Can I use a CD to burn a VCD or SVCD or CVD file?

Discussion in 'Computer Software and Operating Systems' started by R-Unit 4, Dec 7, 2007.

  1. R-Unit 4
    OP

    Member R-Unit 4 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    Australia
    My convertor converts most formats but the thing is, I am giving this movie to my friend and I don't wanna use a DVD so I was wondering if it is possible to burn a VCD, SVCD or CVD on to a CD.

    Oh and would the quality from an avi file to an VCD, SVCD or CVD drop:
    a.Would not drop.
    b.Drop a bit.
    c. Optimal.
    d. Barely Optimal.
    e. Don't even bother.
     
  2. Hadrian

    Former Staff Hadrian Better than Craigslist

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    16,978
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes and quality will suffer, but better if you use two discs.

    KVCD is preferred by most people though, not by me but it does allow a whole film to be on one disc.
     
  3. Westside

    Member Westside Sogdiana

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,905
    Location:
    Guantanamo bay
    Country:
    Uzbekistan
    Yes, you must use a software like nero and use the Burn a VCD option and it will automatically convert the avi (if you have the codec that is) into the appropriate MPEG format that is required by VCD. As for quality dropping, it depends on what quality of avi you had to begin with. VCD have a resolution of 352x240, which is comparable to VHS quality.
     
  4. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,737
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  5. R-Unit 4
    OP

    Member R-Unit 4 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    Australia
    I should have made it more clear, I dled a movie from the net in avi format. I wanna convert it to CVD, SVCD or CVD format. Will the quality drop from 1-10( 10 being inviewable)? The movie is DVD quality.
     
  6. leetdude_007

    Member leetdude_007 Official GBAtemp Assassin That Has Never Killed An

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Country:
    United States
    It will probably drop, and may require two CDs, depending on how long the movie is.... since the standard format is so old.
     
  7. R-Unit 4
    OP

    Member R-Unit 4 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    Australia
    Actually, it looks like DVD quality but it probably isn't. It is only 812 MB.
     
  8. robi

    Member robi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    264
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Country:
    France
    Before I had a DVD burner I would regularly burn VCDs...I really wouldn't recommend putting say a 2 hour movie on one disc, definitely split to two CD-Rs

    When I did this years ago I used TMPGEnc.
     
  9. R-Unit 4
    OP

    Member R-Unit 4 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    Australia
    Ok thanks.
     

Share This Page