Can Doom 3 be ported to the wii?

Discussion in 'Wii - Console and Game Discussions' started by OrcMonkey©, May 25, 2008.

May 25, 2008
  1. OrcMonkey©
    OP

    Banned OrcMonkey© Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    593
    Country:
    Do you think hombrew developers can port doom 3 to the wii.
     


  2. Shuny

    Member Shuny I'm in yr forum, reading yr postz

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,019
    Location:
    Somewhere in the world
    Country:
    France
    Do they have the source code ?

    If no => They can't
    If yes => They could.
     
  3. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    Can the Wii even handle Doom 3?
     
  4. Social0

    Member Social0 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2007
    Messages:
    528
    Country:
    Belgium
    Yes, it can be done.

    It has been released on Xbox, so it can be released on Wii

    But who wants a crap game like Doom 3 anyway
     
  5. CockroachMan

    Member CockroachMan Scribbling around GBATemp's kitchen.

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    3,889
    Location:
    Brazil
    Country:
    Brazil
    There's a XBox version of DOOM 3..

    The Wii can easily handle it.. [​IMG]

    BUT.. there's no source code of it out there.. iD usually releases the source of their games after some years.. since DOOM 4 is coming, the source should be out in 2 or 3 years.. then someone might port it to the Wii [​IMG]
     
  6. CockroachMan

    Member CockroachMan Scribbling around GBATemp's kitchen.

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    3,889
    Location:
    Brazil
    Country:
    Brazil
    I liked it.. and anyway, Quake 4 and Prey use the same engine.. I would like those too on my Wii [​IMG]
     
  7. Social0

    Member Social0 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2007
    Messages:
    528
    Country:
    Belgium
    Quake 4 and Prey were a whole lot better!

    I liked those [​IMG]
     
  8. jesterscourt

    Member jesterscourt Not Brad.

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2,153
    Country:
    United States
    Am I the only one that thinks Portal would be perfect as a WiiWare title?
     
  9. gov78

    Member gov78 Ha made you Look

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    728
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Portal to Wii and id piss shit and vomit on my self all at the same time ..... ok not that far but u get the point
     
  10. Hadrian

    Former Staff Hadrian Better than Craigslist

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    16,978
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Would it overtake the 50MB limit?

    I reckon we'll see a version of it, Valve seem to have an hard on for the Wii but right now they are busy with Left 4 Dead.
     
  11. teonintyfive

    Member teonintyfive GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    791
    Location:
    Greece, Somewhere in Macedonia
    Country:
    Greece
    WHAT ABOUT EPISODE 3 [​IMG]
    They still haven't figured it out... we'll end up getting it in 2010.
     
  12. Orc

    Member Orc ‎(ღ˘⌣˘ღ)

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,963
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    Just keep your TV off, turn off the lights, wave around your wiimote and make scary sounds while pretending to shoot stuff.
     
  13. Maikel Steneker

    Member Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I liked Doom 3. I'm currently playing it on my modded Xbox, but I'd like using my legit PC version on the Wii better.

    But screw Doom 3 for the moment. There is no source, so currently it's impossible. I think id will release it when id Tech 5 is used. The question is: who wants to port Quake 3 [​IMG]
     
  14. raid168

    Newcomer raid168 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    88
    Country:
    Canada
    actually they should port Half-Life2 to the Wii,

    Wii can handle it very well without any problems.

    Half-life is a great game with great graphic.

    I saw some youtube videos that people was playing half-life 2 on pc by using wiimote,

    looks so cool.

    hope they can make it
     
  15. Venko

    Member Venko GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    159
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I don't think it's possible to run it on a Wii without access to the source code.

    The Wii can run Linux (to an extent) at the moment. There are also Linux binaries for Doom 3.

    But once you start running Linux on the Wii I don't think you'll be able to run Doom 3 on top of it with the limited resources the Wii has to offer.
     
  16. myuusmeow

    Member myuusmeow GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Country:
    United States
    The only reason Doom, Quake, Quake II, etc were ported to many platforms was because they are open source. People need the source code to port things. Just because the engine is called "Source" doesn't mean anyone can use (or even see) the source code. So unless Valve suddenly open sources the Source engine, no HL2 or Portal etc on your Wii, or any other platform for that matter.
     
  17. mooyah

    Member mooyah GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    186
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm no expert but the Doom 3 engine (and all PC graphics these days) relies on shader architecture and stuff which is why an Xbox port was doable with the nvidia 3-ish graphics it used. The Gamecube/Wii GPU doesn't use shaders.. without the source code and some very dedicated programmers there'll be no Wii port.
     
  18. Kryak

    Newcomer Kryak Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    Russia
    wii have its own shaders (not like in pc or other systems)
     
  19. aeSentinel

    Newcomer aeSentinel Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Correct me if I'm wrong, but doesn't iD only release the source to the engine, not the whole game? Again, correct me if I'm wrong, but unless Doom III uses something similar to its prequels' WADs, I don't think a 3rd-party port will go very far.

    That said, I haven't played Doom III, so I'm probably talking out of my ass.
     
  20. Eternal Myst

    Member Eternal Myst Back from the Myst.

    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,634
    Location:
    I have a bomb alallalallala
    Country:
    United States
    I tryed that,but I was out of Ideas and Imagination.So I had to buy a new can.
     

Share This Page