Hacking Can I transfer eshop games from emunand to sysnand?

r4izuk0

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 16, 2015
Messages
41
Trophies
0
Age
38
XP
102
Country
United States
I went to redownload four swords from the eshop and they only show up on emunand 9.4 but won't play. When I go back to 4.5 sysnand, the game isn't there, only on emunand.
 

Apache Thunder

I have cameras in your head!
Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
4,294
Trophies
3
Age
35
Location
Levelland, Texas
Website
www.mariopc.co.nr
XP
6,212
Country
United States
Your sysnand is unlinked from emunand. You won't be able to play it on your sysnand because you would have to update it before it will let you use eShop or relink it to an NNID that bought the game.

I would have had told you just to flash emunand to your sysnand, but you already have it updated to 9.4, so obviously that would be a bad idea. About the only thing you can do is boot into gateway mode without emunand and install a CIA of the game to sysnand. Issue is, you won't be able to play it without being in gateway mode. So you're out of options unless you have a 9.2 or older emunand that you backed up that still uses the same NNID as your emunand. At which point you can just flash that back to your sysnand via the downgrade menu.
 

mmn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 22, 2014
Messages
200
Trophies
0
XP
278
Country
United States
Your sysnand is unlinked from emunand. You won't be able to play it on your sysnand because you would have to update it before it will let you use eShop or relink it to an NNID that bought the game.

I would have had told you just to flash emunand to your sysnand, but you already have it updated to 9.4, so obviously that would be a bad idea. About the only thing you can do is boot into gateway mode without emunand and install a CIA of the game to sysnand. Issue is, you won't be able to play it without being in gateway mode. So you're out of options unless you have a 9.2 or older emunand that you backed up that still uses the same NNID as your emunand. At which point you can just flash that back to your sysnand via the downgrade menu.

Can't he do any of the following things?
  • flash a backup of a linked emunand using emunand tool
  • backup system nand, inject into emunand using emunand tool
  • format emunand anew
 

Apache Thunder

I have cameras in your head!
Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
4,294
Trophies
3
Age
35
Location
Levelland, Texas
Website
www.mariopc.co.nr
XP
6,212
Country
United States
Yeah he could relink nand by flashing a 9.2 or older version of his emunand to sysnand. That's if he backed it up before he updated it to 9.4. Otherwise he'll have to format sysnand and recopy it to emunand.

Not sure why you'd want them relinked though. Issues arise from doing so. Like having to unwrap games/homebrew installed via DevMenu/BigBlueMenu/BigRedMenu and not being able to organize the icons (they would constantly reset due to interaction with sysnand)
 

mmn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 22, 2014
Messages
200
Trophies
0
XP
278
Country
United States
Yeah he could relink nand by flashing a 9.2 or older version of his emunand to sysnand. That's if he backed it up before he updated it to 9.4. Otherwise he'll have to format sysnand and recopy it to emunand.

Not sure why you'd want them relinked though. Issues arise from doing so. Like having to unwrap games/homebrew installed via DevMenu/BigBlueMenu/BigRedMenu and not being able to organize the icons (they would constantly reset due to interaction with sysnand)

He wants four swords on sysnand. Can't he just:
  1. Dump sysnand
  2. Backup emunand
  3. Inject sysnand backup into emunand
  4. Update emunand to 9.4
  5. Download four swords
I just tried that. I bought picross e on emunand, then did the process above. It didn't show up on sysnand :S
 

Ra1d

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2010
Messages
1,362
Trophies
1
Website
Visit site
XP
2,150
Country
Canada
Sorry for the bump, just a question if my sysNAND is linked to emuNAND and I download a game from e-Shop(yes I know that 9.6 is still not supported), will it be playable on both sysNAND and emuNAND ?And will the save file also be universal (Progress-wise) ?
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    I knew you wouldn't lol
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Back in the 90s you could expect to drop at least a grand for what was considered bare bones back then
    +2
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    The ps1 back then still sold at $300
    +2
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    I've got two of them. If I had them in the 90's, then I'd be the coolest on the block.
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    I've got the shell for another PS1 that I am thinking of assembling to form another PS1 to my collection.
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    The fact we have so many affordable devices that can do emulation today is overlooked and unappreciated by many
    +2
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Just got to buy the motherboard for it and I'll be good to go.
    +1
  • Shape @ Shape:
    Turn the shell into something else, something amazing!
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @Shape,
    Any ideas?
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    I've got the power supply, screws, and laser assembly for it.
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    I think it's amazing you can buy a $400 Android base TV and run ps1 directly on it
    +2
  • Shape @ Shape:
    @M4x1mumReZ An emulation machine or a media center seem to be most modder's go-to case mods, but I bet we could come up with something much cooler...
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Good idea but I'm not keen on Android boxes.
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    You don't even need a andoirs box googles os is built directly in them
  • Shape @ Shape:
    Me either. I'm the kind of person to mod a cardboard box into a guitar amp :rofl2:
    +1
  • Shape @ Shape:
    A voice assistant would be hilarious actually.
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Hey, Amp. Volume up. And the speaker would then explode like in BTTF.
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Hmmm.... I guess. :unsure:
  • Shape @ Shape:
    Stick a dreamcast board
    into it for maximum damage
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @Shape, No is the answer from me.
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    I'll solder a Dreamcast mobo into a TV
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Similar to how there's a TV with a built-in PS2.
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Yeah, those are extremely rare.
    M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ: Yeah, those are extremely rare.