Hacking Can I use both 'Formatted WII USB External HDD' and 'Ustealth USB External HDD' at the same time?

showdownx

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 7, 2017
Messages
80
Trophies
0
XP
183
Country
United States
Hey everyone,

I having an issues using two USB HDD's on the Wii U at the same time. I have a dedicated USB HDD for the Wii U games on the Wii U side, but when I go to the vWii side of things where all my Wii and GameCube games are located, it's starting to have issues, the game won't load. I am using Ustealth and it giving me the same problem. My only way around this is to have one USB HDD connected at a time then my Wii and GameCube games works fine. However I want to keep them both connected without having to disconnect and connect all the time. Is there a way I can do that?
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
21,241
Trophies
3
Location
Space
XP
10,039
Country
Norway
Hey everyone,

I having an issues using two USB HDD's on the Wii U at the same time. I have a dedicated USB HDD for the Wii U games on the Wii U side, but when I go to the vWii side of things where all my Wii and GameCube games are located, it's starting to have issues, the game won't load. I am using Ustealth and it giving me the same problem. My only way around this is to have one USB HDD connected at a time then my Wii and GameCube games works fine. However I want to keep them both connected without having to disconnect and connect all the time. Is there a way I can do that?
The Wii HDD needs to be in the top rear USB port.
 

showdownx

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 7, 2017
Messages
80
Trophies
0
XP
183
Country
United States
The Wii HDD needs to be in the top rear USB port.

So you're telling me when the 'Wii U' is laying down, connect the HDD for the vWii (in Ustealth Mode) in the top rear USB port at the top and connect the Formatted Wii U USB Drive in the USB port below that one?
 

showdownx

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 7, 2017
Messages
80
Trophies
0
XP
183
Country
United States
Yes, or plug the Wii U HDD into the front.

Ok, thanks a lot, I will give that a try when I get home in an hour. I just want to let you know, that these USB HDD's are not powered USB HDD'S and the one for the vWii is 1TB and the one for Wii U is 500GB, is that OK? Should I use a Y-Cable?
 

sevo

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 22, 2016
Messages
13
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
86
Country
United States
I thought the Wii U HDD needed to go in port 0? At least that's what I read in another thread...
 

sevo

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 22, 2016
Messages
13
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
86
Country
United States
You read wrong then as the wii u hdd will work using any of the 4 usb ports.

Ok thanks for clearing that up!

So this is my planned set up:
- 2TB USB portable (2.5”) HDD (FAT32) for Wii/GC/WW/VC to powered USB 3.0 hub connected to USB port 0 (rear top)
- 1TB USB portable (2.5”) HDD for Wii U connected to USB port 1 (rear bottom) with Y-cable (secondary USB to same powered USB hub above)
- Mayflash GC controller adapter to front USBs

Does this look right? Also, would you recommend USB Loader GX or Wiiflow Lite for the vWii?



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
Last edited by sevo,

showdownx

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 7, 2017
Messages
80
Trophies
0
XP
183
Country
United States
Ok thanks for clearing that up!

So this is my planned set up:
- 2TB USB portable (2.5”) HDD (FAT32) for Wii/GC/WW/VC to powered USB 3.0 hub connected to USB port 0 (rear top)
- 1TB USB portable (2.5”) HDD for Wii U connected to USB port 1 with Y-cable (secondary USB to same powered USB hub above)
- Mayflash GC controller adapter to front USBs

Does this look right? Also, would you recommend USB Loader GX or Wiiflow Lite for the vWii?



I recommend Wiiflow Mastermod!

USB port 1, is that the USB port under USB port 0?
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
21,241
Trophies
3
Location
Space
XP
10,039
Country
Norway
Ok, thanks a lot, I will give that a try when I get home in an hour. I just want to let you know, that these USB HDD's are not powered USB HDD'S and the one for the vWii is 1TB and the one for Wii U is 500GB, is that OK? Should I use a Y-Cable?
You might have problems if you don't use an Y-cable, I've heard it can even damage the HDD.
 

comput3rus3r

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2016
Messages
3,574
Trophies
0
Age
120
XP
4,749
Country
United States
I don't think your setup will work. my hardrives (for wiiu and vwii) will not even function with the y cable plugs both connected to the wiiu. I have to use one hard drive at a time and on top of that the y cable's data plug is connected to the top rear usb while the supplementary plug is connected to a usb port on my pc. If i connect both plugs to the back of the wiiu it's as if the hardrive is not getting enough power and it doesn't initialize on usbloadergx.
 
