´s say that is the case, would someone with a clue be able to pinpoint it, and somehow use it to patch the rom itself??

(2nd edit) The folder that the u8 tools spits out also contains several bin files, each indicating a different language!! Maybe the bin files can be used to "patch" the rom??
 

mrgone

old man
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2002
Messages
1,094
Trophies
0
Age
44
Location
close to the oktoberfest
XP
1,898
Country
Germany
i get the same thing
if i use the u8tools on my file(005) i got from wadtool
i get shitloads of t64 files (i'm pretty sure they are not c64 tape images) and this "rom"
the rom again is 32 mb and i guess(from callmebob's post)
its bytewise(more or less) the same to the japanese n64 rom.
my next guess is, the t64 files are the english patch, the wii does on the fly during play
frown.gif

i guess the t in t64 stands for texture, but that doesn't help really
looks like no english rom
frown.gif
 

kedest

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
3,289
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
534
Country
Netherlands
I'm trying this too, to get the rom file from mario rpg wad.
I use wadunpacker to unpack it and it does come up with a bunch of file, one of them being the 000005.app
But even after renaming the emulator won't load it
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras: Maybe return it, but first I'd check with an attorney