can roms be ripped from vc wad`s ?

Discussion in 'Wii - Console and Game Discussions' started by mrgone, Aug 24, 2008.

Aug 24, 2008
  1. mrgone
    OP

    Member mrgone GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    728
    Country:
    Germany
    i'm thinking specifically of

    sin & punishment

    which got an english translation for its VC release.
     


  2. callmebob

    Member callmebob The Grandpa of Awe!

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    Messages:
    619
    Location:
    Bitburger Brewery (a lot)
    Country:
    Germany
    TBH I dunno. Use wadunpacker, and look at the .app files. The largest should be the rom, the 2nd largest the emulator. Again, unqualified response, but since you bring it up, that´s something I might try just for the hell of it.

    Would be cool just to rename it, put it on a zip disk, and shove it in the old Z. It´s just gathering dust right now, and I bet any metal components are beginning to rust!
     
  3. Lumstar

    Member Lumstar Princess

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,531
    Location:
    Darling
    Country:
    United States
    Someone needs to rip Tecmo Bowl. That's one game with differences from its original version. [​IMG]
     
  4. Treflex

    Member Treflex GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    179
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, you an. just unpack it and it should be the 00000005.app (maybe more zero's >.
     
  5. mrgone
    OP

    Member mrgone GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    728
    Country:
    Germany
    nice, thanx for all the info

    i used wadtool to unpack/decrypt the rom

    the biggest file was 33,5 mb
    the original japanese rom had 32 mb
    looks good, as western fonts need more space, but not the font, but the text

    but nemu (the n64 emu i had on hdd) says its not a n64 rom

    is there a tool that can identify a n64 rom by a header or so ?
     
  6. Treflex

    Member Treflex GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    179
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Did you rename it to .z64/.v64/.n64/.rom or something instead of .app? I'm not really certain but maybe try using "all files" instead of "n64 roms" when you're picking the rom.
     
  7. mrgone
    OP

    Member mrgone GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    728
    Country:
    Germany
    yeah, i tried that (rom, v64, ..)
    its always the same message
     
  8. putifreak

    Member putifreak GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    113
    Country:
    Germany
  9. callmebob

    Member callmebob The Grandpa of Awe!

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    Messages:
    619
    Location:
    Bitburger Brewery (a lot)
    Country:
    Germany
    mmkay. Unpacked the NTSC release with wadunpacker, renamed to Sin and Punishment.z64, and tried using it with my Z with a US N64. No go. Won´t even recognize/display the title.

    Also tried extracting the wad with the U8 tools, but they won´t extract the rom itself.

    Prolly needs some hex editing.

    Hope someone has something, just ´cause it would be cool!
     
  10. putifreak

    Member putifreak GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    113
    Country:
    Germany
    Unpack the wad with the wadunpacker, then extract the 00000005.app with the u8tools.
     
  11. callmebob

    Member callmebob The Grandpa of Awe!

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    Messages:
    619
    Location:
    Bitburger Brewery (a lot)
    Country:
    Germany
    @ putifreak

    [​IMG] unpacked and got a folder with a bunch of stuff that sounds like it belongs in the game, but for the life of me, I couldn´t do anything (repack) with it!

    can you provide an example of how to do this? Will continue trying, but I´m stuck for now.
     
  12. callmebob

    Member callmebob The Grandpa of Awe!

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    Messages:
    619
    Location:
    Bitburger Brewery (a lot)
    Country:
    Germany
    [​IMG] WTF! GTFO! [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Okay, me again. After a bit of googling figured out that the folder that the u8 tools puts out does indeed contain the rom. And in fact, that is literally the name of the rom. Just plain rom. No extension, just rom.

    Get this, though!! I renamed it Sin.z64, loaded it into my z, but it was recognized with the original Japanese name. I thought, okay, could be, but once the game booted.... Japanese!! WTF!!

    Is the translation in the (Wii) emulator itself, and not the rom???!! Man that´s wierd [​IMG]

    (edit) Let´s say that is the case, would someone with a clue be able to pinpoint it, and somehow use it to patch the rom itself??

    (2nd edit) The folder that the u8 tools spits out also contains several bin files, each indicating a different language!! Maybe the bin files can be used to "patch" the rom??
     
  13. mrgone
    OP

    Member mrgone GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    728
    Country:
    Germany
    i get the same thing
    if i use the u8tools on my file(005) i got from wadtool
    i get shitloads of t64 files (i'm pretty sure they are not c64 tape images) and this "rom"
    the rom again is 32 mb and i guess(from callmebob's post)
    its bytewise(more or less) the same to the japanese n64 rom.
    my next guess is, the t64 files are the english patch, the wii does on the fly during play [​IMG]
    i guess the t in t64 stands for texture, but that doesn't help really
    looks like no english rom [​IMG]
     
  14. lou_weed

    Member lou_weed GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    232
    Country:
    Israel
    would the same method work with super mario picross (snes) ?
    another unreleased game
     
  15. mrgone
    OP

    Member mrgone GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    728
    Country:
    Germany

    it doesn't look good
     
  16. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,284
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I'm trying this too, to get the rom file from mario rpg wad.
    I use wadunpacker to unpack it and it does come up with a bunch of file, one of them being the 000005.app
    But even after renaming the emulator won't load it
     
  17. mrgone
    OP

    Member mrgone GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    728
    Country:
    Germany
    all you need to know is in this thread
     
  18. bootmonster

    Member bootmonster GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    156
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  19. mrgone
    OP

    Member mrgone GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    728
    Country:
    Germany
  20. lou_weed

    Member lou_weed GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    232
    Country:
    Israel
    well the game does work (picross) but the sound is just a few clicks here and there..
     

Share This Page