Can I store games from the eShop on an R4 card?

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by Sconstio, May 11, 2014.

1. Sconstio
    OP

Sconstio Newbie

Newcomer
    May 11, 2014
    United States
    I bought a 3DS XL, and am looking into an R4 SD card to play emulators on it. Can I use the same card to store games downloaded from the eShop? Or would I need a separate SD card for that?

Sorry if this is a stupid question. I'm new to hacking/modding and couldn't find the answer anywhere

2. Vengenceonu

Vengenceonu Revenge is beneath me but accidents do happen.

Jun 20, 2013
    United States
    The C Standard Library
    1. ALWAYS look at threads already made before making a new thread (Welcome to the Temp)
    2. Are you talking R4 cards that play DS games or do you mean the R4i Gold Deluxe Edition that plays 3DS roms (not well).
    3. The answer to your question is no you can't regardless of what you meant
    Post all your questions HERE

3. Technicmaster0

Technicmaster0 GBAtemp Addict

Oct 22, 2011
    Gambia, The
    You mean whether you can use the same MicroSD card for your R4 and for your 3DS? You should better go with two SD cards because that's much easier.

4. potato3334

potato3334 GBAtemp Regular

Sep 14, 2009
    United States
    California
    I'm going to assume you are talking about just having somewhere to hold the data for the eshop games.
    If you are using a micro-sd card adapter sd card for your 3ds, then yes, you can share the data on both the r4 and the sd card.

5. Sconstio
    OP

Sconstio Newbie

Newcomer
    May 11, 2014
    United States
    What I'm looking for is a card that can store eShop games as well as emulators and roms. I'm unsure what the difference is between the different R4 cards or if I even need an R4 card to play emulators

6. Billy23

Billy23 Member

Newcomer
    May 28, 2007
    United States