can anyone correct Age of Empires Mythologies?

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by assonfire21, Nov 22, 2014.

  1. assonfire21
    OP

    assonfire21 Newbie

    Newcomer
    5
    0
    Nov 22, 2014
    "Age of Empires Mythologies" is a potential game but ruined by retarded developers who knows nothing about mythology.

    for example:
    - Poseidon has no access to cyclops but ironically his brothers (Zeus & Hades) do instead;
    - Hades has no access to Underworld Passage but ironically his brothers (Zeus & Poseidon) do instead ...etc
    (similar avoidable mistakes are 4 times more than that)

    i was told that Source Code is needed to sort out that problem.
    can anyone adjust it?
    i wouldn't mind to pay for this service coz its frustrating to see such a potential game wasted like this.

    (i think this might involve hacking, apologise is i post in the wrong forum)
     
  2. pr0xy
    This message by pr0xy has been removed from public view by BORTZ, Nov 26, 2014, Reason: dont be a dick.
    Nov 24, 2014
  3. assonfire21
    OP

    assonfire21 Newbie

    Newcomer
    5
    0
    Nov 22, 2014
    i care about both gameplay & historical accuracy (in this case mythological)

    unlike some uneducated people who only play games and not willing to learn the truth behind the game.

    and now u're just telling me how uneducated u are, Pr0xy. i guess u don't even understand how wrong the game setting is be4 u comment. Hades is the Lord of Underworld and Poseidon is the Father of Cyclops. give u an advice Pr0xy, leave a comment unless u got some knowledge in that topic otherwise u're just making jokes of yourself :lol:

    similar avoidable mistakes in that game are 4 times more than i've listed. but i'm not writing down the whole list unless i got the chance to correct the game.

    yes i got a life & i want to improve things in my spare time.

    btw do my opinion & preference bother u? damn dude, get a life
     
  4. FAST6191

    FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip Reporter
    23,154
    8,895
    Nov 21, 2005
    Heh, missed this the other day.

    Anyway no you do not need source code, this is classic ROM hacking territory. I would approach it in a similar way to people approaching item equip hacks -- you usually find there is either a value with the player character that allows items to be equipped, a value with the item that says what players can do it or a table that combines the two. Finding where this is can be tricky though -- I have not really got any methods like I have for stats, text encoding or graphics you see on a screen.
    I would probably go the stats route as cooldown times, mana costs, damage, range and whatever else tend to be bundled in with such things.

    If there are any cheats to allow such things then do have a look at those. Also if there are any character swap cheats then that could also be useful.

    It has been quite some time since I played this game so I can not remember many of the specifics. However I can fairly safely say this is a reasonable request and not one of the crazy ones we sometimes get around here.

    By the way paying for hacks tends not to be done for legal/ethics reasons, and even if you somehow find a hacker willing and able then it kind of has to go consultant rates.
     
    assonfire21 likes this.
  5. assonfire21
    OP

    assonfire21 Newbie

    Newcomer
    5
    0
    Nov 22, 2014
  6. FAST6191

    FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip Reporter
    23,154
    8,895
    Nov 21, 2005
    No doubt a piece of software like tinke will probably be used, however in and of itself tinke or something like it will probably not do you much good here.

    The first site looks like it is aimed at pokemon hacking, one of the few games/franchises that routinely gets people delve right into it and build tools with the info they find, and as such is not likely to be of much use to you in this project.

    The project is likely to be one that will see you wanting to know a fair bit about hacking/cheat making. Once you know what you need to fiddle with it is likely going to be a couple of dozen bytes at best that need changing, however the trick is getting to that stage in the first place. Fortunately the DS is well documented ( http://problemkaputt.de/gbatek.htm ), has great debugging emulators ( http://problemkaputt.de/gba.htm#debug is now freeware which is nice), has many people doing work in it (this section, http://gbatemp.net/threads/gbatemp-rom-hacking-documentation-project-new-2014-edition-out.73394/ being my guide to it all) and the system tends to have enough resources that you are not always scraping around trying to get enough to do what you want.
     
  7. assonfire21
    OP

    assonfire21 Newbie

    Newcomer
    5
    0
    Nov 22, 2014
    Thanks very much for your help :)
    think it'll take me a while to work it out.
     
  8. pr0xy

    pr0xy Newbie

    Newcomer
    5
    4
    Apr 26, 2014
    United States
    Could you at least attempt to spell properly before you try and insult someone's intelligence? Kind of loses its effect when you sound like a moron...
     
  9. assonfire21
    OP

    assonfire21 Newbie

    Newcomer
    5
    0
    Nov 22, 2014
    Thanks for coming back with more joke of yourself pr0xy. :lol:

    Joke of the day: "when u're speechless, change the topic & talk about spellings". :grog: