Gaming Can I use a 175w power adapter on a Opus?

Fudge

Remember that death is not the end, but only a tra
OP
Banned
Joined
Aug 26, 2009
Messages
2,653
Trophies
0
Age
27
Location
New York
Website
Visit site
XP
697
Country
United States
I have a repaired Xenon, repaired on September 4th, 2010, so I'm assuming it has a Opus motherboard, which is a Falcon with no HDMI port. Can I use a 175w power adapter with it?
 

hundshamer

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 22, 2009
Messages
1,810
Trophies
0
XP
924
Country
United States
Look at the plug in the back.
76d20f47.jpg

If it looks like the middle or last one then you can use a 175w brick. Though I have seen some game stores that refurbish them take out the pin in the middle og the first one and use the 175w brick.
 

tk_saturn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2010
Messages
3,325
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
55
Country
Use a 203W or 175W with an Opus. Shine a light through the bottom vent and count the number of inductors to confirm it's an Opus. If it's a Xenon, you will see 3 inductors and if it's an Opus you will see 2.
 

Fudge

Remember that death is not the end, but only a tra
OP
Banned
Joined
Aug 26, 2009
Messages
2,653
Trophies
0
Age
27
Location
New York
Website
Visit site
XP
697
Country
United States
tk_saturn said:
Use a 203W or 175W with an Opus. Shine a light through the bottom vent and count the number of inducters to confirm it's an Opus. If it's a Xenon, you will see 3 inducters and if it's an Opus you will see 2.
Where are the inductors?
 

tk_saturn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2010
Messages
3,325
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
55
Country
Gimme a sec, i'll get a photo of my Falcon.

IMG_3905x.jpg


It's those coils on the right side of the board, you'll notice one is missing along with 2 capacitors due to the console using less power.

387268.jpg
 

Fudge

Remember that death is not the end, but only a tra
OP
Banned
Joined
Aug 26, 2009
Messages
2,653
Trophies
0
Age
27
Location
New York
Website
Visit site
XP
697
Country
United States
It seems I have a Xenon, which I find odd considering it was repaired so recently. It has the middle og like the one in the first picture.
 

Fudge

Remember that death is not the end, but only a tra
OP
Banned
Joined
Aug 26, 2009
Messages
2,653
Trophies
0
Age
27
Location
New York
Website
Visit site
XP
697
Country
United States
I'm at my friends house, and one of his power cords fit, but the 360 won't turn on. It doesn't seem to fit all the way, however, it is a 203W adapter. Do I have to jam it in the port for it to work?
EDIT: Got it to work!
 

dilav

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 22, 2006
Messages
1,248
Trophies
1
XP
411
Country
United States
fudgenuts64 said:
I'm at my friends house, and one of his power cords fit, but the 360 won't turn on. It doesn't seem to fit all the way, however, it is a 203W adapter. Do I have to jam it in the port for it to work?
EDIT: Got it to work!

Just some info, it is a Xenon. And you can cut the power supply cable, the line that goes down in the middle and get it to plug in. It either turns on and work or it just gives you a 3 red light error (It won't damage it, it should turn on with the right power supply). However you can blow the fuse in your 175W power supply. And when I modify these power supplies its normally temporary, you don't want to take 203W out of a 175W power supply.

Also I have never seen a Opus motherboard when I sent in some Xenon in recently.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Google devices suck, and they steal all your info, of course Amazon does the same
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Oh Herr durr mah precious info please do not steal for the 80th time this year
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    "Ok google, cancel my apt with kens mom on Wednesday." "ok, will reschedule for Thursday"
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Google devices suck because Google drops support for their services left and right so you never know when the device will just stop working out of the blue.
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Damn it my thermostat stopped working and it's freezing in -0
  • Veho @ Veho:
    "We regret to inform you that the Google Nest service will be shutting down within the next three minutes. To ensure minimum discomfort in this transitional period, we will be setting the thermostat to 100° at shutdown."
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Wait, Celsius or Farenheit?
  • Veho @ Veho:
    "Yes."
  • Veho @ Veho:
    "Good bye."
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    At least let me install two so my wall looks like it has tiddies
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Thermostat porn
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Did someone say thermostat porn boobs? https://i.imgur.com/WIaSkrh.mp4
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Google™
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Booble.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    SPEAKING OF DROPPING SERVICES
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Google is shutting down the goo.gl URL shortener.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    It's just gonna be goo to save money
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Who is impacted?Any developers using links built with the Google URL Shortener in the form https://goo.gl/* will be impacted, and these URLs will no longer return a response after August 25th, 2025.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Lol get ripped devs
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    Scammers got rekt
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    https://a.co/d/7vHCGfK fruit stripe gummies use to love the gum as a kid
    a_username_that_is_cool tempBOT: @ a_username_that_is_cool h