Can Nintendo force update the wii?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Ulttimaa, Sep 2, 2009.

Sep 2, 2009
  1. Ulttimaa
    OP

    Member Ulttimaa GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    147
    Country:
    United States
    So, I've been reading up and I've heard about Nintendo being able to detect if you're using a .wad of VC game. I have two questions about this.

    The first being, simply, can Nintendo force an update onto your Wii to brick it or disable your Virtual Console Wads?

    Now, I've also heard that your logs of what Channels and stuff you've been using is sent to Nintendo when you use the Wii Shop Channel. My question is, is this data sent when you use wifi at ALL, or only when you enter the Wii Shop Channel?
     
  2. Heran Bago

    Member Heran Bago Where do puyo come from?

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,846
    Location:
    Foggy California
    Country:
    United States
    It is literally impossible to run code (such as an update) if the machine's power if off.

    They wouldn't push an update on you. They'd introduce new features and you'd have to click "yes" to update.
     
  3. Dialexio

    Member Dialexio GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,546
    Country:
    United States
    Nintendo will never intentionally brick a Wii, or they'd get shitloads of support requests (and possibly lawsuits).

    Nintendo doesn't care if you used the Homebrew Channel, unless you come crying to them because you deleted your System Menu. If your Wii sends data that says you've used the Homebrew Channel to Nintendo, they truly don't give a shit.

    The most Nintendo can do to force an update on you is release a game requiring a newer IOS. But that's easy to bypass.
     
  4. Ulttimaa
    OP

    Member Ulttimaa GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    147
    Country:
    United States
    Hm, alright. Does that count when the wii is in it's little Standby mode? Like, for WiiConnect24?
     
  5. Retrievil

    Member Retrievil GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    360
    Location:
    Vancouver
    Country:
    Canada
    Nintendo will never 'push' (force) an update because they don't want to brick peoples Wii.

    If you don't know it's happening you may unplug the system, or there might be a power outage and Nintendo would be accountable.

    They will never push it without your consent for those reasons. The worst they can do is require you to be updated to play new games or access online content, and even they will always ask you before they apply it.
     
  6. Ulttimaa
    OP

    Member Ulttimaa GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    147
    Country:
    United States
    Ah, alright. Just was curious.
     
  7. ChaosBoi

    Member ChaosBoi Ushiromiya Battler

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,326
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    What about that VC wad thing? I actually only have like 4 Wiiware games installed via wad (Contra Rebirth, Bomberman, Final Fantasy IV: TYA and Gradius Rebirth) but I'm still a bit worried.
     
  8. imapterodactyl

    Member imapterodactyl GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    424
    Country:
    United States
    You've got absolutely nothing to worry about.
     
  9. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,283
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Well the End User License Agreement does state they can auto-update if they want to.
    But they'll never do that for real.
     
  10. thc42O

    Banned thc42O Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    470
    Country:
    Canada
    5.0 i bet is auto-update and blocks cios installations.
     
  11. Det1re

    Member Det1re det1re.de

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,272
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    Correct, but afaik there is no auto-update code in the System Menu. So there's no real way of "forcing".
     
  12. thc42O

    Banned thc42O Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    470
    Country:
    Canada

    Because IM SURRRRRRRRRRRE u reverse engineered the Wc24 protocols right? dont speak.
     
  13. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    answer to this thread

    no.
     
  14. HaniKazmi

    Member HaniKazmi GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,657
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The current firmware cannot auto update. Many experienced hackers (ie Bushing) have said this. I'm willing to find sources if need be.
     
  15. beegee7730

    Banned beegee7730 ITS PAAFEKUTO!

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,693
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My 2 cents:

    From what I have learnt from Twiizers, that would require the Wii to boot through the stages (Boot0, Boot1, Boot2, IOS etc.) which makes me believe that it isn't possible.

    That doesn't mean the data cant be downloaded and installed when the wii is next turned on though...
     

Share This Page