Hacking Question Can Hekate or SX boot downgraded firmwares?

Bakugo

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 28, 2016
Messages
30
Trophies
0
Website
steamid.ml
XP
481
Country
United States
I want to update to play Splatoon online but still be able to go back to 5.1.0 when I want to use things like LFS if they're still not fixed by then. Do any current CFWs bypass the panic when too many fuses are burnt?
 

Bakugo

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 28, 2016
Messages
30
Trophies
0
Website
steamid.ml
XP
481
Country
United States
Use choidujournx. That's homebrew.
There a small tut in my guide if you want (under extra)
And every cfw can now bypass fuse check
That's not what I asked
I don't want CFW running when I play online.
And I'm specifically asking about being able to boot with too many fuses, not being able to boot without burning any. Two different things.
Some people have told me that it works while others say it doesn't.
 

jakkal

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 27, 2018
Messages
2,292
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
3,728
Country
United States
See, how can I trust anyone here when someone with 21k posts has absolutely no idea what they're talking about...
I was really hoping a developer could answer.
You fool
If you update with the Homebrew it won't burn any fuses, so you'll be able to downgrade back to 5.1 when you want to.
 

Ethan34

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 3, 2018
Messages
82
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
108
Country
Myanmar (Burma)
Yes, hekate and sx os v1.3+ can boot downgraded firmware, as completely bypass fuse check.
Other people in thread probable assume you care about burnt fuse, which is why they recomended update with choidujour. however, if you dont, you can update without worries :)
(may also interest you: hekate can boot firmware without any cfw, while stil patching fuse check. may be a good idea to do this in combinaton with choidujour update.!)
 
Last edited by Ethan34,
  • Like
Reactions: Bakugo

Bakugo

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 28, 2016
Messages
30
Trophies
0
Website
steamid.ml
XP
481
Country
United States
Why wouldn't you be able to run the ofw?
Because I don't want to risk a ban.

Yes, hekate and sx os v1.3+ can boot downgraded firmware, as completely bypass fuse check.
Other people in thread probable assume you care about burnt fuse, which is why they recomended update with choidujour. however, if you dont, you can update without worries :)
(may also interest you: hekate can boot firmware without any cfw, while stil patching fuse check. may be a good idea to do this in combinaton with choidujour update.!)
I guess this is a good enough answer, thanks. Just gonna update then and see if it works later.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Ethan34

The Catboy

GBATemp's Official Demiboy: Am Catboy now!
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
24,184
Trophies
0
Age
30
Location
In front of my Switch
XP
23,374
Country
Antarctica
See, how can I trust anyone here when someone with 21k posts has absolutely no idea what they're talking about...
I was really hoping a developer could answer.
There's no reason to belittle my comment because your question wasn't very clear. You asked if you could downgrade, I gave the answer to a method of downgrading. It also appears several others saw the same in your post, so maybe you should take some personal responsibility and realize that it's quite possible your post wasn't clear to begin with.
 

Bakugo

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 28, 2016
Messages
30
Trophies
0
Website
steamid.ml
XP
481
Country
United States
There's no reason to belittle my comment because your question wasn't very clear. You asked if you could downgrade, I gave the answer to a method of downgrading. It also appears several others saw the same in your post, so maybe you should take some personal responsibility and realize that it's quite possible your post wasn't clear to begin with.
I was referring to this part of the post, which is why I quoted it: "then you will burn a fuse by downgrading" how do you burn a fuse by downgrading? It makes no sense.
 

The Catboy

GBATemp's Official Demiboy: Am Catboy now!
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
24,184
Trophies
0
Age
30
Location
In front of my Switch
XP
23,374
Country
Antarctica
Allow me to be more clear: you burn fuses by upgrading. Not downgrading. You aren't as smart as you think you are :)
I can make mistakes and it seems I've made an error in my research. The Switch scene is still very new to me and something I've only started very recently looking into. Mistakes will happens on my end until I get deeper into the scene, so I do appreciate the clarification.
It's worth noting that post count, level, etc. is not a gauge of accuracy. Mistakes will happen and most don't mind being corrected, that's how people learn. Just some advice, try to be a little more understanding of people and working with them.
 
Last edited by The Catboy,

ZachyCatGames

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2018
Messages
3,238
Trophies
1
Location
Hell
XP
3,255
Country
United States
If you do a fuseless upgrade to 6.0 you can downgrade back to 5.1 with no issues

If you do burn a fuse when upgrading to 6.0 you can downgrade back to 5.1 but you’ll have to use Hekate or something to start your system and sleep mode won’t work
 
  • Like
Reactions: andeers and Bakugo

cattivik66

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 13, 2018
Messages
32
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
93
Country
Italy
I you want to boot OFW, without any payload, you burn up to 7 fuses. You can still be able to downgrade and run the CFW you want, but then when you want to go online with OFW you again need to to 6.0.

Anyway, all this work would not save you from a ban. You would need to:
1. make a backup before any strange change
2. upgrade to 6.0 OFW
3. make another backup, that's your "start point" at 6.0
4. play online
5. finished to play, want to run CFW 5.1? Make a backup right now, downgrade
6. enjoy CFW
7. finished that? save everything you want manually (like saves of games using a homebrew software), then restore you backup done at point 3.
8. enjoy your 6.0. When you want to go back to CFW 5.1 go to step 3.

Or, more simply, buy another console.

PS: note, backups and restore from hekate, to avoid any trace of logs
 
Last edited by cattivik66,

Site & Scene News

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    eh, little on the warm side I suppose
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    wouldn't worry about it to much
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    altho I do advise you to turn up the fans to 65% orso in Dashlaunch
  • ILeo @ ILeo:
    is that safe a lot of people told me not to mess up with the fan also the guy who i bough it from said that too
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    turning the fans up is better then turning them down
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    if the fans blow harder, your 360 will run cooler
  • ILeo @ ILeo:
    ok doin it now
  • ILeo @ ILeo:
    i might just mod it? my pc had only 1 fan with 80 temp now i added 4 fans and has 30 temp to 40 while on load
  • ILeo @ ILeo:
    might put it in a pc case?
  • ILeo @ ILeo:
    sounds good?
  • IanSkinner1982 @ IanSkinner1982:
    What is the recommended banner resolution for groups?
  • Flame @ Flame:
    i dont think they is one just get the biggest banner you find for your 70's computer group
  • IanSkinner1982 @ IanSkinner1982:
    70's and 80's! (maybe 90's too, I forgot when CBM went bankrupt)
    And alright.
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    putting a 360 in a pc case is a big project... I'd just leave it at upping the fan
  • RedoLane @ RedoLane:
    so much for making a decent group.
  • IanSkinner1982 @ IanSkinner1982:
    What do you mean?
  • RedoLane @ RedoLane:
    I wasted my time coming up with a cool group idea, only to end up being the only member.
  • IanSkinner1982 @ IanSkinner1982:
    What was it?
  • RedoLane @ RedoLane:
    The Post-Apocalypse Survivors Association
  • IanSkinner1982 @ IanSkinner1982:
    gtg, been nice talking for this whole minute.
  • RedoLane @ RedoLane:
    welp
  • D34DL1N3R tempBOT:
    D34DL1N3R has left the room.
  • CPG @ CPG:
    oh hi tempbot
    CPG @ CPG: oh hi tempbot