Can anyone please fill me in about Gecko OS?

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by ChaosBoi, Sep 27, 2008.

Sep 27, 2008
  1. ChaosBoi
    OP

    Member ChaosBoi Ushiromiya Battler

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,327
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    I'm very new to the homebrew scene for the Wii and I can't remember the last time I updated my Wii (I think it was when I first bought SSBB back in March). Anyway, I'm trying to get into the homebrew scene for Wii, in hopes of an N64 emulator coming out for it if none has so far. While doing a bit of searching on starting homebrews, I keep finding someone talking about either Gecko OS or USB Gecko, which I know little to nothing about. I tried to search on google but the links that came up didn't really tell me about them. And so, I'm asking you guys if you guys can tell me a little more about these two things, how they work and how Gecko OS can be loaded.
     
  2. 56killer

    Member 56killer GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    137
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
  3. NeroAngelo

    Member NeroAngelo Clueless Importer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    141
    Country:
    Libya
    correct me if i'm wrong but can't you just inject N64 roms to be N64 VC channels ?
    i thought i saw tons of injected roms on torrent sites long time ago
     
  4. Rugapand

    Newcomer Rugapand Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    Sweden
    How well does the new Gecko OS work with trucha signed games and such?( I have a ppf-patched copy of ssbb)

    I don't want to play it in B&W or with borders or anything.
     
  5. ChaosBoi
    OP

    Member ChaosBoi Ushiromiya Battler

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,327
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    Aye, but the ones I wanted to play (Namely HM64) doesn't work. I'm hoping that the coders who made Wii64 releases an update with more compatibilities soon.
     
  6. ryu00

    Newcomer ryu00 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    65
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    will using gecko OS by pass the update check if a game hasnt been brick blocked, just like the freeloader does?
     
  7. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,356
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    gecko wont bypass updates in the game you need to use brick block on the iso
     
  8. ChimneyBug

    Newcomer ChimneyBug Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    Country:
    Japan
    Is there a way to make settings default? I'd like to set it to Japanese language, NTSC on and Ocarina off by default.

    As a secondary question, could that then be auto run? i.e after launching GeckoOS it launches the game by itself with mentioned settings
     
  9. djdynamite123

    Banned djdynamite123 Master Of Hardcore!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,791
    Location:
    Redcar, England UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hey, i spoke with Nuke, and he will release an update aswell for NON USB users....soon, which will have a settings config file, which will do exactly as you WANT [​IMG]
    i mentioned this in another thread somewhere
     

Share This Page