Can I use Oper Browser for NDSLite without slot-2s?

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Raestloz, Apr 13, 2008.

  1. Raestloz
    OP

    Member Raestloz GBATemp's Lone Wolf

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,775
    Location:
    The World of Illusion
    Country:
    Indonesia
    Sorry to be pretty n00b, but I can't afford to buy any slot-2 paks, due to my financial problems, can I still use it, or is there even a ROM for NDS Lite?
     
  2. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Not possible without some form of RAM in slot-2, sorry.

    You can use one of the homebrew browsers though. DSOrganize, DSHobro, Bunjalloo, and Okiwi all run without slot-2 RAM.
     
  3. Minox

    Supervisor Minox Spytech Employee

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,617
    Country:
    Sweden
    Or if you can't afford a full-fledged slot 2 cart, then you might wanna check out the EZ Flash V 3-in-1.
     
  4. MacGnG

    Member MacGnG GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    177
    Location:
    Know Where
    Country:
    United States
    3in1 is only 19.05$ from dealextreme.com [​IMG] and u get free shipping
     
  5. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    black 3-in-1 @ $19.79 with free shipping: http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.2967
    white 3-in-1 @ $19.23 with free shipping: http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.1894

    they both do the exact same thing, no idea why the price is different. keep in mind they are for the ds lite, but you could probably mod the case to fit in the ds phat.

    to run the browser you will need the gba exp loader tool that rudolph coded: http://www009.upp.so-net.ne.jp/rudolph/nds...pLoader_056.zip

    the 3-in-1 is designed to work the the ez flash cards, that is why rudolph coded a 3rd party app to allow the expansion kit to work with a number of other slot1 cards.

    cheers,
    -aw
     
  6. Raestloz
    OP

    Member Raestloz GBATemp's Lone Wolf

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,775
    Location:
    The World of Illusion
    Country:
    Indonesia
    Thanks for the link guys, but I really can't afford to buy a slot-2 pak. [​IMG]

    My country's currency is pretty weak (Okay, I admit, I'm an Indonesian). $1 worth around 9,500 Rupiahs. My salary a month (actually, I'm still a high-schooler [​IMG]) is just around $20 for 30 days (150,000 rupiahs), and I have to eat, play DotA and Counter-Strike, and so-on [​IMG]

    In short, I really can't buy anything, I got my NDSLite with my own money after I won an Olympiad in Computer last year, and that's the only way I can get NDS, other than that my old man won't let me have one [​IMG], so buying something is outta question. The prize was around 3 million rupiahs (around $400). Half of it I used to buy my mom a bracelet (I sweared to God I will if I got the prize [​IMG]) and half of it became what in front of me: an NDS Lite with R4DS, with no slot-2 expansion. [​IMG]

    Btw, do the homebrews got good quality? Like pretty good features or so.

    Ah, and once again, thanks for the link and info
     
  7. myuusmeow

    Member myuusmeow GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Country:
    United States
    Most homebrew is bad, some are really polished though.
     
  8. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    you seem like a good kid. work hard and study hard and in time things will fall into place -=).

    -another world
     
  9. altorn

    Member altorn GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    600
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Yeah, we asians cant stop playing Online/LAN games can we? [​IMG]

    Try not playing DotA or CS then? [​IMG]

    DSOrganize or DSHosbro(?) are your best bets on this. And good luck with your future! [​IMG]
     
  10. FaRReR

    Member FaRReR GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    278
    Location:
    the Internet
    Country:
    Australia
    Okiwi is dead... the DSO browser is quite good, though.
     
  11. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    It's dead but it functions, hence why I listed it.

    I'd also list the Retawq browser in DSLinux but it's my understanding that DSLinux has grown slightly bloated to the point that connecting to wifi causes a crash without RAM in slot-2.
     
  12. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    the recent okiwi blog post was for coders to help with the project. it isn't dead yet it is just stalled....

    -aw
     
  13. Elisa_

    Member Elisa_ GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    362
    Country:
    Australia
    Hmm, any other browsers kinda like Opera out there?
     
  14. FaRReR

    Member FaRReR GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    278
    Location:
    the Internet
    Country:
    Australia
    As I said before, the DSOrganise browser works on 75% of web pages and is very stable. It's the one I'd choose.
     
  15. Raestloz
    OP

    Member Raestloz GBATemp's Lone Wolf

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,775
    Location:
    The World of Illusion
    Country:
    Indonesia
    What do you mean by stable? Does it mean it won't crash or something?

    P.S.: Just finished national exam, so exhausting
     

Share This Page