Can my wii run burnt discs?

Discussion in 'Wii - Console and Game Discussions' started by ChanceOradat, Jul 21, 2012.

Jul 21, 2012
  1. ChanceOradat
    OP

    Newcomer ChanceOradat Rewster

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    I read somewhere that newer wiis cant run them. Anyone have an idea if this one can?

    Serial number: LU35499541
    The Wii has a RVL-001(USA) model number and is produced for Canada/Mexico/USA.
    The copyright year is 2006

    There is a 50% chance the chipset is GC2-D2E
    .And there is also a 25% chance the chipset is GC2-D2C2 (v2) and the drive has the new metal clip
    .Lastly, a 25% chance the chipset is GC2-D2C (v1).
     
  2. Luigi2012SM64DS

    Banned Luigi2012SM64DS G-old member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2,060
    Location:
    Minecrapt
    Country:
    Canada
    have you tried doin it?
     
  3. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,898
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    All three of those chipsets should be able to.
     
  4. ChanceOradat
    OP

    Newcomer ChanceOradat Rewster

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    If I tried I wouldn't be asking. x.x

    I softmodded my wii last night, as well as ordered 50 discs. So, while Im waiting for them to arrive, I'm trying to find out if it will work.
     
    1 person likes this.
  5. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,898
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    If you're able to run DVD movies in WiiMC, then your Wii should be able to run disc backups. It should also be noted, however, that USB loading is the recommended way to play Wii backups.
     
  6. ChanceOradat
    OP

    Newcomer ChanceOradat Rewster

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, I have been trying to do USB loading, but I can't get the games to be detected (No clue what I am doing. Have only tried with GC games, and not Wii yet.). I'm new to softmodded wii, so this is a difficult process to get it working for me. Soft modding it alone and getting the ciOS to work took me about 4 hours.

    I will download WiiMC and try running a dvd.
     
  7. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,898
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    If you haven't already done so, I recommend you use ModMii for your softmodding needs and install the recommended cIOS files. If you have a USB device, I recommend you use Wii Backup Manager to transfer your backups to your USB device and just use Configurable USB Loader for your backup-running needs.
     
  8. ChanceOradat
    OP

    Newcomer ChanceOradat Rewster

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    I have already gotten my Wii softmodded and working correctly with all of the cIOS (took several tries). I also have WBM and it hasn't been able to transfer GC games over to the USB device, it just gives an error when trying to add the GC .iso into WBM.
     
  9. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,898
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    Wii Backup Manager, the last time I checked, does not support GameCube games (GameCube USB loading is still rather new). I recommend you use something like DiscEX for those. You also need to have installed DIOS MIOS for GameCube USB loading.
     
  10. ChanceOradat
    OP

    Newcomer ChanceOradat Rewster

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    WiiMC has successfully run Resident Evil and is playing now, so I assume that means burnt discs will run fine.

    I have installed DIOS MIOS Lite with the wad provided on some thread. It says it installed successfully and didn't give me anything new in the HBC (I'm assuming it was just some data that was installed?) I then tried to run Wind Waker's .iso with some SD loading app. It just gave me a black screen, the WiiMote turned off, and then it eventually went back to the HBC screen.
     
  11. ChanceOradat
    OP

    Newcomer ChanceOradat Rewster

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    Is there any difference in game performance in USB and CD loading?
     
  12. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,898
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    DIOS MIOS Lite is for running GameCube backups from the SD card. You need to install DIOS MIOS to run GameCube backups from USB.

    http://gbatemp.net/t...-dios-mios-lite

    Loading times are improved with USB loading. USB loading is also more convenient, preserves your Wii's disc laser, and prevents compatibility issues you might otherwise have resulting from problems with the discs, how the disc was burnt, etc.
     
  13. ChanceOradat
    OP

    Newcomer ChanceOradat Rewster

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    The USB Loader you reccomended gets stuck at 2% loading when choosing it.
     
  14. Luigi2012SM64DS

    Banned Luigi2012SM64DS G-old member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2,060
    Location:
    Minecrapt
    Country:
    Canada
    its your cios's
    get the latest from modmii (run syscheck you can download it on download page2 on on modmii. then once you run it drag and drop the syscheck.cvz(whatever) file onto your modmii.exe or whatever and it will download all the cios u need and generate a guide.
     
  15. ChanceOradat
    OP

    Newcomer ChanceOradat Rewster

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    I ran SysCheck and updated all of the iOs. It still gets stuck at 2%.​
     
  16. ChanceOradat
    OP

    Newcomer ChanceOradat Rewster

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    The discs got here and I have been able to make backups of my games. Now i don't need to worry about having to buy more copies of a game (I have had my XBox's laser scratch a huge circle into 3 discs, ruining them. Don't want to have to experience that again.) Thanks for everyone helping me up to now, even though I couldn't get SD loading to work.
     
  17. jonthedit

    Member jonthedit GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1,691
    Country:
    Bermuda
    PM me if you ever have troubles with your Wii! ^.^
     

Share This Page