Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    10,932
    Country:
    United States
    there's generally a rule of thumb that an electronic device must be around 10 times more powerful to capably emulate another electronic device. I think the cpu of the ps3 might be 10 times stronger than the ps2. not sure what the specs are for the vita as I've never looked them up. they've made an emulator, but it runs at poor speed.
     
    slaphappygamer likes this.
  2. toonlinklol

    toonlinklol Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Kuwait
    Never. the Vita is too weak for PS2 emulation
     
  3. wiiuepiccpu

    wiiuepiccpu vanCFW tester
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2019
    Messages:
    228
    Country:
    United States
    While it is a gerenal rule that you must be 9-10 times as powerfull than the thing your trying to emulate, this isn't allways true. Just look at the emulator ultra HLE, im not saying that ps2 on vita is possible, more like thats not always true
     
  4. MetoMeto

    OP MetoMeto GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2018
    Messages:
    767
    Country:
    Japan
    Time will tell, as always...
     
  5. Shadow#1

    Shadow#1 Wii, 3DS Softmod & Dumpster Diving Expert
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    8,796
    Country:
    United States
    PS2 ON VITA WILL NEVER HAPPEN
     
    slaphappygamer likes this.
  6. MetoMeto

    OP MetoMeto GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2018
    Messages:
    767
    Country:
    Japan
    Alright... Jesus...are you mad or something?
    I'm just telling the universal truth. Time WILL tell anyway. nothing to get mad about...im just really positive about it despite...they develop Dreamcast emulator for vita~

    Year agou people told same for many things. I just dont understand when i hear "not possible" i mean i respect but "time will tell"
     
    Kazuto_Zed likes this.
  7. ANTONIOLI_65

    ANTONIOLI_65 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    #fightforyourdreams

    #don'tletpeoplesaynotoyou
     
  8. 0x3000027E

    0x3000027E GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    196
    Country:
    United States
    It's is quite annoying to keep reading that sufficient PS2 emulation is possible on the vita. If becomes frustrating. 'Mad' is a bit of an exaggeration.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Awww, I like sitcoms too.
     
  9. Tom Bombadildo

    Tom Bombadildo Dick, With Balls
    Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    13,440
    Country:
    United States
    Playable PS2 emulation will not be possible on the Vita, period. The Vita's ARM SoC is way too weak to even emulate the lowest end PS2 software, let alone anything people might want to actually play.

    If you're expecting a 4 core, 400MHz (or 500mhz if you OC) ARM SoC from 2009 to ever actually emulate PS2 well, you're either deluded or you don't know how hardware emulation works. I mean, even x86 CPUs from that same era (which are infinitely more powerful than the Vita's CPU) could barely get by with PCSX2, what makes you think a hilariously low power ARM SoC would be able to do better? Time doesn't need to "tell", it's simply not possible.
     
    Nisem0n0, 0x3000027E and Shadow#1 like this.
  10. Shadow#1

    Shadow#1 Wii, 3DS Softmod & Dumpster Diving Expert
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    8,796
    Country:
    United States
    Right on brother
     
  11. Goku1992A

    Goku1992A GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2019
    Messages:
    1,044
    Country:
    United States
    You can play the following on the vita
    PS1 - Via Adrenaline or Retroarch
    PS2 - Via Moonlight (Meaning a PS2 emulator is on your PC capable of running it)
    PSP Via Adrenaline
    PS3 - Via Remote Play (Results may vary Lack of R2/L2)
    PS4 - Remote Play (Results may vary Lack of R2/L2)
     
  12. Tom Bombadildo

    Tom Bombadildo Dick, With Balls
    Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    13,440
    Country:
    United States
    While technically true, this is only really useful if you have CFW on your PS3 as there are only 20 or so PS3 games that officially support PS3 remote play, whereas with CFW you can enable support with just a quick game file edit (IIRC).
     
  13. CMDreamer

    CMDreamer GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2014
    Messages:
    809
    Country:
    Mexico
    As you've been told, the Vita can't handle any PS2 game a t a playable state and maybe never will.

    Why don't you build your very own portable PS2?
     
    Shadow#1 likes this.
  14. Fugelmir

    Fugelmir GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2016
    Messages:
    513
    Country:
    Canada
    If you go to the internet browser and youtube, you can watch ps2 footage and pretend it's gameplay.
     
    Shadow#1 likes this.
  15. Goku1992A

    Goku1992A GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2019
    Messages:
    1,044
    Country:
    United States
    I was very curious about this I have to try it out my PS3 is on 4.46 rebug but does all games work with the file edit or only certain ones.
     
  16. Fugelmir

    Fugelmir GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2016
    Messages:
    513
    Country:
    Canada
    I saw somebody scavenge the buttons from a vita and make a whole new android portable using a later version of quallcom snapdragon.

    [​IMG]





    The next revision will apparently allow ps2 emulation -- so save those vita buttons!
     
    Kazuto_Zed likes this.
  17. Tom Bombadildo

    Tom Bombadildo Dick, With Balls
    Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    13,440
    Country:
    United States
    No, not all games will work with it. I don't believe there's any good compatibility lists, as PS3 remote play was in general pretty awful because of it's hardware so it didn't see a lot of use.
     
  18. FanofFans

    FanofFans Banned
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2020
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    Norway
    I think I saw a PoC PS2 emulator on Wololo. Of course, don't expect the best performance. The Switch is more than capable, as it's weaker than the GCN, but the reason we may not see a full-speed one on the switch is due to its ARM incompatibility. But who knows. We have hope on the Switch. Budokai 3 runs rather slow at the moment, but it's to be expected, especially since it's a very early core.
     
  19. fvig2001

    fvig2001 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    397
    Country:
    Probably not in the way you want. There's no good enough emulator on the Vita since it's never going to happen. The closest you can do is setup PCSX2 on PC and play it through Moonlight. Although another way is hacked PS4 -> remote play ->ps2 emulated game although the PS2 emulator does not work well with some games like I remember on Street fighter Ex3 sakura's skirt was missing.
     
    Last edited by fvig2001, Jul 20, 2020
  20. wonkeytonk

    wonkeytonk Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2020
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    United States
    still got great ports of a lot of PS2 classics.
     
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - games,

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.