Can all TVs play American games? (from PAL user)

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Tragedies, Mar 24, 2008.

Mar 24, 2008
  1. Tragedies
    OP

    Member Tragedies GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    121
    Country:
    Australia
    Im not sure if mine can. So far with my modchip Ive only played PAL games, but I don't know if a US game like Brawl would work.

    Is there a way to tell?
     
  2. LokusT

    Newcomer LokusT Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    63
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    Country:
    Ireland
    If a PAL game running in 60hz works on your TV then your TV should be able to display US/Jap games without a problem.
     
  3. Tragedies
    OP

    Member Tragedies GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    121
    Country:
    Australia
    Ok good [​IMG] I play all my PAL games in 60hz [​IMG]

    Thanks for the help [​IMG]
     
  4. legendofphil

    Member legendofphil Phil no Densetsu

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,214
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Some older TVs do PAL60 but don't do NTSC, in theory an RGB SCART cable should fix the problem if this is the case.
     
  5. Lumstar

    Member Lumstar Princess

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,531
    Location:
    Darling
    Country:
    United States
    In Europe, nearly all new TVs are 50hz/60hz and can do PAL or NTSC.

    Not so for the US! Here, most are 60hz and NTSC only. This really disappoints me.
     
  6. LokusT

    Newcomer LokusT Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    63
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    Country:
    Ireland
    I never knew that was the case with US Tvs. I suppose that is partly due to the lack of a major import market for PAL format media. Very rare anyone ever wants a Region 2 DVD, for instance, for the US by comparison I guess.
     
  7. Tragedies
    OP

    Member Tragedies GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    121
    Country:
    Australia
    My TV is a rather basic one, no LCD or anything and a few years old.

    How much would the above specified cable cost if it couldnt display?

    And how I be able to tell? Black screen, disk error?
     
  8. gov78

    Member gov78 Ha made you Look

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    728
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    well i think if your tv doesnt support 60Hz then its usally a black and white picture or blank screen
     
  9. LokusT

    Newcomer LokusT Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    63
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    Country:
    Ireland
    An RGB cable shouldn't really cost you more than $20AU I would expect. PAL TVs have been supporting 60hz signals for about 10 or so years on a large scale so it's very likely that your TV will accept the signal.
     
  10. Tragedies
    OP

    Member Tragedies GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    121
    Country:
    Australia
    Oh, ok.

    Wish I knew that xD
     
  11. phaerun

    Member phaerun GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    103
    Location:
    Αθήνα
    Country:
    Greece
    the fastest and easiest way to find is to check a ntsc game with freeloader.

    burn in the ntsc game without doing anything to the iso. then burn your freeloader iso.

    change your wii to 60 hz (480i). then insert the freeloader disk. i
    you will see some static for 2 parses or so. when that stops take out the freeloader disk and insert the ntsc disk.
    at the disk channel it will look fine but when you click to play it, if you tv set supports 60 hz but not ntsc, the game will be in black and white.

    if your tv has scart rgb you are cool. just use that and the game will be in color.

    if it is relatively new you should have no problems at all [​IMG]
     
  12. Lumstar

    Member Lumstar Princess

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,531
    Location:
    Darling
    Country:
    United States
    I own a monitor which claims in the manual to support PAL. But it doesn't mention 50hz, and I've probably got no way to test that. Unless my PC's video card can on its video out...
     
  13. manias

    Member manias GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,258
    Country:
    Netherlands
    if you can do 60hz you can patch all games to pal with VMC so yes, your tv can do all.
     

Share This Page