Hacking Can I easily fix my blue screen New 3ds with this kit?

Loko4

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2011
Messages
188
Trophies
0
Website
www.loko4.com
XP
1,404
Country
Brazil
if your 3ds problem is in the mother board like failure after a hardmod or a damage it will not work.

If your brick was using a software this will fix.
 

Modular511

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
299
Trophies
1
Age
31
Location
Canada
XP
916
Country
United States
Blue screens are tricky, how did you get it? Did you drop your console or was it a Gateway brick? If so you may not be able to fix it, but the kit will be useful if you get a replacement and want to install CFW on it.

if your 3ds problem is in the mother board like failure after a hardmod or a damage it will not work.

If your brick was using a software this will fix.

It was just an emunand unit that was updated. (pre a9lh) I have a nand backup and can easily restore if i can get into godmode9, Which I can do with ntrboot is by idea.
 
  • Like
Reactions: ThisIsDaAccount

ThisIsDaAccount

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2016
Messages
1,159
Trophies
0
XP
931
Country
United States
It was just an emunand unit that was updated. (pre a9lh) I have a nand backup and can easily restore if i can get into godmode9, Which I can do with ntrboot is by idea.
If you're just trying to restore a backup, the kit you linked to will do the trick. However, you should but the R4i Gold 3DS Plus instead, it's generally seen as a better cart.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Modular511

Modular511

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
299
Trophies
1
Age
31
Location
Canada
XP
916
Country
United States
If you're just trying to restore a backup, the kit you linked to will do the trick. However, you should but the R4i Gold 3DS Plus instead, it's generally seen as a better cart.
I am not interested in the ds rom playability much. I do however understand I am getting probably a flashed r4 clone lol The place I linked to is in my state, shipping takes like 2 days tops.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Quantumcat

Modular511

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
299
Trophies
1
Age
31
Location
Canada
XP
916
Country
United States
I will also add my errorcode is:

00F800FE 00000000 00000000 00000400 00000000 NAND not found error (?) Which is odd since the console hasnt been abused any, Is this normal for a failed update?
 

wormdood

pirate booty inspector
Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2014
Messages
5,243
Trophies
1
Age
37
Location
behind a parental advisory sticker
XP
3,977
Country
United States
It was just an emunand unit that was updated. (pre a9lh) I have a nand backup and can easily restore if i can get into godmode9,
not to be an ass but that action would in no way result in a bluescreen brick . . . all that would have happened is the system would be updated out of its cfw . . . and as you seem unsure what (actually) caused it i ask this are you sure that you have the correct nand backup?
 
  • Like
Reactions: Quantumcat

Modular511

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
299
Trophies
1
Age
31
Location
Canada
XP
916
Country
United States
not to be an ass but that action would in no way result in a bluescreen brick . . . all that would have happened is the system would be updated out of its cfw . . . and as you seem unsure what (actually) caused it i ask this are you sure that you have the correct nand backup?

Ahhh. Well It wasn't in my possession since I helped set it up ages ago. I was just simply told that "Nothing happened" to be honest, And I just kind of was assuming that person selected yes to an update. I am 100% sure however it is the correct nand backup. I am looking largely for if I can fix this issue with ntrboot if I order a card to do so or if it is beyond repair. Google did not turn up much when I looked the code up.
 

wormdood

pirate booty inspector
Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2014
Messages
5,243
Trophies
1
Age
37
Location
behind a parental advisory sticker
XP
3,977
Country
United States
Ahhh. Well It wasn't in my possession since I helped set it up ages ago. I was just simply told that "Nothing happened" to be honest, And I just kind of was assuming that person selected yes to an update. I am 100% sure however it is the correct nand backup. I am looking largely for if I can fix this issue with ntrboot if I order a card to do so or if it is beyond repair. Google did not turn up much when I looked the code up.
as the others have said that depends on the origin of the brick if the hardware is damaged then the console is only worth its parts (sell it as a bricked unit on ebay). . . but if it was caused by software then you can fix it with ntrboot, and a ctrtransfer via decrypt9 (even if you did not have the nand backup) . . . but at 14 bucks its worth the gamble . . . and if you cant fix it then you still have a ntrboot flashcard to hack the system you will likely buy to replace your old unit
 
  • Like
Reactions: Modular511

Modular511

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
299
Trophies
1
Age
31
Location
Canada
XP
916
Country
United States
Right, what I have gathered is I don't know the origin of it so I may be better off by just going with ordering an ntrboot cart and hoping. It seems the error codes we know of are vague and that code could mean a number of things. I guess I may as well just go with the gamble I guess.
 

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
22,387
Trophies
4
Location
Space
XP
12,098
Country
Norway
Right, what I have gathered is I don't know the origin of it so I may be better off by just going with ordering an ntrboot cart and hoping. It seems the error codes we know of are vague and that code could mean a number of things. I guess I may as well just go with the gamble I guess.
It's worth a shot, even if it doesn't help the ntrboot cart can still be used for other things.
Edit: If it turns out the NAND is hard bricked and can't be restored, you can still flash the NAND backup to an emuNAND and use ntrboot to boot the emuNAND in Luma, the downside being that you'll need the magnet + button combination every time you power on the console.
 
