Hacking Can anyone confirm if new Wii U update effects homebrew in vWii?

the_randomizer

The Temp's official fox whisperer
Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2011
Messages
30,639
Trophies
2
Age
36
Location
Dr. Wahwee's castle
XP
17,888
Country
United States

Supercool330

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2008
Messages
724
Trophies
0
XP
635
Country
United States
Looking at the Wiimpersonator report, it looks like only three channels changed: the system menu, HCUE (the wii menu manual), and IOS59 (which is sort of interesting). Not sure what the changes to the sysmenu are (could potentially affect homebrew), but other than that you should be safe. This wasn't a major "bug gets fixed in every IOS" sort of patch.
 

Supercool330

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2008
Messages
724
Trophies
0
XP
635
Country
United States
That would be my guess (like I said, it is possible there is something in the new SM like remove the homebrew channel on boot, but I think they gave up on that).
 

Supercool330

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2008
Messages
724
Trophies
0
XP
635
Country
United States
Can anybody try running homebrew configured to use IOS59 (or a CIOS based on IOS59) and see if it fixes the screen res issue? I have a hunch what is going on.
 

the_randomizer

The Temp's official fox whisperer
Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2011
Messages
30,639
Trophies
2
Age
36
Location
Dr. Wahwee's castle
XP
17,888
Country
United States
Can anybody try running homebrew configured to use IOS59 (or a CIOS based on IOS59) and see if it fixes the screen res issue? I have a hunch what is going on.


Really? I hope we can get this resolved because I sure as hell aren't gonna update till we can figure this out. Very weird issue indeed. Wonder if it was intentional or just a weird quirk.


homebrew works fine, just some of them runs on 4:3. BUT i noticed that usbloader GX runs on 16:9 if i run it from the forwarder channel.

Have you tried emulators like RetroArch or Snes9x GX to see how they looked?
 

~kao

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Oct 1, 2013
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
Bucaramanga, Santander
XP
75
Country
Colombia
Everything is working fine, except that when you run homebrew channel it runs on 4:3

Although, running usb loader gx from a forwarder will get it in 16:9. Cant run a backup since dont have any installed

Pd: TLoZ Skyward Sword and SSBB look gorgeous, beautiful and awesome in that small screen
 
  • Like
Reactions: the_randomizer

Intentional

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 6, 2009
Messages
11
Trophies
0
XP
96
Country
United States
One thing I noticed is that 4:3 Virtual Console games no longer appear stretched on a 16:9 TV in 1080p, they now have black bars on the sides. I usually had to force my TV to display in 4:3. This is a welcome change to me. Homebrew Channel is locked in 4:3 with bars now as well, and every emulator I threw at it is the same. Even in Snes9X GX, setting the aspect ratio in the menu options to 16:9 Correction only squishes the image further.

Another interesting point to note is that Wii VC NES games look much sharper on the GamePad and TV vs playing the Wii U VC counterparts. The Wii U versions are blurry in comparison. What's that all about?
 

Quicksilver88

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2013
Messages
616
Trophies
0
Age
51
XP
562
Country
United States
Do you have to use a Wii controller even for games that use classic controller??? If so I wonder if the homebrew scene could fix this or if we will have to wait for Nintendo next update....really they get vWii on the gamepad with classic controller on the gamepad and that will rock as then we can play all or Wii VC stuff offTV in our hands including the N64 games adn also stuff like XenoBlade, Last Story, COD BOPS, 007 and other games that support classic controller pro. How does this feature work, is there a key combo to switch down to the gamepad or does the system just now mirror the vWii output to the gamepad at all times?

One other much desired feature was finally included in that they now allow you to output audio thru both hdmi and AV cables....still can't do 5.1 or anything but atleast those using DVI monitors with their wii can have a stereo solution now....plus you can go into a lot of 5.1 or 7.1 with AV and atleast get your subwoofer and psuedo surround plus wii pro logic support...Really makes me mad that Nintendo didn't put a damned toslink port on the thing and support standard 5.1 codec like DTS or Dolby...cheap asses
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim: oh neat