  • Like
Reactions: showdownx

Kafluke

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 6, 2006
Messages
5,474
Trophies
0
Age
44
XP
4,454
Country
United States
I don't think your setup will work. my hardrives (for wiiu and vwii) will not even function with the y cable plugs both connected to the wiiu. I have to use one hard drive at a time and on top of that the y cable's data plug is connected to the top rear usb while the supplementary plug is connected to a usb port on my pc. If i connect both plugs to the back of the wiiu it's as if the hardrive is not getting enough power and it doesn't initialize on usbloadergx.
This is why both of my HDs have external power. No y cables
 

showdownx

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 7, 2017
Messages
80
Trophies
0
XP
183
Country
United States
Ok, I new I was doing something wrong. I tried it this way (see below, also quoted above) and it didn't work on every try.

- 1TB USB portable (2.5”) HDD (FAT32) for Wii/GC/WW/VC to powered USB 3.0 hub connected to USB port 0 (rear top)
- 500GB USB portable (2.5”) HDD for Wii U connected to USB port 1 with Y-cable (secondary USB to same powered USB hub above)

The USB HDD dedicated to the vWii is not getting enough power and it doesn't initialize on USB Loader GX. Wiiflow Master Mod will open, it will play the GameCube games but it will even open a Wii game, it will just go to a black screen. The USB HDD on the Wii U side works all every time. So what is the best solution? Should I:

1) Used two powered USB HDD's?

2) Should I get two Y-Cables, one for each drive with both supplementary plugs of the Y-Cables plug into the wall?

Any help will be greatly appreciated. (I'm trying to make is easy for my wife and kids so they don't have to keep swapping hard drives all the damn time...lol)
 
Last edited by showdownx,

comput3rus3r

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2016
Messages
3,574
Trophies
0
Age
120
XP
4,749
Country
United States
Ok, I new I was doing something wrong. I tried it this way (see below, also quoted above) and it didn't work on every try.



The USB HDD dedicated to the vWii is not getting enough power and it doesn't initialize on USB Loader GX. Wiiflow Master Mod will open, it will play the GameCube games but it will even open a Wii game, it will just go to a black screen. The USB HDD on the Wii U side works all every time. So what is the best solution? Should I:

1) Used two powered USB HDD's?

2) Should I get two Y-Cables, one for each drive with both supplementary plugs of the Y-Cables plug into the wall?

Any help will be greatly appreciated. (I'm trying to make is easy for my wife and kids so they don't have to keep swapping hard drives all the damn time...lol)
best option is to have self powered hdd's. you could try option two first to save money since you get to use your existing drives.
So I would try option 2 first since you could probably get a set of y cables for like 10 dollars. if it works great. if not option 1. :) good luck.
 
Last edited by comput3rus3r,
  • Like
Reactions: showdownx

showdownx

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 7, 2017
Messages
80
Trophies
0
XP
183
Country
United States
best option is to have self powered hdd's. you could try option two first to save money since you get to use your existing drives.
So I would try option 2 first since you could probably get a sent of y cables for like 10 dollars. if it works great. if not option 1. :) good luck.

Ok, I see.

How's option 1 been working out for you?

If I do option 2, I will need two Y-cables right?
 
Last edited by showdownx,

comput3rus3r

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2016
Messages
3,574
Trophies
0
Age
120
XP
4,749
Country
United States
Ok, I see.

How's option 1 been working out for you?

If I do option 2 I will need two Y-cables right?
actually i'm stuck swaping drives until i replace my hard drives. I'm connecting the suplementary power to an empty usb port on my pc because i have no wall outlets left unused.
 

showdownx

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 7, 2017
Messages
80
Trophies
0
XP
183
Country
United States
actually i'm stuck swaping drives until i replace my hard drives. I'm connecting the suplementary power to an empty usb port on my pc because i have no wall outlets left unused.

But when you option 1 up and running, how did you like it? Did it work good?
 

comput3rus3r

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2016
Messages
3,574
Trophies
0
Age
120
XP
4,749
Country
United States
But when you option 1 up and running, how did you like it? Did it work good?
I've never actually tried it but I've known the issue to be only with portable drives so i'm sure it works. Someone else here posted that it's their setup.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

yea kafluke says he's using two powered hdd's
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Veho @ Veho: Apply orally for Aspergers, apply rectally for COVID.