Emulation Can I continue VBA save on M3 DS Real?

Geoff Parker

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Hey everyone, this is my first post on this site!

I've been playing Pokemon Fire Red on Visual Boy Advance, and I've gotten pretty far... about more than halfway through the game. The other day, I just happened to hear about the possibility to play ROMs on an actual Nintendo DS, which beats the hell out of carrying around a bulky (in comparison to the DS) laptop around. So, I bought the M3 DS Real with the GBA Expansion Pack, a 4 GB card.

After hours of hitting my head against the wall, I finally got Fire Red to play on my DS. But now, the only problem is that I don't know how to continue where I saved on the Visual Boy Advance on my computer. Is this even possible, or do I have no other choice but to start a new game?

I'm a total newb when it comes to all of this technical mumbo jumbo, but when I look at the folder that I've been using to keep my saves in (while playing on the VBA), I have a lot of different file extensions... I have CLT Files, SA1 Files, SA2 Files, SGM Files, SG1 Files, and SG2 Files, along with a single SAV file.

I have absolutely NO clue what all of that stuff means, but by looking at the dates of the files, I can tell that the file extension of my most recent save is SG1.

I also think I understand from using GBA ExpLoader on the M3 DS Real that it makes SV1 files. If this is true, is there any way to convert my most recent SG1 file into a SV1 file? Or, again, am I doomed to loose all progress?

Da-Bomb1

Trophies
XP
Country
Canada
Try exporting the saves as a battery file. Dunno exactly how gbaexploader works, since I use an AK2, though. You could try just renaming the .sav files to .sv1? You should just try searching to see how it works.

EDIT: haha, there's a thread about this right on this page.

Geoff Parker

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Da-Bomb1 said: