Can i run iso on psp go without M2 card?

Discussion in 'PSP - Hacking & Homebrew' started by splinters, Jul 20, 2011.

Jul 20, 2011
  1. splinters
    OP

    Newcomer splinters Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I just bought a psp go sealed for £80 and i am eligible for the free 10 game offer. I do not have a memory card and wondered if iso files can be run from internal storage? Also, will running CFW affect the free games i can get through PSN? I believe i can transfer these to my PSvita when it is launched so i am happy to sell the console on later.
    Anyone know what firmware the pspgo has out of the box and what is the best CFW to put on?
     
  2. Terminator02

    Member Terminator02 ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,517
    Location:
    Somewhere near monkat
    Country:
    United States
    yes you can run them off internal memory, and no it won't affect your officially purchased games

    hopefully you'll be able to transfer them, i believe all downloaded games are a go for PSvita compatability

    what comes with it varies, if it's brand new i believe it's 5.71, download the OFW 6.39 update, then download PRO 6.39 and install it, just look at the guide over here
     
  3. splinters
    OP

    Newcomer splinters Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It is official that they can be played on psvita and will even have improved vusuals. Thanks for clarifying about the iso etc. I am still mulling over whether to sell my 3DS and keep the PSP.
     
  4. splinters
    OP

    Newcomer splinters Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I am a little confused. I thought if you were on software later than 6.20 you were unable to hack the Psp Go. The instructions say to update to 6.39 then use the downloader. Won''t the update stop me from running the CFW? Also, do I have to have official 6.20 FW form my country i.e. UK or can I use the US one in the link provided?
    EDIT: Ignore me, I have 5.70 so don't need the downgrader. Still, can't find a UK or EU version of the firmware.
     
  5. shadow100z

    Member shadow100z GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Messages:
    144
    Country:
    Canada
    its all based on what type of motherboard your psp has. If you psp came "originally" with cfw 6.20 or under you can perm mod it. If you psp came with a firmware latter than 6.20 you can only install a temp firmware.

    modding a psp isn't really based on what firmware that is on your psp mostly based on what your motherboard can take. anything under g05 can me perm modded but anything after can only be temp, as of yet. there is a lil signed hombrew out there that can let you know what motherboard you have.
    link for it on the hacking tutorial.


    edit g05 and under motherboards. was in a rush when i typed this.
     
  6. splinters
    OP

    Newcomer splinters Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I got it all up and running and I am able to run Daedalus and GBA emulators but I have no idea how to run iso or cso files. I copied one over but it just says it is corrupted data. Is there some sort of ISO loader I need to install?
     
  7. emigre

    Member emigre Has complex motives

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    7,919
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You put the ISO/CSO in the ISO folder on the root of the PSP.
     
  8. Mantis41

    Member Mantis41 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,853
    Location:
    earth
    Country:
    United States
    Where did you find one for £80? The cheapest I could find was just under £130
     
  9. ShawnTRods

    Member ShawnTRods GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    4,284
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sometimes you get lucky at places like gumtree, ebay and other places.
     
  10. splinters
    OP

    Newcomer splinters Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nope, they are clearing them out at Game stores. Don't look online just ring your local store. With 10 free games and a nice little emulator playback device...it is a steal!

    As for ISO files, I made an ISO folder in the PSP/GAME folder and put the .iso there...is that where I am going wrong?
     
  11. emigre

    Member emigre Has complex motives

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    7,919
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It should be on the root of the PSP's internal memory. On my Memory stick its like this MS/ISO not MS/GAME/ISO. The same goes for the Go.
     
  12. splinters
    OP

    Newcomer splinters Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sorry, double post.
     
  13. emigre

    Member emigre Has complex motives

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    7,919
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's where you're going wrong. the ISO folder has to be at the root, homebrew goes in PSP/GAME.
     
  14. ShawnTRods

    Member ShawnTRods GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    4,284
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    REALLY?
    My local GAME store is dry, doesnt sell too well lol.
    I will try tomorrow o.o

    £80 for PSP Go.. even if I dont use it, I can just stock it up for later lol.
     
  15. prowler

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    FYI all PSP Gos have the same motherboard. (5g)
     
  16. shadow100z

    Member shadow100z GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Messages:
    144
    Country:
    Canada
    lol sorry ment g05 and under, lol was in a rush when i typed it.
     
  17. Terminator02

    Member Terminator02 ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,517
    Location:
    Somewhere near monkat
    Country:
    United States
    just FYI, you can hack all firmwares. 6.20 is the only permanent firmware if you really want that, the only difference between it and temporary firmware on 6.39 is that you have to press a button and wait 10 seconds after a cold boot (holding the power button for 10 seconds and turning back on)
     
  18. splinters
    OP

    Newcomer splinters Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Cheers for that. Are there any limitations to running 6.20 Pro-B8 i.e. some games that will not run?
     
  19. Terminator02

    Member Terminator02 ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,517
    Location:
    Somewhere near monkat
    Country:
    United States
    not that i know of, i think the only difference is the official new features in the latest OFW, which is only Music Unlimited power by Qriocity (6.35+)

    Edit: also, in 6.30+
    Games can now be grouped and displayed in folders based on format under [Game].
    To sort games by format, select a game icon, and then press the square button.
     

Share This Page