Last edited by The Real Jdbye,
  • Like
Reactions: Modular511

Quantumcat

Dead and alive
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2014
Messages
15,149
Trophies
0
Location
Canberra, Australia
Website
boot9strap.com
XP
11,071
Country
Australia
It's worth a shot, even if it doesn't help the ntrboot cart can still be used for other things.
Edit: If it turns out the NAND is hard bricked and can't be restored, you can still flash the NAND backup to an emuNAND and use ntrboot to boot the emuNAND in Luma, the downside being that you'll need the magnet + button combination every time you power on the console.
I don't think you'd be able to create an emuNAND without a working sysNAND. It has been talked about a bit (using emuNAND on a borked console) but I've never seen it actually done
 

Modular511

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
299
Trophies
1
Age
31
Location
Canada
XP
916
Country
United States
It's worth a shot, even if it doesn't help the ntrboot cart can still be used for other things.
Edit: If it turns out the NAND is hard bricked and can't be restored, you can still flash the NAND backup to an emuNAND and use ntrboot to boot the emuNAND in Luma, the downside being that you'll need the magnet + button combination every time you power on the console.

I actually have the emunand the console was using on the sd card. That is indeed worth noting! So I could just force luma to boot that then correct? I am hoping its the fixable variety but in a worst case thats good to know.
 

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
22,387
Trophies
4
Location
Space
XP
12,098
Country
Norway
I don't think you'd be able to create an emuNAND without a working sysNAND. It has been talked about a bit (using emuNAND on a borked console) but I've never seen it actually done
He has a NAND backup, so creating an emuNAND is no problem. However you would be right if he didn't have one.
With a NAND backup it's as simple as having unformatted space at the beginning of the card and writing the NAND backup to that (taking care to add the required header for it to be recognized as an emuNAND by the console, although I think redNAND doesn't need such a header)
 
Last edited by The Real Jdbye,

Modular511

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
299
Trophies
1
Age
31
Location
Canada
XP
916
Country
United States
He has a NAND backup, so creating an emuNAND is no problem. However you would be right if he didn't have one.

I have an emunand already made as well, so your suggestion is nice as a last resort. I am hoping to flash my old image back with ntrboot, mod it once more and then flash over my emunand. Unless, Could I just flash my emunand to the console the first time around to keep all of my games? would save me some work since I wouldn't have to redownload all my games.
 

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
22,387
Trophies
4
Location
Space
XP
12,098
Country
Norway
I have an emunand already made as well, so your suggestion is nice as a last resort. I am hoping to flash my old image back with ntrboot, mod it once more and then flash over my emunand. Unless, Could I just flash my emunand to the console the first time around to keep all of my games? would save me some work since I wouldn't have to redownload all my games.
As long as it has B9S installed you should be able to do that. Without B9S installed first it may or may not work (depends on whether the emuNAND has any unsigned system titles installed and whether the FIRM partitions are up to date), but I would install B9S first to be safe.
You shouldn't have to redownload games regardless, as long as the files are still on the SD card and you don't format the console through System Settings (which deletes unique SD card contents)
 
  • Like
Reactions: Modular511

Modular511

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
299
Trophies
1
Age
31
Location
Canada
XP
916
Country
United States
As long as it has B9S installed you should be able to do that. Without B9S installed first it may or may not work (depends on whether the emuNAND has any unsigned system titles installed and whether the FIRM partitions are up to date), but I would install B9S first to be safe.
You shouldn't have to redownload games regardless, as long as the files are still on the SD card and you don't format the console through System Settings (which deletes unique SD card contents)
oh alright, thats also cool to know. So any games for my console will work? emunand or sysnand origin wise? I dont know how the 3ds handles licenses. I plan on getting an ntrboot capable cart going, and then I am going to install b9s and go from there. I am just glad I ended up having the nand backup around still.
 

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
22,387
Trophies
4
Location
Space
XP
12,098
Country
Norway
oh alright, thats also cool to know. So any games for my console will work? emunand or sysnand origin wise? I dont know how the 3ds handles licenses. I plan on getting an ntrboot capable cart going, and then I am going to install b9s and go from there. I am just glad I ended up having the nand backup around still.
Well, if your emuNAND and sysNAND are unlinked they use different SD encryption keys so you can't access emuNAND data from sysNAND. I only meant that it doesn't matter whether you flash emuNAND to sysNAND right away or do it at the end of the process (you'll be using ntrboot for the install process anyway so your sysNAND and emuNAND aren't actually used until you're done with the install)
If your NANDs are linked you can install the missing tickets on sysNAND and be able to access your emuNAND data.
But I guess there's no point in restoring the sysNAND backup if all your data is on emuNAND. Just flash your emuNAND to sysNAND with GM9 the first chance you get and then continue with the guide.
 

Quantumcat

Dead and alive
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2014
Messages
15,149
Trophies
0
Location
Canberra, Australia
Website
boot9strap.com
XP
11,071
Country
Australia
He has a NAND backup, so creating an emuNAND is no problem. However you would be right if he didn't have one.
With a NAND backup it's as simple as having unformatted space at the beginning of the card and writing the NAND backup to that (taking care to add the required header for it to be recognized as an emuNAND by the console, although I think redNAND doesn't need such a header)
I know OP doesn't need it, but I'm curious, do you have instructions for this? Just using the GodMode9 option to create an emuNAND wouldn't work, I'm assuming.
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: Damn