Can I play PSP on a PC monitor?

Discussion in 'PSP - Games & Content' started by Friendo, Jun 17, 2009.

Jun 17, 2009
  1. Friendo
    OP

    Newcomer Friendo Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    85
    Country:
    United States
    As what the title asks, I want to play a Xenogears PSP eboot on my PC monitor. Is it possible and how?
    I have a PSP Phat w/ CFW 4.01 m33.
     
  2. jargus

    Member jargus GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Messages:
    544
    Country:
    United States
    Only PSP-2000+ has video-out. No phats can do it. Its built into the hardware, not the firmware
     
  3. Diablo1123

    Member Diablo1123 Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,432
    Location:
    Underground
    Country:
    United States
    I think IR SHell does that, I've never tried though.
     
  4. purplesludge

    Member purplesludge anyone have any ideas for this space

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,047
    Location:
    wv
    Country:
    United States
    You can play psp games on monitor with remote joy. Never got eboots to work. I did this with a 1000.
     
  5. Dermy

    Member Dermy GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Messages:
    314
    Country:
    United States
  6. Raiser

    Member Raiser I am mad scientist.

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,565
    Country:
    Canada
    Yes, I use RemoteJoyLite and everything usually works although it does slow down the PSP as it has to transfer the data on screen to the CPU.

    If you want EBOOTs to work as well, you need to add the text required to POPS.txt
    As:
    Game.txt = PSP games (ISO and CSO)
    Pops.txt = PSX games (EBOOTs -> Pops(loader))
    Vsh.txt = PSP XMB (Xross Media Bar (Menu))
     
  7. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just thought I'd point out that game.txt is actually for eboots. pops.txt is for PSX eboots.
     
  8. TanookiSuit

    Member TanookiSuit Game Reviewer/Writer -- formerly Vampire Hunter D

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,552
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    Country:
    United States
    Tell me more about this Screen Joy. Do you have to have a hacked PSP to use it, or is it just some PC app and you pipe the PSP a/v through the usb jack using that to my screen?
     
  9. purplesludge

    Member purplesludge anyone have any ideas for this space

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,047
    Location:
    wv
    Country:
    United States
    Have to have customfirmware haven't tried with a homebrew enabled psp though
     
  10. Cortador

    Member Cortador GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Messages:
    395
    Country:
    United States
    I have tried this remotejoy and i must say that it slows down the psp, though if you change the CPU speed from 222 to 333 i think that it might fix this issue.
    (Used a Psp 1000 and 3000 for this)
     
  11. ComplicatioN

    Member ComplicatioN Broken Barriers

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    844
    Location:
    Thousand Sunny
    Country:
    Australia
    i tried remotejoy but it stays at waiting when i enter the game
     
  12. xCM Punkx

    Newcomer xCM Punkx Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    69
    Location:
    WV
    Country:
    United States
    yeah if you do this its not really that slow unless your playing something really fast paced. You can even play with another game pad!

    But PSP games look like shit on a computer monitor [​IMG]
     
  13. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    did you add the required line to game.txt? You need it in game.txt as well as vsh.txt, and also pops.txt if you want to play psx games
     
  14. TanookiSuit

    Member TanookiSuit Game Reviewer/Writer -- formerly Vampire Hunter D

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,552
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    Country:
    United States
    Isn't it possible to jack it into a vga convertor box of some kind, if you can get one that like has a component cable jack on it the PSP cable can read.
     
  15. Cortador

    Member Cortador GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Messages:
    395
    Country:
    United States
    Psp 2000 and up have a component cable made for then. This Remotejoy is basically a homebrew for the people who got Psp 1000 or the ones who don't want to spend 20 bucks on Av/Component cables for their psp2000/3000.
     
  16. azoreseuropa

    Member azoreseuropa GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    4,493
    Location:
    I am deaf and live in the USA for now :D
    Country:
    Portugal
    you need to installed PSP type B after that.
     
  17. ComplicatioN

    Member ComplicatioN Broken Barriers

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    844
    Location:
    Thousand Sunny
    Country:
    Australia
    wooo thx it worked [​IMG]
     

Share This Page