Can I use a 175w power adapter on a Opus?

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Games & Content' started by Fudge, Oct 15, 2010.

Oct 15, 2010
  1. Fudge
    OP

    Banned Fudge Remember that death is not the end, but only a tra

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,655
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    I have a repaired Xenon, repaired on September 4th, 2010, so I'm assuming it has a Opus motherboard, which is a Falcon with no HDMI port. Can I use a 175w power adapter with it?
     
  2. hundshamer

    Member hundshamer GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,810
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    Look at the plug in the back.
    [​IMG]
    If it looks like the middle or last one then you can use a 175w brick. Though I have seen some game stores that refurbish them take out the pin in the middle og the first one and use the 175w brick.
     
  3. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Use a 203W or 175W with an Opus. Shine a light through the bottom vent and count the number of inductors to confirm it's an Opus. If it's a Xenon, you will see 3 inductors and if it's an Opus you will see 2.
     
  4. Fudge
    OP

    Banned Fudge Remember that death is not the end, but only a tra

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,655
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    Where are the inductors?
     
  5. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Gimme a sec, i'll get a photo of my Falcon.

    [​IMG]

    It's those coils on the right side of the board, you'll notice one is missing along with 2 capacitors due to the console using less power.

    [​IMG]
     
  6. Fudge
    OP

    Banned Fudge Remember that death is not the end, but only a tra

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,655
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    It seems I have a Xenon, which I find odd considering it was repaired so recently. It has the middle og like the one in the first picture.
     
  7. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I imagine they only replace the MB if they need to.

    an Opus:

    [​IMG]
     
  8. Fudge
    OP

    Banned Fudge Remember that death is not the end, but only a tra

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,655
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    How would I cut the pin in the middle og?
     
  9. Fudge
    OP

    Banned Fudge Remember that death is not the end, but only a tra

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,655
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    Bump. I really need to know how I can remove it. I can't find anything on the net.
     
  10. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If it's a Xenon, then I would only use a 203W brick.
     
  11. Fudge
    OP

    Banned Fudge Remember that death is not the end, but only a tra

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,655
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
  12. Fudge
    OP

    Banned Fudge Remember that death is not the end, but only a tra

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,655
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    I'm at my friends house, and one of his power cords fit, but the 360 won't turn on. It doesn't seem to fit all the way, however, it is a 203W adapter. Do I have to jam it in the port for it to work?
    EDIT: Got it to work!
     
  13. dilav

    Member dilav GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,225
    Country:
    United States
    Just some info, it is a Xenon. And you can cut the power supply cable, the line that goes down in the middle and get it to plug in. It either turns on and work or it just gives you a 3 red light error (It won't damage it, it should turn on with the right power supply). However you can blow the fuse in your 175W power supply. And when I modify these power supplies its normally temporary, you don't want to take 203W out of a 175W power supply.

    Also I have never seen a Opus motherboard when I sent in some Xenon in recently.
     

Share This Page