can anyone confrim if WiiSpeak works without updating to 3.4?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by priapism, Nov 20, 2008.

  1. priapism
    OP

    Member priapism GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    374
    Country:
    United States
    i bypassed the update from AC:CC so i am currently on 3.3Uv1. i was thinking about picking up the microphone for WiiSpeak but i don't even know if it will work without me updating to 3.4U first. does anybody here have WiiSpeak working without the update?
     


  2. Mrkinator

    Member Mrkinator Neil Peart Wannabe

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    890
    Location:
    Great White North, Eh!
    Country:
    Canada
    It should, it's just a usb mic.
     
  3. priapism
    OP

    Member priapism GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    374
    Country:
    United States
    i know it should but does anybody actually know for sure? does anybody here have it working without the update? i would really like 100% verification before i go spend $30 on the microphone
     
  4. benwin84

    Newcomer benwin84 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    Animal Crossing City Folk and Wiispeak came out before the 3.4 update, but after the 3.3v2 update. As far as I know it should work regardless of what update, the game update though might be an IOS that is needed to have it work just not the 3.4 update.
     
  5. Mrkinator

    Member Mrkinator Neil Peart Wannabe

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    890
    Location:
    Great White North, Eh!
    Country:
    Canada
    Oh srry, I get it. Yeah, 3.4 came out after wiispeak
     
  6. priapism
    OP

    Member priapism GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    374
    Country:
    United States
    thanks for the help guys.

    still waiting on confirmation from someone who actually has it though.
     
  7. Beatchu

    Member Beatchu GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    347
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I think you can find the IOS Wiispeak uses via google
     
  8. FGOD

    Member FGOD Wii gaming bitch

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,339
    Location:
    Netherlands, Den Helder
    Country:
    Netherlands
    i wonder if you could use any usb mic to get the wii speak chann el to work or the speak option to animal crossing...
     
  9. Screemer

    Member Screemer GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,248
    Country:
    Germany
    that's what i was thinking about. maybe with minor patches.
     
  10. benwin84

    Newcomer benwin84 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    Wiispeak does not need the new 3.4 update since the device came out before Nintendo released their newest update. They would not release a peripheral before they patch to use it that would make so many people angry. It has an IOS on the disc to give support for it but it may update you to 3.3v2 so nothing lost homebrew wise.
     
  11. priapism
    OP

    Member priapism GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    374
    Country:
    United States
    i thought there was i significant issue that made 3.3v1 way safer for homebrew than 3.3v2. i can't remember the specific issue but i think there is one. do you think WiiSpeak will at least need firmware 3.3v2 to work properly?

    Edit: i just looked up what the 3.3v2 update does. i definitely don't want to update to that.

    i hope WiiSpeak works with 3.3v1. anyone confirm this yet?
     
  12. benwin84

    Newcomer benwin84 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    Possibly, and 3.3v2 has a work around for it so you will be fine, I'm currently on it, but don't do online update or your stuck in 3.4, I have no idea what update Animal Crossing has cause it might be too soon for the 3.3v2 version to be included on the disc since it came out a few weeks after the october 23rd update.


    Edit: The update on Animal Crossing is to install an IOS to make the game run properly.
     
  13. priapism
    OP

    Member priapism GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    374
    Country:
    United States
    well i have to run AC:CC through GeckoOS in order to avoid the black screen issue. i hope that is the only thing that is wrong with the game if i don't install the IOS that comes with it. i wonder if running the game through GeckoOS will affect WiiSpeak.

    i guess i will just fork over the $30 and if it doesn't end up working i will just return it.
     
  14. Shadowluigi323

    Newcomer Shadowluigi323 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    73
    Country:
    United States
    I got Animal Crossing Bundle for 29.99...Yea 30dollars but umm i can confirm that it works without updating and works in geckoos without updating actual game so i guess the same for backup.
     
  15. FGOD

    Member FGOD Wii gaming bitch

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,339
    Location:
    Netherlands, Den Helder
    Country:
    Netherlands
    i don't think the actual channel will be a problem. that will be packed into a wad file but i was asking if a normal usb pc mic would work on the wii... they are not that expansive as the wii speak mic...
     
  16. supersonic88

    Member supersonic88 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    169
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    i have 3.2u with the 3.3v1, i bought the wiispeak mic. havent tested it yet
    but if an update is required, i would assume the 3.3v2 is whats needed, isnt there a workaround for that?
     
  17. HisshouBuraiKen

    Member HisshouBuraiKen GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    214
    Location:
    Nowhere
    Country:
    United States
    If you bought wiispeak, test it with a regular usb microphone like from rock band or guitar hero and see if it works with them as well.
     
  18. supersonic88

    Member supersonic88 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    169
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    i would test it (3.2u with 3.3v1 workaround) if i had someone to test it with at the moment
    i have a backup copy of AC:CF

    edit: i added my FC into my sig =p
     
  19. priapism
    OP

    Member priapism GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    374
    Country:
    United States
    i don't know what you mean when you say you have 3.2U and 3.3Uv1. doesn't the newest firmware overwrite the older ones?
    also, can you just go into the game and talk to yourself just to see if you can hear your own voice on the TV? i am not sure if the game works like that but if you want to see if the mic works then it is worth a shot.

    the update from 3.3v1 to 3.3v2 disables the installation of new WAD files. i am not sure if there is a workaround for this yet so i definitely will not be updating to 3.3v2.
     
  20. Mrkinator

    Member Mrkinator Neil Peart Wannabe

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    890
    Location:
    Great White North, Eh!
    Country:
    Canada
    I tried the Rock band mic with AC:CF and gamma and it didn't work [​IMG]
     

Share This Page